Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southern England

Dated but food still excellent

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: As I said, a great place to take dinner.
Cons: Bedrooms need complete update, it's old and it shows.
Location: Good location for the Maconais/Cluny and for serious southern burgundy wine buying.
We have stayed here several times and, as we get older find it less and less convenient. Room decor is dated and in need of upgrade, second floor rooms up a spiral staircase less and less appealing and old short beds - I am 6 feet 2 inches - frankly uncomfortable. The restaurant however partially makes up by maintaining a very high standard for dinner though breakfast was second division - hot food warmed up for long periods and never topped up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel with first class restaurant

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Fascinating spot but overpriced. Hotel is a little "tired". Reception unfriendly, no porter or lift. A hard climb up narrow circular staircase for the elderly. At 30C it was extremely hot. A mobile air con unit was useless, little more than a fan, and sleep was hard to come by. Bathroom good. We decided not to pay €36 extra for breakfast and headed off. The restaurant was a different matter. It occupies the whole ground floor so there are no public rooms other than this to use. Food was first class and the "chateau menu" good value. Come here to eat but don't stay. You can do much better in Cluny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful chateau from the 13th century.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful gardens and wonderful food.
Cons: I wish that the hotel noted more travel options to us. I think we could have taken the train to airport rather than the expensive taxi.
Location: This hotel is in a remote wine country. Walking to the vineyards was the highlight.
We love this place. This is the second time we stayed here. First time was for part of our honeymoon and this last time was for our anniversary. This place lived up to our memories. The food is excellent with a michelen star. Special place. There is a train plus taxi that you can help you reach this destination. We drove the first time and this time took a train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great restaurant. Great location in a lovely area.
5 out of 5
by Duncan from Staffordshire

Our treat in the Chateau tower.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay on journey south. It was a real treat for us to stay in Chateau d'Ige with lots of wows and gasps from my wife and son on arrival. The suite was in a tower with our sons room upstairs via a spiral staircase which was great fun. The only slight demerit was that the staff were too busy to bring wine to our room when requested but this was a minor issue. Restaurant was also superb. Just what was needed to provide a welcome break en-route.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Newchurch

Boutique

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great boutique hotel with outstanding food.
5 out of 5
by Roshan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Thierry from San Francisco

Great hotel, restaurant and staff

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a night and we had dinner at the restaurant, everything was perfect. The dinner in the fireplace room was wonderful. We had foie gras in a jacket of crushed hazelnuts, Poulet de Bresse and Souffle au Grand Marnier. All delicious. It was a great stop on the way from Paris to the French Riviera, we will definitely come back
5 out of 5
by Daniel from London

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Chateau D'Ige on the final night of our honeymoon travelling around Europe. The Chateau is a stunning building nestled is lovely location in the country side outside Macon. The room and general interior of the chateau was wonderful whilst the staff were very friendly and keen to ensure we enjoyed our short stay. As a guest you automatically have a table reserved for you at dinner in the Michelin guide listed restaurant. In summer you are able to dine outside beside the pond and gardens. Needless to say the food was amazing! The hotel is easily accessed from the motorway whilst Lyon airport is only around an hour and halves drive away. We'd thoroughly recomend the Chateau D'Ige for a romantic long weekend or base to explore the vineyards of the region.
5 out of 5
by PATRICK from West Chester, PA

A must stay

Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
The best ever! We WILL return. Food and service were incredible. Nice bar. Nice lounge. Nice room. Five stars, in our opinion.