Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Location, location, location!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet, modern, comfortable, friendly, not too big a complex. We even had a washer/dryer in room - a delightful convenience and luxury!
Cons: Can't think of a thing!
Location: \Two large hotel/time-shares, The Wyndham and Morritts which had restaurants and another dive operation are 5 minutes away.
This is a modern but not enormous condo complex with large balconies overlooking the sea and dive operation dock, on the quiet East End of Grand Cayman about 45 minutes North of the airport. The rooms are bright and attractively furnished . The kitchen appliances are modern, the counters all of one piece in white Corian (delightful to work in and clean) and the bathrooms are Corian-countered and modern as well. The location is perfectly positioned minutes away from restaurants and a market to buy food. There is a bar/restaurant on the water in the complex that serves breakfast as well as lunch and dinner-- folksy and intimate. Although two restaurants were within walking distance, a car is recommended. (Driving is English style -left side of the road!) Desk staff were so welcoming and friendly. Dive operation, Ocean Frontiers, is super-fantastic with staff that is expertly experienced and extremely safety-conscious. Having the dive operation on site is more than wonderful and the variety of locations to dive was abundant. Can't say enough about these folks on the staff of Ocean Frontiers and we have dived all over the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Incredible Experience

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Everything!
The experience was top notch from beginning to end! Rooms are awesome, food is good, and the Oceans Frontiers staff and overall diving experience was second to none! We will be back soon for sure!! Thanks so much you guys!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Ideal for diving!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: diving; cleanliness
Cons: the finishing in the units is moderate level and some minor repairs and nuisances need to be corrected, but it is a great place for the money.
Location: Tukkas. White House (interesting place for a meal with an odd history). Diving. Diving. Diving.
my family - wife, 12 year old son, and me - went to Caymans for one purpose. Diving. My son and my first open water dives as it was gift for christmas from my wife who has dived the world. We had unit 112 which was a ground floor condo ocean front. It was spacious with 2 BRs, 2 BAs, full kitchen fully equipped with micro, stove, fridge, etc. Dining table. Living room. Washer/dryer - small capacity but was handy. Also two murphy beds in living room that expands capacity as well as a sleeper sofa. And walked out onto sand by water. This is not a swimming beach as most of this side of the island is a bit rocky and corally. It is really all about diving. The dive boats, dive masters, dive sites, options were all fantastic and very efficient. It was great to walk out your door onto the dock onto the boat and off to a dive site. There are 55 dive sites on East End and we got to 7 of them, all excellent. There is a pool at resort, but it is small and really is more geared towards diver training. Restaurant on site is decent. Nearby is an outstanding restaurant called Tukka - we went twice it was so good. Also, two other resorts are 15 minutes away and we went there for a few meals. Those are more beach type resorts. So, if you want to dive, this is an awesome place. If you are looking for beach vacation, this is not the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee Florida

East End Location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Clean modern rooms and some of the best diving in world.
Cons: The Island access road to the East End is a challenge, but keeps the crowds away.
Location: Location on the ocean and its dive, dive, dive.
If your a diver or want peace and quite the Compass Inn is for you. Excellent facility for training new divers and ocean fronts the property with great diving reefs. The east end of Grand Cayman is far less developed and access is via one curvy, two lane road from airport or Seven Mile Beach. It all depends on what you expect out of a vacation. The big hotels, condos, most time shares as well usual busy beach bars are at Seven 7 Mile Beach versus quite east end. As a diver I would stay again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ajax, ON, Canada

Amazing hotel, location, and exceptional staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, big room with everything you could need. Really comfy bed. The resort cat, Compass, was also lovely.
Cons: Better communication between expedia and the hotel. They said they didn't even get our information and weren't aware of the ocean view booking.
Location: Perfect dive and snorkel destination. Rum point, starfish point, stingray city, Botanical gardens, crystal caves, lots of public beaches and quiet.
If you are looking to stay away from the chaos of George Town and Seven Mile while still enjoying all that Grand cayman has to offer, this is the place to stay. There was a slight mixup with the room type, as we booked an "ocean view" room on expedia, yet were given a room in the building across the street. This actually turned out to be an upgrade as the building was newer, the room was beautiful and clean, and we could walk right out to the pool area where there was also a BBQ that we used nearly every night. All the staff were incredibly accommodating, booking and confirming excersions for us, letting us know when one was canceled because of boat issues, and then giving us alternatives with other companies. This is a dive resort, but for us snorkelers, they offered a ton to do. It was our first time snorkeling and were very helpful and friendly. They were also very knowledgeable and gave us great recommendations for snorkel sites. Cleaning staff was exceptionally friendly, always greeting you as they passed by. There was a washer and dryer for our dirty beach towels, which they gave many of. There is also an outdoor restaurant on site overlooking the ocean that offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Really great food and drinks at fair prices with friendly servers. There's also small grocery and liquor stores up the road about 5-10 minutes with the basics. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to take in Grand Cayman at their own pace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice condo with amazing view

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Definitely a great place to stay for divers. Great rooms! The dive shop & staff was very good as well as the hotel restaurant staff.
Cons: The pillows
Location: We did not find much for good food in the area - but the Lion fish tacos at Eagle Rays (the hotel restaurant) are good and also Big Tree BBQ is good.
We had a 1br condo with an ocean view. The space was great - nice king size bed. I love how there are sliding doors as well as ceiling fans in both the bedroom & living room, since I prefer to no use the AC. The Kitchen was well equipped and there were plenty of towels.
5 out of 5
by Caroline J.

Pool Side Paradise

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
This was our 3rd staycation at Compass Point and each time has been an enjoyable and relaxing experience.
5 out of 5
by Mr. S

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Get place to stay if you are a diver!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The rooms are clean, well kept with plenty of amenities! Also the new beach areas are great!!!
Cons: More food options at Eagle Rays and maybe a fitness facility.
Location: This is a diver resort. If you're not a diver, it is very quiet with not much around.
Scuba diving simplified! Dive in dive out. Once you arrive you don't have to lift a finger. Just walk down to the boat! The staff at Ocean Frontiers in first class. They go out of they're way for you. You won't find a better, safer experience! This is my second time there. I have made some great friends!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Enjoy the east side charm

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, lovely pool
Location: Located on the quite and beautiful East Side, easy drive to Town or Rum Point
Staying at the East Side away from the city and the cruise ship crowd allowed us to enjoy the local culture. Renting a car is a must to enjoy the entire island