Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good, friendly and practical hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff
Cons: Life will be easier when construction is finished
The hotel is being refurbished at the moment which is obviously a bit inconvenient. Otherwise no complaints at all - very decent and friendly staff, well kept rooms, good room service. The hotel is well situated and the staff can get you a taxi when you need it, make restaurant reservations for you etc. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by mary kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Malcolm, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your patience with our refurbishment. I look forward to welcoming you back and I will upgrade you to a suite on your next visit. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Refurbishment

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel was in the middle of a major refurbishment which we were not told of. The pool area was clean but no towels or refreshments were available, noisy building works, views mostly of scaffolding. Staff were helpful though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by mary kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Sammy, I do apologise for the inconvenience of our refurbishment. all agents we work with are aware of our works. Thank you for your feedback which we really do appreciate. We look forward to welcoming you back once we have completed our refurbishment. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CEO hotel but going through a renovation

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location and comfortable.
Location: Main Street very close.
Not too much inconvenience and we were given one of the upgraded rooms which was very nice. When it's finished I think it will be very nice. It's in a fairly good location and close to Main Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by mary kinch, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for supporting us during our refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

hotel undergoing construction work

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Cons: As above
Lots of banging and drilling throughout the day. the hotel pool is nothing like in the pictures, with very limited sun-loungers, and obviously undergoing major works, as was the rest of the hotel. very very disappointing, noisy and not as we had expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mary Kinch , Hotel Management
Dear M.W. I do apologise for the inconvenience of our refurbishment during your stay with us. Our new spacious rooms are being upgraded with Smart TV’s, hi speed complimentary Wi-Fi and luxurious bathroom toiletries to deliver an exceptional new standard hotel room experience to Gibraltar. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our newly refurbished hotel. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Do NOT stay here!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: there was nothing we liked we checked out 3 days early spending a day and a half and no more
Cons: the staff need to be changed full stop!
Location: the rock of gib we did a 4 hr hike be warned it is dangerous and easy to get lost.
Hotel was falsely advertised no newly refurbished pool or anything else for that matter. the whole place was a construction site. staff were extremely rude and made us feel unwelcome. To be honest the whole of Gibraltar did, nothing for tourists just abuse from locals and staff of local establishments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Mary Kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Grace, I do apologise for the inconvenience of our refurbishment during your stay with us. We strive to provide an excellent service and I am sorry to hear you did not experience it while staying with us. Gibraltar is very unique and is a safe secure place to have a holiday, with it's friendly community always willing to help tourist enjoy their little place here in the in the sun. It is a shame you did not experience any of it while you were here. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

we always stay in the Elliott

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: it is very convenient, the food is really good, the staff are super, whats not to like
Cons: they are already doing that
Location: its central in town so everything is withing walking distance
this has always been my first choice since we lived in Gibraltar. for family and friends when they visited now we return and stay ourselves love this hotel and will be even better when the renovations are complete as always a great stay. thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Mary Kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our newly refurbished hotel very soon. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable hotel near the town centre - June 17

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the town and the size of the room
Cons: once the renovations are complete I would assume that they will charge far more, it will be really nice
Location: Very close to the town, we took various tours and also bought a hopper bus ticket that lasted all day and allowed us to tour the island with ease
The hotel is currently being renovated and I was concerned about previous reviews however our room was a king sized (not renovated) room and was comfortable and clean with all that you need, when it is renovated it will be wonderful. All of the rooms have juliette balconys that aren't obscured by the scaffolding covering the building. There was no noise from the renovations and the pool was open and lovely (the roof top bar is still being renovated but once that has been done it will be really nice). There is a patio bar with very good food and drink (slightly more expensive than in the town but much higher quality). The staff are friendly. It is a very short walk to the town unlike the other hotels on this site and we had a really nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Mary Kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Gill, Thank you very much for your patience during our refurbishment. The O’Callaghan Eliott continually strives to be the best Hotel in Gibraltar. We appreciate your continued support during this time and through our exciting renovation. We look forward to sharing our brand-new, modern, sophisticated and inviting experience at The Eliott with you soon. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
5 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from braunston

good hotel right in the middle of town

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: friendly efficient staff
As usual enjoyed our stay even with the refurbishment in progress
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Mary Kinch , Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your patience during our refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our newly refurbished hotel. With kind regards, Mary Kinch
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017
Thank you for your feed back, it is very much appreciated. with kind regards, Mary Kinch