Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great view and great food

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Hotel rooms are simple but comfortable. The hotel restaurant is superb, with magnificent views of the Dordogne River valley below.
3 out of 5
by David

Beautiful visa from from facing rooms

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
It is situated in the most beautiful position but the hotel is tired now it needs an injection of cash to modernise and bring into the 21st century
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairytale view from our window

Posted Apr 29, 2017
A hotel with charm and more charm in an exquisite jewel box town. The view from our window was magically beautiful and out of a dream. The room itself was again charming and charmingly French. The staff went out of their way for us and provided excellent service. We had two dinners, one in the dinning room and one outside on the patio. Both were delicious and both provided the gorgeous view of the valley and river below. We would love to return to Domme and of course L'Esplanade.
5 out of 5
by Mischa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice get-a-way after spending time at all the caves etc in the two valleys
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville FL

Beautiful view, Beautiful town

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was a great stop on our tour of France. We loved staying in the quiet town. The hotel was in a great location with a beautiful view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the wifi worked great.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Durham

This hotel has it all!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great find! Exactly as the picture shows - this hotel is a destination by itself. The good news: the Dordogne is full of treasures you didn't know you were looking for! Eat breakfast and dinner here. Watch the sunset every night. Relax in your room. Take day trips, but stay here for a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

Esplanade has best view of the Domme valley

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Great view of the valley. Excellent food
Cons: Friendliness and knowledge of the staff.
Location: The caves of Lascaux are 40 minutes away. Sarlat a gorgeous medieval town nearby is great to visit on Saturday, which is market day.
Switched the room assigned to me by booking through Expedia to one with a better view, since the Esplanade has the best view of the valley stretching out below Domme. Pity to miss it for lack of 10 euros a night. Food at the restaurant was expensive but excellent, if a little rich. Staff were friendly if a little rigid. Not the warmest reception but good enough for France. May return with others from my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room in beautiful Domme

Posted Sep 28, 2015
We had a really nice stay here and would definitely recommend it. The room had a really nice and spacious bathroom with a tub, comfortable bed, and is just steps from amazing views of the valley and right in the lovely downtown of Domme. One tip, book early for dinner reservations if you'd like to eat at the hotel's restaurant.