Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive hotel with first class restaurant

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Fascinating spot but overpriced. Hotel is a little "tired". Reception unfriendly, no porter or lift. A hard climb up narrow circular staircase for the elderly. At 30C it was extremely hot. A mobile air con unit was useless, little more than a fan, and sleep was hard to come by. Bathroom good. We decided not to pay €36 extra for breakfast and headed off. The restaurant was a different matter. It occupies the whole ground floor so there are no public rooms other than this to use. Food was first class and the "chateau menu" good value. Come here to eat but don't stay. You can do much better in Cluny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful chateau from the 13th century.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful gardens and wonderful food.
Cons: I wish that the hotel noted more travel options to us. I think we could have taken the train to airport rather than the expensive taxi.
Location: This hotel is in a remote wine country. Walking to the vineyards was the highlight.
We love this place. This is the second time we stayed here. First time was for part of our honeymoon and this last time was for our anniversary. This place lived up to our memories. The food is excellent with a michelen star. Special place. There is a train plus taxi that you can help you reach this destination. We drove the first time and this time took a train.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great restaurant. Great location in a lovely area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fl

Fascinating & charming

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A lift would be nice
Location: The town of Cluny with its famous abbey is a beautiful 15min drive thru the forest & wooded mountain roads. There are many vineyards in the area.
This beautiful old chateau is in a wine producing small French village that is absolutely beautiful. This hotel has gorgeous garden areas & grounds, meticulously maintained, the perfect romantic getaway spot. The chef at the restaurant is exceptional, even with vegetarian cuisine. This hotel is one of the most charming & beautiful places we have ever stayed. The staff is wonderful, speak English & so very helpful with check-in, luggage, etc. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a truly unique & relaxing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LaraC from London, UK

Great stopover venue

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: the garden, position and dining
Cons: Stairs up to rooms are not good for older people
Location: Fabulous location surrounded by vineyards
Lovely old Chateau, wonderful gardens. Most rooms in the tower, so stairs may prove difficult for some. Some rooms a little dark and tired, darkness due to nature of room i.e. in a tower! Service excellent, dining was as ever a wonderful experience. This is a lovely place to break your journey or indeed, to spend a day or two enjoying the wonderful vineyards on it's doorstep. Have been before and will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debi from San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

Medieval Dream

Posted Nov 5, 2012
Pros: Medieval Atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Remote
Wonderful Medieval chateau with a feeling like you were back in time. Superb fine-dining restaurant. Beautiful Grounds. Room was a large suite with separate sitting area and sleeping area. Bathroom was very large and modern with bathrobes for your convenience. The room had a bag of cookies and nice bottled water for us when we arrived. The stairs up to our room were the original narrow, winding stone steps you would have used in the days of yore. The room was a bit monotone, meaning everything was done in the same red/cream pattern...walls, draperies, bedding. WIFI was very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baden

Wunderschön

Posted May 29, 2016
It is simply amazing!! Everything is amazing, really, like in a fairy tale. Mai/ 2016 Hilde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Traumhaft schönes und romantisches Hotel. Wer das besondere sucht wird hier fündig. Wunderschöne Landschaft und ein gepflegtes Gartengrundstück.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Zuhause, Deutschland

Hotel für Feinschmecker

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Die Atmosphäre und die Ruhe
Cons: Nichts
Location: Schloss auf dem französischen Land, gut von der Autobahn aus zu erreichen.
Die Schlossanlage ist wunderschön und ruhig, die Zimmer sind dem verwinkelten Schlösschen angepasst, nicht supermodern, aber das Ambiente entspricht der Atmospähre. Abendessen im Restaurant ist sehr zu empfehlen, erstklassige französische Küche, ebenso das Frühstück a la Carte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Asbjørg from Stavanger

Greve for et døgn

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Oppvartingen.
Cons: Trappene (handikappet)
Location: Herlig landskap, stille og rolig ved en landsby. Og ikke langt fra allfarvei.
Herlig opplevelse. Savnet heis pga uførhet, men det ble fortalt at det måtte de vite ved bestilling, for de hadde spesialrom. Kommer gjerne igjen - et høydepunkt på reisen :)