Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2018
The lodge was situated in front of the beach and such a nice view. The room was clean and comfortable. We borrowed bikes and enjoyed cycling to the town of Ha'apai and till the south end of the island where there was another great beach. They have kayaks as well, although we didn't have time to use them. The staffs were kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous resort location.

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: I think I've covered this in the paragraph above.
Location: The resort has paddle boards, kite boarding and wind surfing lessons, as well as diving, snorkeling and swimming with the whales.
We had a wonderful holiday at Sandy Beach Resort. The beach and lagoon are outstanding. The coral is beautiful with an abundance of fish and sea life all within easy swimming distance from the resort. This was the best snorkeling experience we have ever had and we have been to many locations around the world. The resort is run by a great team headed by a couple who are passionate about ensuring their guests have the best possible holiday. Sandy Beach has a restaurant which provided a cooked breakfast and dinner. The food was superb - quite a different experience than other places we have stayed in the islands. The beach cafe at Matafonua lodge (just a short stroll away) also offered cooked or continental breakfast and a great choice of lunch options. We have booked next year for the whale season and highly recommend Sandy Beach as a fantastic holiday option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent snorkelling

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
Perfect snorkelling the beach is 10 meters from the fale's where you stay. Food available on site is top notch. I would return and a lot of people staying there weren't there for the first time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Amazing stay in paradise

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Juergi and Sabine were great hosts making us feel very welcome. We loved the fales, food, but most of all the beautiful nature. The beaches are fantastic, with very good snorkeling just a minute swim away. One of our group left their passport behind in the safe and they were so helpful in getting it to us in Tongatapu before our international flight. Would highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Didn't have paddle boards and didn't let us use the bikes ... didn't seem to really care about us that much
5 out of 5
by Steve from NZ

Fun times

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels
Great place, very relaxing and beautiful - my only concern is the old boy running the place doesn't seem to healthy, he coughs a lot, he needs to get himself checked out. The only other falt that I have is the food is heavy european style, I was hoping for a more healthier island style menu. I would totally go back as the place is truly stunning.
4 out of 5
by David from Australia - TAS - Launceston

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Transfers too and from the airport poorly organised with long wait times.
Location: Beautiful beach.
Facilities: Average western standard.; Value: Reasonable; Service: Limited.; Cleanliness: Okay overall.; The food is very poor especially considering the cost, eat up the road at Matafonua. Food is cheaper, more choice and much better.
5 out of 5
by Nicola from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Laid back, intimate with only small number of bungalows, service perfect and good snorkelling
Cons: Real tonga airlines (not the resorts fault) - keep changing flights, moving people off, etc
Location: Away from it all, peaceful
Facilities: Not luxury but suits area; Value: Great deal; Service: Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Gleaming; Snorkelling off the beach is good at all tides. No kids - peaceful! Almost have the beach to yourself most of the time. Love the hammocks.
5 out of 5
by Chris from New Zealand - Wellington

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: The beach, the food, the managers
Cons: Having to leave
Location: Away from it all
Facilities: Outstanding; Value: Affordable; Service: Flawless; Cleanliness: Immaculate; Utterly superb
5 out of 5
by Michael from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: Great beach, great hosts, quiet and remote
Location: Away from it all, remote
Facilities: Above average; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless; local people unaffected by tourism