Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Very nice location. Nice Hotel! Wish the pool bar would be open longer!. Everything was unrealistic expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Disappointing

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Could and should be so good. Had to wait almost 2 hours after check in time for the room. Finally got to the room to find someone else's luggage waiting for us!!!!! Key cards stopped working on second day which seemed to be a 'normal' occurrence within the hotel. Bathroom wasn't too clean.
5 out of 5
by Dr. C P

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel.Amazing staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on Expedia following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you particularly appreciated our staff members who work really hard every day to make your stay wonderful. Most important for us is the overall guest experience, rest assured that we will share your kind comments. We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back to Geneva in the not too distant future. With best regards, Thierry Lavalley General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to read such positive rating regarding our guests’ experience. Thank you for your posting on Expedia following your stay with us. We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back to Geneva in the not too distant future. With best regards, Thierry Lavalley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Ideally a lake view is best - we had a glimpse which was disappointing.
Cons: Expensive for a room with limited lake views. Was a bit noisy and pricey for food.
Location: Great spot with lots of attractions close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Thierry Lavalley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia and for your flattering remarks. We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay in the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I regret the poor impression of our rooms with a partial lake view, which are moderns and very functional. On a brighter note, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Thierry Lavalley General Manager
5 out of 5
by Leonid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent Hotel with Fantastic Staff

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Location, Hotel Design, Hotel Room Amenities and Comfortability, and Amazing Excellent Staff
Cons: Outlet in the bathroom for ladie's hair appliances, not just men's shavers.
Location: Central location to town and on the lake with beautiful views from many rooms and restaurants.
While this hotel is very pricey, it is well worth it. I booked 2 rooms for our family. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Lots of light and well appointed supplies were in each room. The only thing missing was an outlet in the bathroom for my hair appliance. So I had to curl my hair while sitting at the desk, which was fine. Central location with the free boat across the street to the main downtown area. The staff were super nice and accomodating. The front receptionists were all very pleasant, well dressed and super professional. Their English was great. The bell men and security people in the lobby were very attentive and helpful. We ate in the Chinese restaurant and the general restaurant on the 2nd floor. All of the waiters were amazing and very friendly.Smiling all the time. Food excellent. We found this a pleasant surprise for Switerland. Our daughter goes to school in a nearby town, so we come often to Switzerland to visit. Since waiters and staff don't work for tips, it is very rare to get good service in Switzerland. We ate at 2 Michelin restaurants in Switzerland, and they provide amazing service, but other than that, waiters and waitresses and not normally very attentive. But this hotel and their staff provided the best service in Switzerland.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Location, and indoor pool
Cons: Hospitality
Location: Location is great very central and walking distance to shops and restaurants
Our room was terrible. Cramped L shaped room with no view. Beds were uncomfortable. Worst of all, quality of air in the room. I could not breathe properly both nights from stuffiness even after I asked to change the pillows to hypoallergenic. There was a peculiar smell in the room like oil and in the shower. I think the room should be inspected 4474. Overall, this hotel was the worst Kempinski I have ever stayed. As a GHA member, they did not do anything for me. They did not upgrade the room, neither offer any dining experiences. The staff were cold and dry. I really did not feel welcome in this hotel. The hospitality factor was missing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Probably best hotel in Geneva

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Our day was a pretty bad one to begin with, stuck on a transfer from Val d'Isere for almost 7 hours due to traffic, to miss our flight and then no flights until next morning, to make it worse it was on my birthday. I quickly used Expedia to book us into Kempinski as I has previously stayed and expected them to change the course of our evening. And this was the turning point of our day, from the warm welcome on our arrival, to be upgraded to a recently renovated awesome rooms, to recieve a complementary bottle of champagne for my birthday and then icing on the cake to recieve two bags of take away breakfast as we were leaving 4 am to catch a 6 am flight and would have missed their breakfast. We had a drink at the Java club inside the hotel which was also awesome. The only regret was that we had to leave the comfy bed behind to catch our flight.