Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Wai Man from London

Near train station

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Hotels
Near the train station.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

surprisingly good no-frills

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Super-convenient right next the the train station. Not a happening or pretty location of course but a quick 5-10 minute walk to the town centre. Room was very basic but clean and comfortable, great value for the price. Breakfast could use some improvement though, basically bread and cereal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
I had booked the room by mistake and it was too late to make changes so we made the best of the situation. I had intended to stay somewhere close to Porto and fortunately, the hotel was right by the station that takes you directly to Porto. The location by the station made the hotel an ideal place to stay, but otherwise the town of Braga doesn't really have much.
5 out of 5
by Ann W from Panama City, FL, USA

Great location for exploring Braga

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
We took the train from Porto to Braga and decided to stay at the Basic Braga Hotel because of its location next to the train station which would be convenient for the follow on train trip to Lisbon. The hotel is actually located behind the station and is accessible from inside the station. Did not notice this entrance until we left for the trip to Lisbon. This entrance actually leads into the hotel restaurant and from there to the lobby. If you walk around from the outside after exiting the train station, then turn left behind the taxi stand. The hotel is not marked very well. The entrance sits off in a corner and is marked by a large white Letter H. The hotel was clean with comfortable beds and reasonably priced and the location to town was perfect. It really is only a short walk to town. I was traveling with my daughter and we never felt unsafe, even when we returned in the dark. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was ok, but we preferred the small Cafe across the street. Internet avcess was good and there was a $2 charge per day for internet access.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was clean, conveniently located and cheap

Posted Dec 6, 2012 on Hotels
we knew what to expect and it was as predicted, so that is good. The girl on reception was extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were small, clean and compact. No complaints.
4 out of 5
by H F

Braga

Posted Sep 6, 2012 on Hotels
Good and convenient hotel not luxury but what you pay for and what you get was great, I will be back
5 out of 5
by marj

wonderfully basic!

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels
Great that is was to the train station... had lovely restaurant and great staff at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Best Low Cost Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2012 on Hotels
We were there for the UEFA Cup Game Braga-Besiktas. Very nice and simple designed rooms, kindly and helpfull staff. They never say no.. They're just offering similar if they can not do. This is an important thing which makes a hotel stayable. Thank you so much for Front Office staff especially to Nadia, say hi to Braga Fan Barman :) and thank you again for all time.. You just had good friends from Istanbul.I hope you can come to Istanbul and if you can, don't forget to visit The Marmara Sisli :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Basic Braga by Axis - ideal to walk into the town

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
next to the station with plenty of trains to other parts of Portugal but it is not noisy as trains stop at night and all rooms have excellent double double glazing so do not let the station put you off. In 5 minutes you are in the centre of the town with really good shops and superb restaurants close by at reasonable prices. The christmas decorations in town were magnificent and were switched on at the start of December. Staff were excellent and for value it is excellent, as well as having very secure underground paking if you have a car. We had a great stay. In and around the city there are lots of interesting baroque style building and you can use public transport for ones just outside the town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Basic Braga by Axis great price,staff and so clean

Posted Dec 6, 2011 on Hotels
The location next to the station and only 10 minutes walk to the city centre make it so convenient. It is quiet though and the secure underground parking great if you have a car(no real need as good buses to places of interest). The place is really clean and staff so helpful. Christmas lights in town were fantastic(check as they may not be there next year). If in Porto it is well worth a few days in Braga and this is a great place to choose.