Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Fun family resort perfect for Thanksgiving

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The staff were wonderful and planned many event and activities that everyone could enjoy. The Thanksgiving buffet dinner was excellent.
Cons: We had low water pressure in our shower and inconsistent water temperature but the charm of the main building made up for it.
Location: The hotel provided shuttle service to the Jefferson Pools a few miles away. The location in the mountains is stunning with several free hiking trails
Nice getaway destination for a family Thanksgiving with great activities and dining options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic overall experience

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Fantastic holiday experience for the entire family. Staff and activities were spectacular
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Always great to be at the Homestead

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Great ,beautiful area to walk, to see nature. All staff very accommodating, pleasant especially Nina who gave us a lot of information about the hotel. She went out of her way to help us.
Cons: Jefferson pool was closed during the weekday - that's too bad because we really like it. We understand it was out of season.
Location: Golfing, hiking, horse riding, great restaurants, mineral springs. archering, falconry
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampton, VA

Hotel nice, staff nice.. Isolated, expensive.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed the 250th anniversary celebrations. The set up for the conference was great also.
Cons: We only had one hot shower the three days we were there. When we told the front desk upon check-out he sort of shrugged and asked if he could help us with anything else. The hot springs aren't on site (you have to shuttle) and is 18$ for an hour in a run-down hut. The restaurants are overpriced but you have no other options as there aren't any stores or restaurants for miles outside the hotel property. If you don't want valet parking, too bad- there is no other option even though the parking lots are close by. (They charge 10$ a night plus an additional 10$ valet fee...)
Location: Scenic and isolated. Nothing to do besides hotel activities and small town with café and some small shops.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, United States of America

Elegant and charming

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very much enjoyed our over night stay; the pools and outdoor hot tub were heated and had great ambience. Very expensive, but worth the trip fand r a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Great facilities but pricey!

Posted Oct 6, 2016
We booked in for a weekend to celebrate an anniversary and overall, we enjoyed our stay. The facilities and activities offered are really nice, especially if you're the more active type. Archery, skeet shooting, horse-riding, golf, etc. but also the pools, lazy river, waterslide and mini-golf. However, a major negative for us was the resort-culture of pay for EVERYTHING...and you pay a LOT. Nonetheless, we managed to enjoy ourselves at the free pool and still enjoyed our weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel that needs a little tender loving care

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was very nice. It's a great property and the staff with the exception of one front desk clerk who expected us to be happy about staying in a room with a broken window were great. The rooms in the main building need some serious repair. We had to check into 3 different rooms to get one that was acceptable. Two of the rooms had broken windows and a drippy faucet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Relaxing, Beautiful, Amazing!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It could be closer so I could go more often.
Location: It is in the middle of nowhere in the mountains but the little downtown is cute and the location is part of what makes it special.
My mom and I took a quick one night getaway. We paid for access to the spa garden and adult pool. At first we were hesitant but it was so worth it. They pampered you all day with cold towels, smoothies, mint water, lunch, and other treats. This is a grand hotel with service to match. Highly Recommend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
Amenities were great, service was not so great.
5 out of 5
by meg from roanoke

awesome

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Fulfilling and restful