Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Brian

Reasonable hotel in excellent location

Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very compact - but in terms of the very high prices in Barcelona it probably offers reasonable value for money. It was clean, breakfast was satisfactory. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Its location is excellent - 1 min from Metro, 10 mins from AeroBus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, MT

Nice hotel close to center square for price

Posted May 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to center and price
Cons: Carpet
Location: City tours and so,e of the sightseeing points
Easy to get around and nice staff, close to city center and easy to get around, City tour buses are near by and easy to get on and off to see the city at your leisure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Run down, claustrophobic hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Hotel' location - great. Rooms condition- poor. At a price of ca170 Canadian dollars per night I would expect better quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great location poor condition

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location, Showers
Cons: the whole place needs new carpets, bedding, furniture, breakfast serving containers. It needs a good freshen up throughout.
Location: Located just off the top of La Rambla. easy walking distance of the old town, gothic quarter,
Great location just off from top of La Ramblas but the standard of the rooms is poor. Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and son. We don't mind basic and have stayed at many budget hotels but this room was shabby. The small window opened onto another wall which was literally inches in front of you so no natural light. The reading light fitting on the wall was loose and the light kept flickering on and off. The beds were uncomfartable especially the pillows which were some kind of weird memory foam cylinder. the room smelt musty and dusty not helped by the lack of natural light and fresh air. The chip board furniture was all chipped and worn. The toilet started leaking from the back at one point, we told the staff before going out for the day, when we returned someone had just shoved a load of towels round the back of the toilet. Breakfast was very basic. Boiled eggs, pieces of baguette, ham,salami, sliced melon, pineapple. croissants, dilute cordial, No fresh juice. A long black hair was sitting on top of the sliced pineapple one morning! On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful allowing us to leave our luggage at the hotel all day after checking out before our evening flight back, and the shower was good. I am sure better hotels are available for similar price. This hotel is not to be confused with Urquinoana Plaza across the road which is a 4 star classy establishment
5 out of 5
by Anuradha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to metro, centrally located

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Cons: breakfast can be better. very minimal choice.
Location: close to mero, la ramblas and gothic area.
close to metro. easier access to most things to do in barcelona.
4 out of 5
by Anastasia

A lovely place to start.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent! A breezy five minute walk to the city centre and close to local amenities. The pleasant hotel staff are ready and willing to guide you in the right direction, with respect to tours and general navigation of the city. Be aware that Barcelona is a city that never sleeps so expect some noise from the street during all hours, but no more than you would encounter in any other major city. The cleanliness of rooms should be improved, though you do find yourself spending little time there. When you do, you will find a comfortable bed and a very hot shower. I recommend Hotel Urquinaona, and am looking forward to my next stay with them!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
My Expectations were met. This is an older hotel with a great location. For the price it was a good value. We were on the top floor with a small terrace onto the street. Noisy, but that's what I expected. Staff was wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PERFECT LOCATION, MORE OF A CHEAP HOSTEL

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Upon arriving at the hotel I immediately wanted a full refund and wanted to go to another hotel, it reminded me more of a Hostel like a room in a building for 1 or 2 night stay but the condition of the room was poor holes in the celling there was no fitted sheet just two sets of regular sheets so if you lay on the bed right away you mess it up the bathroom was neat but it just didn't feel clean but you get what you pay for the real thing that bothered me was the hole in the light fixture, however I went out the hotel and started looking around the city and it's smack in the middle of barça it has one of the best night clubs right across the street a metro station a block away busses that stop right in front of the hotel and free breakfast I mean with all those perks I overlooked the small things location was great but the hotel was BEAT UP if you don't plan on staying much in the hotel it's a dream if you need a place to sleep it's perfect if your trying to sleep comfortably in a beautiful domain keep searching Bottom line - perfect location, in a one star hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

too dirty and nasty for the price

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Dirty rooms Dirty hallways Rains throughout the ceiling Staff did bare minimum Receptionist had no recommandations for restaurants orher than their own restaurant! Sinks are clogged Showers have mold, calling was stained black, etc - it needs a deep cleaning!!! Towels are old Bed covers are stained Rooms smells like sewer View outside the window looked upon a wall with of another building who keep their dirty mapping buckets and equipment there Window was covered bars (to keep people out?!)