Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hasn't changed in 40 years

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Good restaurants, Starbucks (two), CVS, Very good location.
I used to stay here 40 years ago, and it looks just about the same. Charming, in a way, but could use some sprucing up -- in and out. Good price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Staff
Meeting room was good. The staff that I talked to was very nice and friendly. The hotel rooms and lobby definitely need updating along with the parking lot. Shower was very hard to regulate and shower head leaked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Close to the hospital and easy to get to. Rates were good.
Cons: Needs some remodeling some of the hotel Look dated
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indy

Close to cataract surgeon

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: It was close to St. Vincent Hospital.
Location: W 86th street has businesses; like Kroger with a gasoline service, LePeeps, St. Vincent Hospital. Joan Fabric and Half Price Books are nearby.
Was able to check in around 10:00 PM without worry. King-sized bedroom had the expected amenities. Housekeeping checked every day to see if I needed towels, etc. Found the soda pop machine in the pool area--no glass bottles. Check out was quick; the clerk offered a receipt if needed. Clean and pest free. Slightly thread-bare on one edge of the bedspread facing the outside wall and on the right side of cushioned chair. Used Marten House for both early morning outpatient surgeries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good location

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More reachable outlets
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping in area
Room and halls could have used some upgrades with carpet, additional outlets to plug in equipment. Hotel spread out. Parking lot near my door full, most likely taken by patients and families using hospital and surgical center. Meal at hotel restaurant good and reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ.

OK if you are going to hospital

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: It was fairly quiet at night and the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Probably not worth remodeling this old property. They could lower their rates about 50%
Location: There were some good places to eat not too far. Close to freeways. Drugstores and grocery nearby.
The hotel is old and run down. Carpet is old and worn out, etc.. Difficult to open the door as it sticks bad. Staff was very nice. The rooms are overpriced in my opinion. No thermostat so you have to leave the window unit on constantly. Again, it is just an old hotel that was probably nice 20 years ago but hasn't been remodeled or kept up. It is next door to large hospital and other medical services which is probably source of much of their business. The surrounding area is mostly low income apartment complexes and high crime according to the security guard there. He told me not to go walking outside at night. Probably a good thing they have security on duty at night.
2 out of 5
by Mary

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Incredibly basic, not a very helpful staff
3 out of 5
by Nichole from Lansing, MI

Stinky, Smelly hotel. Excellent staff.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was EXCELLENT, so kind and very helpful. Their staff is their best asset. We did not visit the conference side of the hotel. However, the hotel itself is incredibly outdated and wreaks of old cigarette smoke. To make matters worse, the hotel smells like they tried to mask the smell of old cigarette smoke with old lady perfume. It was very difficult to stomach, and not easy to get used to. I can handle the old decorations, etc however I would not return to this hotel because of the smell. Kids enjoyed the pool, however we did not utilize any other amenities.
2 out of 5
by Gaylon

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very old hotel. I heard the clerk quote a woman $85 for her room and I was being charged $151. She didn't even have a reservation. When I asked the clerk he avoided the question but did tell me that's the hotel.com price I was quoted. It was after 1 AM so I didn't feel like arguing. BTW, after she told him she was a patient at the hospital and was having surgery in the morning, her price dropped to $69
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We wanted to like it, but unfortunately.....

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the location, the pool and the friendly staff. Unfortunately, there's only two words we can say upon our departure--bed bugs.