Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, but not for young kids

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful rooms, lovely grounds.
Cons: Pool hours designated for families maybe to spare those who don't want kids around and give those who do an opportunity?
We stayed at the Chateau du Brieul having read that it was family friendly - but in reality, it was full of couples who frowned upon our kids shouting and playing around the grounds, let alone splashing in the swimming pool! The restaurant was a bit too formal for young children too, so we ate out. It's a really lovely property, but just didn't suit us on this trip. I'd return with my husband and leave the kids at home.
5 out of 5
by Knut Harald from Oslo

Sjarmerende slottsferie i Loire- dalen!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Flott sted med nydelig svømmebasseng og rolige omgivelser. God frokost! Og veldig avslappende sted for barn og voksne!
4 out of 5
by karen

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very good and would return. One particular waiter at dinner made us feel we were an inconvenience and resulted in our worst dinner in France. All others were terrific.
5 out of 5
by Juuso


Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
I am already planning my next trip to this hotel and area (I have been there twice now). The hotel is in the middle of a forest. A very relaxing environment. The beds were the best beds I have slept on. The room was spacious. And you must eat the the hotel's restaurant!
5 out of 5
by Sylvie from Marly le roi

Excellent séjour au calme

Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels
Un séjour très agréable entouré de nature et le calme... Un excellent accueil... Cet Hôtel est très bien situé... Nous avons passé un très bon moment... Nous recommanderons cet endroit, et nous y retournons très prochainement...
3 out of 5
by celine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Fabrice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic. Make it your base to visit the Loire

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful. Incredible setting. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Wish I had decided to make it my base for visiting the Loire Chateaux. Next time!
1 out of 5
by Andrey from San Diego, USA


Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
First of all, "garden area" means you don't stay in a chateau, but instead in a barn on the other side of the forest. Strong manure smell outside completes the experience:) The room is spacious, but we were looking for a romantic environment... Wifi did not work most of the time. TV cannot be turned off, had to unplug from the wall. Room service did not replace the towels, just picked up the dirty ones we put on the floor in the morning and hung them back up. Checkout tried to charge us extra 60E for breakfasts we did not have. In general, pompous and mediocre.
3 out of 5
by German from Issaquah

Probably not worth your money.

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Yes, you want to stay in a Chateau. After all you are at the Loire! But probably is not worth it. We did not stay at the actual chateau but in rooms made in what apparently were the horse stables. They are nice and all, but not the real chateau. May be this was clear in the reservation, but at least I did not notice. So you end up paying a lot of money, for a fairly standard room, and you have to walk in the rain to get breakfast. Also i want to pint out the the wi-fi was slow and unreliable. Not what you expect when you pay a small fortune per room!