Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, but not for young kids

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Beautiful rooms, lovely grounds.
Cons: Pool hours designated for families maybe to spare those who don't want kids around and give those who do an opportunity?
We stayed at the Chateau du Brieul having read that it was family friendly - but in reality, it was full of couples who frowned upon our kids shouting and playing around the grounds, let alone splashing in the swimming pool! The restaurant was a bit too formal for young children too, so we ate out. It's a really lovely property, but just didn't suit us on this trip. I'd return with my husband and leave the kids at home.
4 out of 5
by karen

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very good and would return. One particular waiter at dinner made us feel we were an inconvenience and resulted in our worst dinner in France. All others were terrific.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic. Make it your base to visit the Loire

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful. Incredible setting. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Wish I had decided to make it my base for visiting the Loire Chateaux. Next time!
1 out of 5
by Andrey from San Diego, USA

Disapointed

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
First of all, "garden area" means you don't stay in a chateau, but instead in a barn on the other side of the forest. Strong manure smell outside completes the experience:) The room is spacious, but we were looking for a romantic environment... Wifi did not work most of the time. TV cannot be turned off, had to unplug from the wall. Room service did not replace the towels, just picked up the dirty ones we put on the floor in the morning and hung them back up. Checkout tried to charge us extra 60E for breakfasts we did not have. In general, pompous and mediocre.
3 out of 5
by German from Issaquah

Probably not worth your money.

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Yes, you want to stay in a Chateau. After all you are at the Loire! But probably is not worth it. We did not stay at the actual chateau but in rooms made in what apparently were the horse stables. They are nice and all, but not the real chateau. May be this was clear in the reservation, but at least I did not notice. So you end up paying a lot of money, for a fairly standard room, and you have to walk in the rain to get breakfast. Also i want to pint out the the wi-fi was slow and unreliable. Not what you expect when you pay a small fortune per room!
2 out of 5
by Prosper from Ocean Grove New Jersey

Bait & Switch-rent chateaux; stay in stable

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
Don't tell me you're renting me the Château and stick me in the stable. Don't call yourself a four-star hotel and have black mold all around the bathtub roo don't tell me you're renting me the Château and stick me in the stable. Don't call yourself a four star hotel and have black mold all around the bathtub tile. Don't offer a bellhop to carry your bags quarter-mile to the stable you're staying in on the grounds of the Château. This place has a lot to learn about service and keeping customers happy. What a notes in each room telling you what you canning cannot do makes one feel like a kindergartner Read the fine print on the rental because they're going to point to it when you complain that the room is not what you paid for. Good luck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Lovely country chateau hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Good food and lovely setting.
Cons: no
Location: Cheverny chateau is lovely and well worth a visit. Within easy reach of Blois and surrounding areas with lots of places to visit
A beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here,
5 out of 5
by Jayne from London

Beautifully restored chateau in an ideal setting

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
We found the air con very loud even on the lowest fan setting so had to switch it on and then off and then on again during the night, which is not ideal. The only window had a shutter so obviously had to close that. Also my partner found a live earwig under his lettuce on his starter. We told the waiter who apologised and replaced the starter but we had no apologies from the chef or management and no complimentary glass of wine or reduction of the bill, which would have been a nice gesture.
4 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Linda from Los Angeles

Charming hotel in the Loire forest!

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
Fabulous Chateau on its' way to being fabulous...special jewel down a long forested driveway. Not for folks who want to walk to shops and restaurants but a short drive to everything. When the planned renovations are complete it will be a 5 star...it needs some paint and a few more personnel (to carry bags or bring an extra towel etc). It is a bit difficult to find but worth it!