Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Beautiful Pool Units in Quiet Location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Quiet, immaculate condition, splash pool, King size bed, quiet air conditioning, privacy.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to Big Buddah, temples and Chong Mon beach. Local area with local Thai food options.
Our third stay at Samui Boat Lagoon and continues to be a wonderful quiet hideaway. Private units, great splash pool and outdoor kitchen living area, with huge bathroom and garden shower. While no restaurant facilities on site plenty of close local options and in room delivery if desired. Huge 25 metre pool near reception great for laps or lazing in or around..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Private Pool
Cons: Selection of massages offered in-room.
Location: Beaches are close - everything else is a few minutes drive away.
When we called the hotel the day before to book the airport shuttle, the staff were very quick, easy to understand and reliable. We caught the shuttle with ease from the airport and were checked in immediately. The villa we were assigned with had its own out door dining area with a private pool behind it a king sized bed and out door shower. Clean and private in the sense that we weren't able to hear people in the rooms next to us arriving and leaving as if we were in a hotel. The hotel itself is about 600 metres from 7-11 which is where we got most of our snacks. The street that the hotel comes off has about 5 places to rent a motorbike or scooter from for as little as 150 baht per day ($6.00 AUD) which is what we decided to do. The mall (which is where we did most of our eating and shopping) was approximately 15 - 20 minutes away by scooter, approximately 15 kms away. At the front of the hotel is a restaurant called Thai Garden which had amazing and very inexpensive Thai dishes as well as western food however we definitely preferred the Thai food, our sneaky tip is to order the chocolate pancake for dessert with the coconut ice-cream! You won't be sorry. Over-all we had a great experience here, much unlike the hustle and bustle of Phuket it was a nice alternative get away for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast, Australia

Lovely luxurious hotel in a calm area

Posted Oct 13, 2015
We couldn't have chosen a better hotel; the private villa was fantastic and luxurious with heaps of space, everything clean and neat, free transport to the beach in Chaweng, 100m down to the beach by the hotel, 500m walk to shops, some restaurants close by and then more about 1km. We chose this place because we didn't want to be hassled every time we walked outside like in the more touristy places, and it was perfect. 1.7km walk to big budda and shopping. Would love to stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private villa with private pool

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The location is in between chaweng and the fisherman's village. Very quiet, clean and friendly! Privacy is key and I really appreciate that. The private swimming is a huge plus andthe separare kitchen too! Staff are friendly.
5 out of 5
by David from Scotland

Wonderful resort

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely villas, showers and bathroom requires some upgrade as does the kitchen facilities but this didnt stop us from really enjoying the hospitality of the resort.Excellent value for money. A little bit remote and off the beating track. Lovely restaurant at the entrance to the resort which we visited regularly.Would have been great to have had a bar for drinks and refreshments around the pool area. Staff very helpful and nice.Will definetely be returning to Koh Samui in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet; private pool; you need transport. We hired

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Staff very friendly. In house meals good. Restaurant at front V good. Clean & tidy. Will stay again
4 out of 5
by STEPHEN from Brisbane

Enjoyed

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and staff just not in the best spot. Putting this into perspective thou. If you wanted this standard of hotel in Chaweng or Choeng Mon you will pay double. SBG has a lovely decent quality Thai restaurant right out the front that serves local and western food run buy the nicest people. Didn't try the Pizza place over the road. seemed funny going all this way to eat pizza. Hotel looks after to you with free airport shuttle and for a small fee, if they can, they will run you around like a taxi. Front desk booked all our trips and did a wonderful job.. At this time of year there is no beach to swim at SBL. Have to travel to one of the other beaches for that but its not hard to do... Only real negative to the suite was the bed is as hard as a rock but the hotel did provide a free mattress topper to improve this slightly.. All in all for oor very first Thai trip we came away happy..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H.K.

Worst feeling in samui

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The female reception staff was too lazy to provide information even when we asked for. The living room was outdoor and it was really messy when it was rainning. The private swimming pool was quite good even though relatively smaller then other resort. The air conditioner keep discharge hot gas to shower room which is not good. The shuttle bus only go to sala resort car park but not other famous beach or shopping center are also not good enough. Luckly it still provide the shuttle bus to airport and allow us to have a late check out to fit for the flight schedule which make it still rate a little bit higher than average.
5 out of 5
by Sonia from London

A honeymooners retreat

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon & were incredibly impressed by the villa - an absolute spot for relaxation & tranquility. Service was great & although the location is a little outside of more tourist-type areas, the locals and hotel staff were very friendly & helpful, bending over bacwards to accomodate & assist. Although no on-site restaurant, room service allows for food from local reastaurants to be delivered to the villas. We also booked in for a tradition thai massage to our villa which was so relaxing & great value for money. Pool was so clean & great for a dip at any time of day or night. Outdoor living area with the kitchen facilities was a lovely place to chill. A real gem of a hotel all in all! We hired a scooter to see more of the island from the store just outside the hotel gates. I really recommend this. It was our first time driving one but take it slow & you will be fine! Also, Thai Garden restaurant located outside the hotel is a great place for breakfast, lunch, dinner or a tasty cocktail before heading out anywhere. Great food & staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great pool villas and friendly and helpful staff

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Privacy and beautifully appointed pool villa.
Cons: Air conditioning units can be a bit noisy
Location: Easy walk to local eating establishments, and great street food near the 7-Eleven about 750 metres away. Big Buddha, Choeng Mon beach for massages .
Stayed here for the 2nd time and love the privacy of the pool villas with their great plunge pool, alfresco living and dining area and huge well laid out bathroom. The main 25m pool outside reception is great for doing laps or floating around in. Staff so helpful with arranging activities, and pick up and drop off at airport makes it easy to get there and away. A twice daily transfer service to Choeng Mon beach was just right, and we enjoyed the food at the local Thai Garden restaurant just outside the facility. Taxis to Chaweng, Fisherman's Village and other sites are readily available, and there is parking space for a car if you choose to hire as we did for some days. If you prefer top class accommodation in a quiet location Samui Boar Lagoon is perfect, and easy to get to other areas as and when you want.