Ratings based on 6,368 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful view!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Loved the Marco Polo Resturaunt. Loved the beach and pool. Loved the view. Loved the staff
Cons: The food in the buffett could get a little better.
Location: Across the street and down the road about a mile there is Mayan Ruins (only $2.50 a person). Plenty of malls and markets for shopping a bus ride away.
GR Solaris Cancun & Spa is a great deal. So many things we loved about it. The Marco Polo resturant is a 4 star resturant but you must make reservations by 4pm the day before (reservations fill up quick and you can not make advance reservations only the day before). We also loved the beach and the pool. How can you not love a pool that has a swim up bar! The Michael Jacson Show and the Magic Show were amazing but the other shows were only OK. The hotel and resturaunt staff were GREAT! The staff really worked hard to make my vacation a lot of fun so I also recremmend you bring alot of $1 bills to tip the staff. Another tip is to take the bus to get around (only a $1 per person). I used google maps gps to help me get around and it worked great. Have fun! I love Cancun!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Cancun trip

Posted Feb 21, 2017
It is just an older Hotel and the rooms are just ok but I will not pay top dollar for it at most it's a 3 star hotel period I will not stay there anymore
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long

Great stay!!!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great stay! The rooms need some updating and the hot tub didn't work but I would definitely come back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

First impressions matter most!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Easy beach access, plenty to eat and drink at all times, friendly staff (although one of the bartenders had a bit of an attitude at times)
Cons: Dinner reservations, too complicated and too strict, we're on vacation, I shouldn't have to think to bring down a ticket with me, etc.
Location: Great location, close to airport and nicely situated on the hotel strip, also very close to town, and the bus is nice and quick to get you places.
I reserved a double room and upon arrival after a very long day of travel they didn't have the room I reserved. Instead they put us in a king (which was fine) but the room itself, the view, the feel of the room was not what I would categorize a 4 star hotel to look and feel like. It felt dingy and just not "homey" so needless to say our first impression of the hotel was not great. The next day they gave us our double room which was a lot nicer, it felt cleaner, and more welcoming overall.... and the view was just spectacular! The walls are paper thin at this resort, we could hear the people next door cough, and the kid cry. The food was okay, it would have been nice if the Deli changed its menu each day because that was the only place open 24/7 so if you missed a lunch/dinner that was your only option, and eating sandwiches every single day gets old (the place was kind of sketchy too, the meat and veggies set out and there were flies). Dinner reservations had to be made for the next day which also got inconvenient becuase if something came up you were out of luck becuase they were not willing to accommodate you without a reservation and the reservation ticket which who thinks about that when they're on vacation!? Breakfast and lunch were the best at this resort, dinner needs work. They offered fun evening shows, the Michael Jackson show was excellent, but they didn't serve dinner during it, so that was pretty confusing. The staff at the resort was nice and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Bad Experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cigarette smoke was intolerable. Food and drink selection was awful. Had to leave early to asthmatic reaction to smoke in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bremerton Wa

Great resort in the non tourist zone

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Ocean view room with private balcony jacuzzi
Cons: new beds, better tasting food
Location: location away from tourist trap but close other activities are not far , highly recommend renting a car to travel to other activities
I had spranged my ankle at my home airport on the way to my vacation, when getting to the hotel the whole staff made sure I was as comfortable as possible, We had gone to a presentation of The Gs Solaris resort vacation club and fell in love with a great package deal and now are members, even tho I was limping through my whole trip I had a BLAST with all the activities Cancun can offer , and our connoisseur Raul and the rest of the staff made sure we knew all..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kaela: First of all, welcome as a member of the lovely Solaris family. Also we really appreciate to know that you had a blast during your vacations with us. On the other part, we are glad you liked the services from the staff; it is one of the highlights of the Solaris family: to offer an exceptional service to every single one of our guests. By last, our hotel is located in the Cancun Hotel Zone 19 Km. Warm regards and see you soon! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Would never recommend to anyone

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Our stay was riddled with bad experiences from the second we arrived. First they said we didn't have a reservation and we were at the wrong hotel, once I looked at thier screen I was easily able to locate my reso. Once booked in they immediately tryed to get us in a time share, when I expressed I would not attend the concierge got mad and left without even telling us how to get to our room. Once finally arriving at our room we discovered it was not what we booked, an hour later we change rooms to the one we payed for. Time to relax right? No.. the jacuzzi suite we reserved did not have a working jacuzzi and there were no other rooms available to change us too. After a day of travel and 2 hour check in I refused to have technicians come in to fix the jacuzzi as all we wanted was sleep at this point.. Valentine's morning 8:30am phone rings, "why are you complaining?".. it's was from 830-noon we had over 3 maintenance men and countless phone calls to our room regarding the jacuzzi.. the hotel offered to "upgrade" lol my room to one that cost less than a jacuzzi suite i payed for yet no refund. The food was trash the staff could care less as I'm sure they receive constant complaints daily. Will NEVER recommend or stay with any Solaris hotels again. Thanks for nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, NY

We will be back

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff is friendly, helpful and professional and always make you feel welcome.
Cons: Mattresses are very firm and pillows look nice but aren't that comfortable.
Location: Easy access to the beach, transportation activities
Nice small hotel with easy access to a beautiful stretch of beach good food and drinks and excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark: We are happy your overall experience was good and have felt an exceptional service from all the staff. On the other hand, the mattresses at the resort are orthopedic; mostly used in hotels especially design to offer a goodnight sleep to all our guests. Please try to consider it depends on the different preference that each person has; however we offer a pillow top to any guest who still finds it hard. We apologize for not achieving your standard, nevertheless we have already informed the General Manager and the department involved. By last, we look forward to welcoming you back once again to your now paradisiacal getaway and create many more memorable GR Solaris experiences. Warm regards! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Perfect beach, great location!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Hotel staff are very friendly. Wait staff, room service and concierge all overly accommodating. Food was typical for all inclusive but Japanese restaurant is the winner...make reservations in advance there as well as for Marco Polo. Breakfast buffet is best meal, the Deli could use an update but club sandwich was pretty good. Ferry to Isla Mujueres is a must! Xplor park if you're adventurous! Beach is perfection. Pools are gorgeous, entire hotel is exceptionally clean. Bathroom has bright lights and decent water pressure, not many outlets though. I will be returning to GR Solaris!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler: We are glad to read your overall acknowledgments regarding the great care of our valuable staff as well as for the facilities of the hotel. Thanks for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to pamper you soon. Best regards! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel at a fair price.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, price
Cons: Keep the pools and hot tubs open later.
Location: Cancun Downtown, Chichen Itza tours.
Can't beat the price for this all-inclusive hotel. The pools are very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Rooms are in good condition and the 24-hour room service is an excellent feature. I'd recommend making reservations at the two formal restaurants as soon as possible as they fill up quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Social Media Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas: Thanks for your overall acknowledgments regarding the service and facilties of GR Solaris. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed being with us during your vacations in Cancun. By last, thank you for the opportunity of having been your host. Warm regards! Hoteles Solaris de México, ^P