Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ephrata, PA

No Kids Here: Punishment & Hostility Awaits!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I honestly didn't see the rules about no adults. When we arrived, with one very well behaved 12 year-old, we were met with hostility. When we arrived for breakfast, we were called liars and denied the meal. It was awful. The incident could have been dealt with in a more flexible and friendly manner; it was not. Sorry, I can't recommend this B&B, even if you're an adult, based on how they dealt with that situation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I

Hostile and punitive

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I booked this hotel because I thought the innkeepers were nice and I like to support local businesses. Unfortunately I was wrong. They really hate kids, like H-A-T-E to the extent their behavior will bring a child in their presence to tears. I didn't catch that the "adults only" rule (which I honestly wasn't aware of upon booking) meant that dogmatic draconian measures (such as withholding breakfast and being hostile and unpleasant to paying, polite, and quiet guests) was the way to deal with that misunderstanding. The other guests for whom this policy is meant to protect, only got to see how horrible the innkeepers could be. I now get the dubious honor of blacklisting the B&B, as well as the attached brewery I frequented, for all who think that reason, friendliness and professionalism are a way to run a business, because It's apparent the innkeepers would rather follow rules blindly and make paying guests feel unwelcome than work out issues amicably.
4 out of 5
by Jing from Rutherford

Historic Venue

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Host Denise and Bob are very friendly and nice, we love the Black Forest Brewery that Bob built near the B&B. The beer tastes great. My husband said that if we are nearby, he would visit this place for a drink every night... This historic house has lots of interesting stories...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE PA

Excellent location in the quiet end of town

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Everything....the style of the inn, the quiet end of town, the ease with which the owners handle the guests, the cleanliness, the welcoming details.
Cons: See above re the stairs
We stayed one night during "The Fair" which is a huge shindig in town that we knew nothing about when we booked our room. However, the inn was located in a quiet neighborhood and we checked in with ease. It is a very nice old inn with a detached building nearby called The Brewery, a small pub where the owners make and serve their own beer. Very quaint. The owners are so hospitable, served a delicious hot breakfast, and when we checked in we found easy directions to our room and information re breakfast, etc. The ONLY drawback I can find is: There is a stairway (that is sure to be the original stair) which is quaint, but might be difficult for senior citizens. Yes, I will be back, but there are some of my aging friends I might not recommend this to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful! The inn was lovely. Denise and bob were very nice. Denise made breakfast every morning and sat and talked with me. They love what they do and it shows in their inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely Historic Inn in Lancaster County

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Historic Inn. Great hosts. Beautifully decorated. Comfortable and easy access to the region.
Cons: nothing
Location: lots to do in historic Lancaster County
Fall weekend in Lancaster County. Beautiful time of the year. Harvest season and the warm welcome of Pennsylvania Dutch country.
5 out of 5
by Ebony from New York

Lovely and romantic getaway

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
The couple who.own the bed and breakfast are wondeful and gracious hosts. We loved every moment spent there and what's better they own a brewery with fantastic beer. Enjoyed our stay, the room great...the food great...beer great! The conversation...even better. Nice meeting new people !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Comfortable bed and breakfast in Ephrata

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The small number of rooms and the quietness. The nice surroundings with plants and flowers as you entered the house.
Cons: It would be better to offer options for the main part of the breakfast as well as serving size.
Location: Location in the town of Ephrata. Cloister nearby, Green Dragon flea market, other Amish markets and roadside stands.
My husband and I stayed two nights at the 1777 Americana Inn in Ephrata, PA. The room was small but comfortable and we liked having a room that was not a cookie cutter style like most rooms are in regular motels. The heating/cooling unit was very quiet. We had a mini-fridge in which I kept some food cold for meals that we wanted to eat in our room. The room was tastefully decorated. Our host and hostess, Bob and Denise were very friendly and helped us in any way they could. The breakfast was very filling and delicious. We had fresh fruit, muffins, juice, coffee or tea, and a large dish of souffle consisting of egg, milk, potato, cheese, ham, and asparagus. We left too early to have breakfast on the second day, but I am sure it was special for those partaking. For anyone wanting a different type of place to stay, they should try out the 1777 Americana Inn in Ephrata, PA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms and inn were beautifully decorated.
The decor at this B and B was amazing. Every piece of furniture and decoration was well thought out and created an authentic atmosphere. Unfortunately, our room was at the front at the inn and there was a lot of street noise, even in this small town. The breakfast was fine and the owners were very helpful and suggested two wonderful restaurants and a great itinerary for our short visit. The location is very good for travelling around the area, including Hershey.
5 out of 5
by robert from Connecticut

a great base in Amish country

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is just super comfortable,full of Pennsylvania treasures and a lovely home away from home.