Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly pub with rooms

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly welcoming staff. Lovely breakfast. Dartmoor right on the doorstep. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by Annette from Sydney, Australia

wonderful place

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
The East Dart is a friendly, homely place in the middle of Dartmoor. It is an ideal location to explore this stunning part of Devon. As I was the only guest, I was upgraded to a double room with the best heating (it was in the middle of a cold snap). I was well cared for and made to feel welcome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Ideal location, very friendly and perfect for my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A comfortable stay in a tradtional Dartmoor pub

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Great hospitality in a wonderful moorland setting and the perfect stopover during a North-South Dartmoor trek. Food and beer are excellent, rooms are small but very comfortable. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Cambridgeshire

A great stop over

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Although we only had a one night stay we wished it could have been longer and will definitely return. The welcome was first class as was the room and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service was brilliant - nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from here

Just what I needed

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location; absolutely ideal for my purpose, right on the moor with Bellever Forest and the visitor centre just minutes away
Cons: Shower takes a bit to get up to temperature but I was on holiday so in no hurry.
Location: At the heart of the moor and all that offers with ready access to larger towns if needed
From the minute I arrived till the minute I left I was made to feel very welcome and as if no request would be too much. It was a spur of the moment booking and perhaps a happy coincidence that it suited me and my particular interests rather well. I loved the traditional interior of the bar, my room was clean, comfortable and sufficiently well appointed for my needs. I'm funny with food but found I was actually spoiled for choice for evening meals and actually appreciated being able to eat (and drink) in the same place I would sleep in. Yes I've had better / cheaper but then I've also paid a whole lot more for lesser quality. And thought the chips were great. Breakfast was more than adequate to fuel what was some very active days without the need to resort to snacks throughout the day I loved the family atmosphere where I felt more like a visiting relative than a paying guest.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Bristol

East Dart Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
We have visited Postbridge and Dartmoor many times over the years and this is our first stay at the East Dart Hotel. It was a wonderful five days made more so by the friendliness of the owners Paul and Rosie. The breakfasts were superb and all cooked using meat and eggs from local farms. Cannot find any fault with this hotel. Wall to wall sunshine for five days was also a bonus for Dartmoor. Many thanks to you both.
5 out of 5
by David from Northampton

What an amazing place & amazing people

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
I was heading down to Dartmoor to do my Mountain Training Hills Skills Course. As soon as I walked into the hotel I felt welcome.Paul & Rosie and the rest of the staff could not do enough to help and my stay very enjoyable. The food was great, the beer was awesome and the locals friendly :-) I had an amazing 3 night stay.
4 out of 5
by AJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rick from Canada

Outstanding Service

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels
Paul and Rosie made me so welcome and I enjoyed my stay with them. Rosie was always trying to get me to eat more for breakfast!! One night out of the 5 that I was there, I arrived after the kitchen was closed. Paul made me a sandwich. If you need a great place with down home service, I recommend staying there. This hotel should be higher in the ratings.