Ratings based on 1,399 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great except...

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Excellent hotel except they charge $13 a day for WiFi. Even budget friendly hotels have free WiFi. This was a huge turn off to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Ideal location and great staff!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel Palomar is exactly what you expect from a Kimpton experience. Friendly staff, comfortable beds, great room amenities, nice restaurant, wine hour, infused water...it's always great and I've stayed at both the Palomar and Allegro in a Chicago. You can't beat the location! Close to shopping, steps away from world class restaurants. Can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to speed

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Loud radiator, gave me a key to mini bar (they gave me a key), poor room service. Good staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel convenient to everything

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Wine hour was a pleasant surprise. The hotel was very clean, up to date and staff were courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northwest suburb

Great location, close to bus, amazing staff.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Kid friendly, location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central location. Easy to get around the city on busses, L lines and uber.
Our experience at the Palomar was perfect. ALL of the staff from the valet to housekeeping were definitely doing the Kimpton name proud. My husband and I checked in with our two boys. They were immediately handed a sheet for a scavenger hunt throughout the hotel. It kept them busy during check-in and the prize at the end blew my kids away:) The buses and L-lines to the museums were in walking distance and an uber cost us $8. There are restaurants everywhere including Rock bottom brewery across the street. Make sure you hit the pool at night for a great view, another plus for the kids. This hotel is dog friendly too. They have a chalkboard behind the counter welcoming all of the dogs that are currently staying. I believe there were 5 while we were there but I never heard them. We met a lab in the lobby and it's manners were impeccable. Great shower products along with a list of items that you may have forgotten that they will provide. What truly put it over the top for me is the fact that they had extra pillows on the beds for all of us. We are pillow people and it's an annoyance to me if the first thing I have to do is call housekeeping to get more. Thank you kimpton palomar for making our spring break most enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
This hotel was very nice. Bed was comfortable and room was nicely decorated. We arrived in time for free wine in the gathering room. That was a fun surprise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Hotel Staff!!! whoop! whoop!
Cons: Only issue ... bathroom door slides - which would be a cool feature if it wasn't so heavy.
Location: Eataly :-)
Hotel Staff ROCKS!!! Every single staff member we encountered were super helpful and friendly!!! Would come back just because of that ;-). Hotel is in a great location if you want to be centrally located and tackle the city from any angle. Only issue ... bathroom door slides - which would be a cool feature if it wasn't so heavy. More of a pain than a deal breaker ... just something to improve on. We were fine but I gotta' think it's an issue for some. But all and all is was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Friendliest staff ever. Made whole experience enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Little gem

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Walking distance to everything especially to foods; Eataly, eggsperience, uno/duo pizza, ramen, etc. Hotel staffs are superb. It's our #1 choice when going to Chicago. We have 2 kids so sometime higher end hotel can be too uptight. Here they have fun at the pool, gym is not too crowded, valet is so convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Sable was wonderful restaurant. Mark conceirge was fantastic. Elegant clean hotel.