Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

old hotel with a little charm

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The hotel is obviously fairly old and has plenty of charm but the rooms are far below the Hilton standard. No A/C which made the room uncomfortably hot. The furniture was shabby and the only remaining working lift was constantly rammed. I think there are better options in Brighton.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Seafront hotel with pool and gym but no air con

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect for the things we ha planned and l really enjoyed the pool, my husband said the gym facilities were also good
Cons: Room was way too hot so air conditioning especially in the rooms which receive the afternoon sun would make a big difference Having both lifts working
Location: On seafront in the heart of Brighton close to everything
Very busy when l arrived but check-in was efficient, one lift out of order so long wait and stopped at every floor! Standard room comes with lots of extras including safe, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and TV, a fan was provided (because standard rooms do not have air conditioning). Had requested a quiet room (ie at back of hotel) on upper floor but forgot to ensure room was not on the sunny side of the building. Windows were shut when I arrived and room was baking hot. Got staff to release window locks (presumably security measure on upper floors) but window only opened a maximum of 10 centimetres so room remained unbearably hot for both nights we stayed. Apart from this big criticism, room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Good shower, nice large bath towels were provided. The swimming pool was really nice (towels also provided for pool and gym) Didn't eat at hotel or use any other facilities, but hotel is in great location on the sea front surrounded by all the best things that Brighton has to offer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice name but terrible hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
First room we were given was horrible, had Mould on the wall, the bathroom was dirty. Personally would of never of showered in it. Asked to be moved to another room, which they did, slightly better however the shower had a massive leak out the side of the bath which we had to use a towel whilst using the shower. All in all, wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Close to the beach.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Lovely hotel. Close to the beach. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and hotel's position
Cons: See above
We have stayed at a number of Hilton hotels worldwide and thought the Metropole Brighton to be far below the standard we would expect of that group. The room was a bit shabby (the standard of redecoration was very poor); (despite a strict non-smoking policy) smelt of stale tobacco; we had half-full/previously used complimentary toiletries (despite asking twice for these to be re-stocked these requests were ignored by the front of house staff); and the bed was the most uncomfortable and rickety bed (which meant that we had very little sleep) I have experienced in a very long while! That said, when we raised these complaints the next morning with the Guest Relations Manager he was both courteous and understanding and promised to look into all of these. The position of the hotel (on the Brighton seafront) is superb and the breakfast was good quality and value. I felt a car parking charge of £20 per night for guests of hotel was totally unacceptable (although, again, this issue was dealt with to my satisfaction)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great location and a good central base

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The grandeur and space, except room was slightly claustrophobic and far too warm.
Cons: Bar Service
Location: Fantastic convenient, Central location close to beach, shops and a pleasant walk to Marina.
Booked through Expedia and thought I was getting a bargain until I checked in and realised breakfast wasn't included... £25 extra later.. Anyway a great stay for mother and 15year old daughter despite this initial hiccup, with the added convenience of being able to check in your bags with the concierge before and after your check-in/out time, so that you are able to enjoy extra shopping/sightseeing time hands free. Our stay coincided unexpectedly with Brighton Pride which we didn't intend to watch but couldn't help get caught up in and thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment provided. Atmosphere was very feel good and everyone we encountered out and about were most friendly. Looking forward to a return journey once the i-360 is complete :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice location but lacked basic amenities

Posted Aug 3, 2015
The hotel had nothing in the rooms, we chose the family room and it had no flannels, the old menu which we found out 20 mins after we ordered room service, not enough towels in the room. Not enough soap etc, no sanitary bags. Hugely disappointed! Never again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Staff very welcoming and extremely helpful great venue nice bars and restaurants will certainly be returning in the near future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Disappointing stay

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast choice, although quite expensive
Cons: Noise levels
Location: Reasonable location & decent shopping
Our room, despite being on the 6th floor was very noisy - all day & night there was a very noisy set of massive fans outside at ground level - didn't get much sleep all week. There was also broken glass in the corridor which we reported seeing in three different places - nobody cleaned it all up despite us reporting it. Expensive to use their phone charging boxes as well - £1.50 for 30 minutes is extortionate!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location close to everything beach, town etc

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Hotel better than expected given recent reviews. All staff friendly and helpful, room spacious and quiet.