Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merritt Island, FL

Pleasant Hotel near Duomo

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Found most attractions a short walk as well as five days of great restaurants nearby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aus

Central location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Ease of access Shower booth wonky, screen not properly closing so water sprayed out onto the floor. Horrible odour
Location: short walk to duomo, strozzi palace, Ponte Vecchi and Ultrarno
We stayed here for 4 nights in July. The hotel is centrally located, just a very short stroll to Duomo, Ultrano, Ponte Vecchi and the main high end shopping streets of Florence. You have to lug your baggage up a flight of steps to access a very small lift to get to reception on 1st floor. There is a horrible smell that is worse in the afternoon - we unfortunately could smell it inside our room. It pretty much killed any positive first impression I had. If you prefer the central location at a budget, stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

In the heart of Florence

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Accommodations and proximity to all the major sights.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Duomo, Accademia (15 minutes), Ponte Vecchio (10 minutes), Uffizi (10 minutes). Dinner - 5 minutes in any direction.
A hotel in the heart of Florence - a block from Plaza de Republica, two blocks from the Duomo, shopping within steps. A great place to stay in the birth of the Renaissance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Breakfast very simple, not much choice Good location Room was quite old and had a smell House keeper never gave our room toilet paper and tissue each night so we had to request separately Sound proof was bad as we were all waken up by the next room fighting and shouting on our last night at 3AM for an hour
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location tired hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The friendly and very helpful staff
Cons: the hotel needs a refurbishment. Better bedrooms. A decent and fuller breakfast, which was one of the worst I have had in many travels through Europe.
Location: Location was great and walking distance to ALL the attractions. Florence is full of culture, too many to mention, and excellent ice crea!
On arrival the reception was on the first floor, always an issue. When entering the breakfast facilities were small, only seven tables and the reception area, two couches and a Pc on a table. Reception people were great and friendly. But, as there is always, we had been given full board, not that we wanted this in Florence, though, it had persuaded us to book the hotel being a 4 Star. Anyway they obviously did not offer facilities for for lunch or dinner, but unknown to us the really nice staff phoned Expedia, who honoured dinner x 3 nights at a local Resturant. Nice but not the point. The bedroom was small, not enough room for clothes, a drawer that could only open if you held back the mirrored sliding door, and a shower area where you had no room to put your essentials to wash with. As I said the location in the old town was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: better access to entarnce
Location: is in the center, very good
very kind, help me with my luggage before my check in date
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Very expensive hotel for what you pay.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Position near Piazza della Republica.
Cons: No, it's just a very old building that needs a renovation.
Location: Good.
Hotel is old and run down. Extremely basic eg.plastic cups for tea making facilities. Very good position next to Piazza della Republica but rooms are not 4 star standard. Stayed in another much better hotel that was also 4 star and very much cheaper. Big problem with the reception desk being on the first floor. You need to climb a set of stairs before you get to reception, with all your luggage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Worn out hotel, noisy street. Hard to sleep well

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: walking distance to sights, but that's it.
Cons: Everything. I have been traveling for decades and don't complain, but this hotel is not worth the money or frustration.
Location: Good sights nearby, but noisy area, especially at night; cigarette smoke sneaking into bedroom.
I booked another hotel; Orbitz switched us to this place due to "overbooking". Definitely NOT 4-star quality, rather disappointing. Felt like a 2-star. Breakfast marginal, only amenity in bath was bad shampoo/shower gel. Nice to have bath robe, though. TV small and marginal service. Most employees helpful and nice. Room furnishings very old and tired. This place needs SERIOUS remodeling. Styrofoam water cup in room was dirty inside on arrival. One of the receptionists smoking in the lounge area but cigarette hanging out of window. Also, outside front door with door open. Italy is bad enough with smokers everywhere, but when you book a non-smoking room, smoke should not be leaking in! Although the location is very central to tourist attractions, it's difficult to get a good night's sleep because of the street noise at night - all night. Too many loud drunks yelling. And we are sound sleepers. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel, at least not as anything above 2-star quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for 10 nights and we were so at home. Love the hotel the friendly staff and location !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

A mixed bag

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Great location! Friendly, helpful staff along with a nice breakfast buffet were the positives.
Cons: See comment about room temperature. The staff said there is nothing they can do about it.
Location: Easy walking distance to just about every thing with plenty of decent restaurants nearby.
Small room with very little storage space. But I guess that is typical for hotels of this type in Europe. What is with not being able to control the individual room temperature? The staff's only recommendation: open a window. But then the mosquitoes eat you alive. We had the same problem at three separate hotels in Italy.