Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville FL

Beautiful view, Beautiful town

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This was a great stop on our tour of France. We loved staying in the quiet town. The hotel was in a great location with a beautiful view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the wifi worked great.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Durham

This hotel has it all!

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was a great find! Exactly as the picture shows - this hotel is a destination by itself. The good news: the Dordogne is full of treasures you didn't know you were looking for! Eat breakfast and dinner here. Watch the sunset every night. Relax in your room. Take day trips, but stay here for a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Esplanade has best view of the Domme valley

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Pros: Great view of the valley. Excellent food
Cons: Friendliness and knowledge of the staff.
Location: The caves of Lascaux are 40 minutes away. Sarlat a gorgeous medieval town nearby is great to visit on Saturday, which is market day.
Switched the room assigned to me by booking through Expedia to one with a better view, since the Esplanade has the best view of the valley stretching out below Domme. Pity to miss it for lack of 10 euros a night. Food at the restaurant was expensive but excellent, if a little rich. Staff were friendly if a little rigid. Not the warmest reception but good enough for France. May return with others from my family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely room in beautiful Domme

Posted Sep 28, 2015
We had a really nice stay here and would definitely recommend it. The room had a really nice and spacious bathroom with a tub, comfortable bed, and is just steps from amazing views of the valley and right in the lovely downtown of Domme. One tip, book early for dinner reservations if you'd like to eat at the hotel's restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Véronique from Lyon

Très décevant

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Accueil peu aimable de la patronne ( en revanche le reste du personnel est sympathique ), chambre sous les toits petite et vieillotte, lit un peu dur. L'emplacement est exceptionnel mais je ne recommande pas cet hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely auberge with spectacular view.

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the relaxed vibe in beautiful. The L'Esplanade is a charming French auberge. The staff aimed to please. Though a bit difficult to find if arriving by car, once we got there, it was simple to drive to and from other Dodorgne villages. Please note, there are no elevators.
5 out of 5
by ian from Northfleet , kent. England.


Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
My stay at the hotel was very pleasant. I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by janet

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding views off the terrace Wonderful for drinks at night, coffee in the morning and dinner during sunset. Great base to explore the Dordogne river valley. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Ask for rooms overlooking the valley. Hotel is older but atmospheric however that may not appeal to those expecting a 5 star hotel experience. I am ok with that as I enjoy that this fit the essence of a medieval town. Would return!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: La doccia
Cons: Rifornirsi di candele, munire le camere di un piccolo frigo bar.
Location: Posizione panoramica ma solo alcune camere godono del bell'affaccio.
Personale deludente, direi anche freddo. Niente ascensore, ti porti le valigie da solo al primo o al secondo piano. Se piove, entra l'acqua dalle finestre dei corridoi (c'erano stracci sotto le finestre). Camera piccola e con vista deludente (le camere con vista sulla valle e sulla Dordogna costano più di 110 euro, cioè la cifra da noi pagata per dormire in un due stelle con vista sui tetti angusti del piccolo paese). Sarà stato un caso ma il mio compagno ha trovato uno scarafaggio sulle lenzuola, abbiamo immaginato che fosse entrato dalla finestra-lucernario accanto al letto. C'è stato un temporale in paese e quando ho richiesto la chiave per rientrare in camera alla conciergerie non mi hanno avvisata che in hotel mancava l'elettricità. Ho salito due piani di scale al buio. In camera non era possibile usare il bagno, in quanto privo di finestra e quindi troppo scuro, così sono ridiscesa e alla mia richiesta di informazioni e/o candele la responsabile mi ha abbandonata alla conciergerie in quanto dopo di me era entrato un gruppo di clienti francesi che avevano prenotato il ristorante e lei aveva più premura di accompagnarli al tavolo che di rispondere alle mie domande. Ho aspettato invano che la signora ritornasse a darmi informazioni, ma intanto il ragazzo che era lì mi ha detto che l'hotel non era provvisto di candele e che comunque la mancanza di elettricità non dipendeva da loro. Per fortuna la corrente è tornata dopo cena.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Imola

Meraviglioso soggiorno

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: La cortesia del personale e l'ambiente
Location: Splendida posizione
Grazioso albergo con una splendida vista. Consigliato sia per coppie che per famiglie, ottima posizione.