Ratings based on 844 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent condo resort - but without resort servic

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms Good location as a base for exploring Kona region
Cons: Pools are small
My family of 4 stayed at Holua (2 adults, 2 children) in a 2 BR condo unit. This was our 2nd stay here. PROS: 1) spacious units 2) equipped kitchens 3) in Keauhou Bay area - with restaurants, grocery store closeby CONS: 1) If you want a full service resort, this isn't it. It is great for self-sufficient people. 2) No beach - although you can drive to them 3) Several pools but all small 4) 1 BR units probably have more noise issues if you are on the lower level. 2BR units tend to be 2 levels so you don't have this issue. I give the resort a 5 as a condo resort with limited services. My family loves the space and being able to cook and eat meals in the condo (and use the gas grills).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

we stay there once a year for the past 6 years.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Always enjoy nice clean condo easy access to the different places to go the staff is very helpful
Cons: The barbecues outside should be hotter
Location: Downtown Kona is 4 miles away there is magic sands beach close or drive a little farther and you find really great beaches.
We stayed for 14 days we go once a year and always hit all the different beaches and go south stop at the famous backery then black sands,south point and then on to the volcano. Then when you go north that has all the white sandy beaches we love the big inland. As far as the condo we always eat a good breakfast before leaving for the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Condo

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very nice condo, fully equipped kitchen so you don't have to eat out, parking is free and there is no cleaning fees that's hard to find in any resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Great place to stay, but rooms needs ro be ready for guests when they get there.. Or calling them ahead of time to let them know room will ready @ ?????? Getting there @ 4:30 and checkin is at 4:00 to find out that your room is not ready & waited for 1 & 1/2 that's not good service.!!! Why is chk out @ 10am in stead of 12????? Getting in @ 4pm & chk out is 10am that's not exactly 1 full day.!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Nice hotel grounds. Quiet and peaceful location. Not great sound proofing between condos and can be a little loud depending on who your neighbour is. Well equipt unit. Big rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Comfortable condo suite

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Holua Resort gives you all the amenities for a quiet relaxful vacation. All of the units are one bedroom suites with well appointed kitchens and a large living room. Our bedroom had a king size bed, there are some with double queens. It is close to main roads and both Keohou Kona and Kailua Kona. Multiple pools, hot tubs and tennis courts abound. It is also very close to the Kona Country Club which accepts the public for golf. What the Resort does not have is any food service, either restaurant nor store. However about 200 yards down the same access road is the Sheraton Kona which has both. Holua is super quiet and and relaxing, no typical hallway noise. It also comes with free WiFi and free parking. There is NO Resort fee! Units are set to handle from 4 to 6 people depending on bedroom design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Happy Stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: The spacious two-headroom suite, the reception, the birds and gardens.
Cons: A full length mirror would have been nice.
Location: A beautiful and sunny part of the island. No beach access from the property. Lots nearby.
We so enjoyed our stay at Holua Resort at the Maura Loa Village. The two-bedroom condo was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The location requires a car but food shopping, beaches, snorkelling, historic sites of early Hawaiian people, coffee farms, churches, are all nearby. Beautiful tennis and pickle ball courts and smallish pools are available for guests. We appreciated the attractive gardens and pretty birds that awaken us with lovely morning choruses. The kitchen was well equipped, so we cooked many meals and happily dined on the lanai, enjoying the peace, beautiful surroundings and perfect climate. We appreciated the friendly and helpful staff. Towels, beach towels, in suite washer and dryer, safe, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, rice cooker, a shared BBQ were provided. We did not have and did not need daily cleaning (just once in our nine days which was fine as it kept the rental price down) but extra coffee, dishwasher cleaner, etc was easily available from the administration, which was open until about 10:00 pm. This is a great place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful condos with stunning landscape.

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The property is quite beautiful and very quiet. We were very pleased. There are numerous pools to choose from though they do close earlier than we would have liked at 10pm. It would have been nice to be able to swim later as it is still quite warm at that hour as well as the hot tubs would have been a nice end to long days of activity. But overall we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The unit was great, comfortable beds, and nice and big for family of 5 adults, the location to the Manta Ray tour was an easy 3min walk to the wharf, the proximity to the pools was great, the gardens were beautiful. Our only complaint was at check-in - having arrived a little early we were told we couldn't check in until 4pm which wasn't really a problem, we went and did some grocery shopping, had a late lunch and returned at 4pm only to be told the room still wasn't ready! Room wasn't ready until 5.30pm which we found to be unacceptable and frustrating.. Check In time needs to be reviewed, Far too late especially when there are hold ups with housekeeping as there was on this occasion. Other than that the unit was perfect for our needs, very comfortable and very quiet. Supermarket was a quick drive up the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort, Very relaxing

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Great place to stay. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Nice having a kitchen available. Very clean room. Very nice staff. Would stay there again.