Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Frances

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Free WiFi was very slow and food was lackluster. Otherwise, clean and friendly staff. Location was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redlands, Ca

Hotel near Lake Argentina

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We stayed this hotel because it got good reviews, but somehow I missed that it was way out of town. Unless you have a car (or like to walk into town ~45min). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room (108) was spacious decor with antic looking furniture. Bathroom was nice and clean. Unfortunately this room is right above the main entrance. One hears the door banging or the bus which picks up guests for their booked excursions at 6am - beeping a couple of times. That was rather annoying! The breakfast had a good selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Rober, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review.- We are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and that everything was as expected.- We have a tranfer free with 4 daily departures to the center another option is a taxi (very economic) .- We can offer you in return an excellent view of Lake Argentino and its mountains.- Buses pick up passengers for excursions. Early in the morning, unfortunately that happens in all hotels in El Calafate.- regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant and friendly staff, but the bathrooms can use a lot of help, very stale and smelly. Not the best housekeeping at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far out of the main town

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly.
Plumbing failed, flooded the floor. Drain connection was not properly installed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago de Chile

The good, the bad and the ugly

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Good view of the lake, and they respond to emails
Cons: The lunch boxes they offer to folks who go in the tours are overpriced. The breakfast was quite bare and lacking on hot options (none offered).
The hotel price was OK when we booked it; further, when we mentioned over the email that we were trying to book excursions to Glaciar Perito Moreno and Torres del Paine, they were quick to help us with that. They gave us two prices for the excursions they publicize in their website: one with credit card which was 10% higher, and a "cash" rate. We chose the cash rate. When we arrived, we paid the two excursions (Glacier Perito Moreno and Torres del Paine) and asked for a receipt; the owner told me that the cash rate did not include the 21% VAT so if I wanted a receipt, they were going to add that. I pointed out that this was never brought up in any of the emails we exchanged. Tax evasion is very high in Argentina, and it's especially higher in the tourist industry where many foreigners don't know any better or don't care. I insisted twice more about the receipts; they only appeared in my email after I threatened to file a complain with Argentina's tax authority (AFIP). The first excursion to Perito Moreno was fine, and we had a great day. The next one (to Torres del Paine) was a nightmare; the hotel staff did not know when they were picking us up in the morning but they told us to be ready at 7 to 7:15am (which we did). The next morning the bus showed up at 6am; we were obviously asleep and they left us. We spent the next three plus hours in two small taxis chasing the bus, which we almost missed. Poor to no coordination between hotel and tour operators; not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, United States of America

Nice hotel in el Calafate

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly and feels like home
Cons: Breakfast has very poor selection of food.
Location: National parks
Stayed there to explore the National Park area. Hotell staff is very friendly and helpfull. They have free shuttle to the center of the town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by laura

Functional for an overnighter

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Quite far out of town. Basic but very good price - same as hostel (£50 pn). Loud corridor. Lovely service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, decent sized room. Nice view from lakeside room, but remote location, long walk to town
3 out of 5
by Amanda from Bakersfield, ca

2km from City

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed for one night at the beginning of my trip and one night at the end. The hotel is 2 km from town with a shuttle that makes only two trips per day. There is not a airport shuttle other than the ones that service all hotels in the city. The hotel is near Laguna Nimez with some great opportunities to walk around and enjoy Lago Argentina. I stayed in several hotels in El Calafate and all were unimpressive. At check in I was told that on the following reservation I would be staying at another hotel. The other hotel was closer to the city so that was fine, I suppose. I think a 4.1 rating for this hotel is very high. I thought it was on par with 3 star hotels in the US.