Ratings based on 1,445 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Such a fun and quirky hotel! I love that it's an old office building!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Nov 20, 2017
I think this place is over rated. Also, they say they are pet friendly but don’t provide a dog bowl or treats. Which I know the Ace dose. Also the bed was sooo uncomfortable. We had a king bed with three pillows that were so thin we used our cloths for additional padding. The next night we requested additional pillows which were thicker, but didn’t make up for the uncomfortable bed/ bedding. It’s in a good location but I wouldn’t stay here again, that’s for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Ok hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Hotel is ok. Not worth the room fee they charge. They do not have complimentary parking. The hotel it self looks run down. I will never be staying at the standard again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vibe & facilities

Posted Nov 18, 2017
We went for my botfruends birthday and it was a really cool place, great roof top bar, great facilities food & drinks. The room was really cool with lots of trinkets available. The Only reason for loss of stars was that the shower pressure was dismal, barely usable! Not sure if this is the whole place or we got unlucky with Rm 618, but it was like dribble (on all 3 settings) as if the pipe was pinched.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great location & staff.

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Location is perfect if you have business in DTLA. Staff is great, very proffesional, helpful & accomodating. Hotel is in desperate need of a rennovation. I looks very dull and outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel, shame about the noise.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Transportation System construction noise at this location was disruptive during the day and night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Interesting design for a hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Few issues with the hotel 1.understaffed 2. Rooms were cleaned around 4:30-5:00pm every day (way too late) 3. No door man to help with luggage. Staff just watches you struggle with the door. 4. Major road construction going on right outside. Was not warned or we would have gone elsewhere. Construction stops in downtown LA around 10:30pm. 5. Elevators were in poor condition. 6. Common spaces, specifically hallways were disgusting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay in Downtown LA

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I love this hotel. Fun vibe, cool rooms, friendly staff, good restaurant. Stayed there during USC parents weekend. Convenient to campus and downtown restaurants and attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Hip Hotel in downtown LA

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Good location in downtown LA close to restaurants and businesses. Lovely rooftop bar.
Cons: Not sure what you can do about the noise beyond giving out earplugs. The requirement to provide email for Wi-Fi inspired me to just use my own hotspot
Location: if you like ping pong, this is the hotel for you. And it has several interesting bars.
The Standard is a perfectly fine hotel, though it strives a little too hard for my tastes to be super hip. Probably a fun place to stay for leisure, but on business travel I was unimpressed. No clock in room, bedding was not super comfortable and room was loud. They do provide ear plugs, but still. To use free Wi-Fi you must provide email address.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Park City, Utah

Downtown pricey

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location was great, rooftop was fun to hang out during the day.
Cons: The price of the rooms was not commensurate with the quality.
Location: We went to a VIP experience at the Grammy Museum
Stayed here to try it out, probably won't go back.