Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Clean and comfortable. Very good in comparison to other local hotel rates.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va

Nice owners - Poor facilities

Posted Sep 19, 2016
I understand the owners are trying to do renovations BUT meanwhile the carpets had a stale smell and room needed major updates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The motel was old and antiquated. The proprietor was nice enough, but the property was scary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

...but the shower was nice.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
If I were traveling with my family I would absolutely not stay here... If it's just me again, and I know someone staying at the same hotel, I might stay again... I won't stay there again unless I know someone else there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of Kinston's finest...

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is an older hotel that was probably great in its day and seemed to be still under renovation. I arrived around 11:30 and the couple received me graciously and the gentleman came to the room to help with the door lock. Seemed that you had to finagle the card a bit to get it to go all the way in to unlock the door. The shower water was quite hot enough and the cold water was more of a trickle than a stream so starting out with cold and then slowly increasing hot was the trick to a comfortable shower. WiFi was great! The breakfast was sparse but adequate. I think this hotel will improve with time. They said they have only been there two years. Time will tell. Okay for the price and the selection of hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
comfortable stay at affordable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Feb 15, 2016
We stayed for one night of our 2 night stay. It was so miserable. I found blood on the underside of my pillow. And saw at least 4 roaches. We left and rented another place. Dont stay here
5 out of 5
by Gabriel from Bay City, MI

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
River inn is a great place to stay for business travelers. It was quiet, had a comfortable bed, good shower/bathroom, good continental breakfast, and free wi-fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what was advertised

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The area I was put in was run down.
Cons: Put all visitors in the good section and leave the other section until renovations are complete.
Location: Location was ok.
When I made this reservation, this hotel was rated as 3.6...newly renovated, nice clean rooms, blah, blah, blah...there were renovated rooms, but not the one I got! It stunk, was run down and dank. Breakfast was beyond disappointing!!! Loaf bread for toast. The dining area was nastier then my room. The best thing I can say is the manager was nice.
5 out of 5
by LaKendra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels