Ratings based on 672 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Fawlty Towers on the Rock

Posted Apr 25, 2018
The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the location is excellent, but the hotel reminded us very much of Fawlty Towers. All of the staff (apart from one waiter) were very friendly and did their best to help, but the management systems were dreadful. For example: it took ages to check in; the card keys didn't work and there was only one old-style room key to our double room; the lifts were not working when we arrived so we couldn't get our bags for half an hour; the manager gave us the wrong email address to send our boarding passes for printing. And the hotel was in the middle of a refurbishment!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Will be gr8 when drilling all day stopped

Posted Apr 22, 2018
The drilling marred the whole experience otherwise good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Hotel undergoing changes upgrading. Lucky to have a new room. Staff friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central location

Posted Apr 15, 2018
This hotel is undergoing refurbishment and there is considerable scaffolding but that did not impact much if at all on the comfort of my stay My room was excellent, room and light with all helpful facilities like tea/coffee making and an iron and ironing table. The room safe had to be reset by staff The shower was excellent but there was no bath tub Overall a very cimfortable room The cooked breakfast was adequate but average at best
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2018 by Lorraine , Hotel Management
Hi Richard, thank you for your review. Good to hear that overall you were happy with the stay. Will raise the point re breakfast. Hope to welcome you again. Best, Lorraine Reynolds, Reservations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Short break

Posted Apr 14, 2018
Pros: Mainly situation. Price, facilities, lovely pool area.
Cons: Not much as all improvements being carried out the only thing that I could say would have improved my stay is to put pads on the legs of chairs
Location: Just off the Main Street to be quiet enough. Very handy to walk, get buses and to get the taxis for the Rock tours.
Very conveniently situated. Ideal for shops bars and restaurants. Even though extensive work is being carried out at the moment, it didn’t affect our comfortable stay. No noise or mess to be seen as a result of the renovations, only on the outside scaffolding showed any indication of work and when this is completed this hotel will be perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: once it has been refurbished I am sure it will be better
Location: brilliant location - all attractions within walking distance
we stayed at the hotel 2 years ago. Since then the price has gone up considerably and at the moment it is being refurbished. 8 am workmen started banging and chatting and it continued all day so not able to sit on your balcony and enjoy the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in town centre.

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Large and comfortable bedrooms. Good selection at breakfast. Roof top swimming pool a bonus. Shame about the scaffolding and the noisy squaddies who were partying until gone 3 AM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Hi Chris, thank you for the review. Good to hear the positive. Sorry that your stay was disturbed. Hopefully we will welcome you again. Best, Lorraine Reynolds, Reservations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good hotel close to Main Street

Posted Apr 3, 2018
We had a large refurbished room on the 3rd floor, with lovely walk in shower. The works going on in the hotel did not affect our stay as no noise before 9:30am or after 6:30pm. The put up bed in our room for our 14 year old was not that comfortable but these rarely are in our experience. Hotel location was perfect ( reflected in the price), close to all amenities. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Alicia, good to hear that your stay was not affected by the work and that you were happy with the new room. See you soon, Lorraine Reynolds, Reservations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Very comfortable room, helpful and friendly staff. Food OK but nothing special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Lorraine , Hotel Management
Hope we will see you again soon Nick. Thank you for staying with us !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very poor hotel with ongoing building work

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Very disappointed. We were booked into a room with building work taking place above us. Continual drilling all day. High levels of noise. Unable to relax. We had to move hotels. The situation with the noise was intolerable. We had dinner in the evening before we left - distinctly avarage. I would not recommend this hotel while refurbishment takes place. A great shame as we were looking forward to a relaxed break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Lorraine, Hotel Management
Hi Pat, we are very sorry to read your review. Yes, the hotel is under a major refurbishment. We would very much like to welcome you again when all the work is complete. Best, Lorraine Reynolds, Reservations Manager