Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Eleasa from Toronto

Home away from home at Tavo House

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Tavo House was a perfect place for us to stay. The bus stop is just down the road and the buses that go by there take you everywhere you want to go. It was in walking distance to the train station and main tourist sites. Only a quick taxi ride if you prefer not to walk. The hosts are the most accommodating family. They took such great care of us! I would highly recommend Tavo House!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks very much. we have bus stops and a main road where you can find transportation easily. Please find S-Oil gas stn when you get off at YMCA/Gyeongju goyong center bus stop and then just follow the side-road right beside the gas station and a cute brown house will come into view.
5 out of 5
by Sam from Nottingham

Korean Mum

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
My sister and I only stayed here for 1 night but we absolutely loved the experience. "Korean mum", as we dubbed her, is absolutely bonkers but we wouldn't have changed a thing. The breakfast was excellent and she helped organise everything, plus let us leave our bags there all day the next day while we went out. The only small downsides were the shared bathroom (downstairs so not great if you need to get up in the night), and the location wasn't as good as where to stayed the following 2 nights
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2016
thank you so much. we're very glad to hear your review. hope everything was okay. we will try our best to give nice hospitalities. Thank you. and hope to meet you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hostel, note that bathroom is shared

Posted Apr 8, 2015
a little bit far away from the downtown, but just 100m from the bus stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by kanye, Hotel Management
Hi, Thank you for your review. Hope it was not too uncomfortable. bus and taxi come very often. and bus stop is quite close to tavohouse. From downtown , it takes about 5mins driving and 1min walk from the bus stop. Thank you so much. and hope to meet you again. we will try our best to improve our place for person like you.
5 out of 5
by William from London

A home away from home

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels
Really warm welcome into a family home! Living area and room were homely, comfortable and spacious. Wifi works. A Union flag appeared on the coffee table soon after checking in :) Great information sheets provided to the main places you'd want to visit - much more useful than the info I got from the tourist info office and a Gyeongju hotel I stayed in the night before. I asked where I could get dinner locally. A prompt phonecall was made then was walked to a restaurant just around the corner to have real, non-tourist Korean food, and ended up having dinner with Mrs Lee. Lovely! The night before, Mr Lee asked if I wanted to go visit some places in the morning... at 6am (as I had an early train to catch). It was a great, fun experience in the still of darkness. Returned for breakfast; was so tasty (loads of gyoza and fruit) and made especially early for me... missing breakfast was not an option! Mrs Lee then literally threw me out the house and told me to walk fast so I wouldn't miss my train! (It's a 10-15 min walk from the station so convenient location.) It's these details that make this place so special! There is genuine care and such a personal, helpful service so that can try to see everything Gyeongju has to offer (a lot! I underestimated spending just 1.5 days here) and have a great, easy experience with a snapshot of Korean home culture. It's a shame my plans didn't allow me to stay longer than 1 night. I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Appreciate your review. we also except to see you again next time. thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tavo House

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Mrs. Lee, very friendly. Room was clean. Only no attached bathroom. Location about 1km from town.
4 out of 5
by Steve Davis from Pleasant Hill, CA

Nice B&B style homestay.

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels
Great way to share Korean culture. Tavo House is good homebase to experience one of Korea's most cultural cities. My wife and I stayed in the upstairs room and found it comfortable. After our host prepared breakfast and following her suggestions we visited temples, climbed Namsan and walked Anapji pond at night. All in two days. Recommend.
3 out of 5
by Chester from Hong Kong

Good location, nice hospitality

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels
The "hotel" is really more like a home stay. There are five rooms (themselves clean) in the home, and you use one of them, sharing 2 bathrooms and the other facilities. Convenient near train station. Hostess was very nice and helpful, and speaks some English. Security and liability is a concern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by celine from Penang, Malaysia

Lovely Hosts ^_^

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: safe to stay and really a homestay experience.
Cons: if the room have an attach bathroom will be more great.
Location: plan for 3 day 2 night stay will be enough to cover this unesco city and cycling around will be a great choice.
Lovely couple owner and homestay; we arrived early and they allow us to check-in (*depend on room availability). We also leaving early next day morning, they very helpful to call for a taxi and mrs. Lee also try to prepared a light breakfast for us to take on bus as well. The desert look simple but yet very nice and taste good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oscar from Calgary, AB, Canada

Korean Family Experience

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: the family experience
Cons: shared bathroom
Location: Gyungyu(I forgot how to spell it) is the ancient capital of the kingdom of Silla and basicly the whole city is a UNESCO heritage site.
Tavo House is a family guest house business and I didn't know this when a booked but it turned out to be an excellent opportunity to interact with a Korean family. Both Mr. and Mrs. Lee were great and their son was pretty cool too, I had some good conversations with him. and the grand mother is there too an interesting lady. On my last day, Mr Lee took me and other guest on an early morning (6AM) tour of some important places in the city. It was great. I highly recommend Tavo House.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fiona from Australia

well worth considering

Posted Apr 13, 2013
Pros: friendly comfortable family and home
Cons: modest ammenities
Location: easy access but a little bit of a distance away from main station and therefore main city area ( around 1 1/2 km from station)
A delightful young man by the name of Lee and his family provide a warm friendly home stay in modest but clean relaxing home. They provide plenty of assistance and helpful advice, and offered to provide free guides and transport if we required it. A little bit of a trek from the railway station but easily signposted.