Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel very central location

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Spacious room jungle gardens goodbbreakfast
Cons: All fine
Location: Central location for beach holiday
Good pool busy beach but plenty of sun beds to go around at hotel beach and pool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queensland.

Needs a major renovation

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Wotif
Our first room had major leaks when it rained(which is a lot in rainy season) rain was pouring through the light fitting and also pouring down from the vanity. . No repair man at night so had to turn lights off n they gave us 2 buckets!! Mould n ingrained dirt everywhere in bathroom and never been properly cleaned for years. No shower in this room. Very hard to get out of sunken bath with only a shower fitting. Towels thread bare. Old box TVs with bad reception. Large rooms but very dark and couldn't open curtains or Windows (nozzles - no screens) coz passing guests. Pool not clear when first arrived but after major dose of chemicals cleared 2 days later. Restaurant food not good and you never saw more than 2 people eating there. No bar as such. Reception staff fantastic dealing with numerous complaints every day and didn't hesitate changing our room. all staff great but felt they weren't happy with the state of the place either Great position on beach but needs a complete over haul.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

cheap and not so cheerful

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Room large but in need of a refurb. Rooms really dark hard to tell weathe sun shinning outdid or not! Lots of bugs and mozzies due to water Lilly barrels and overgrown planting. Pool in poor condition and full of dead bugs. Not many staff on duty...and not very helpful. Food at restaurant one of the best places to eat...service slow...
3 out of 5
by BRANKO from whyalla

great location

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel is good but needs upgrading to get to top standard its a bit run down.the staff are excellent and so was breakfast.the beach front location is why we keep coming back here
3 out of 5
by Hans from Sweden

Old and charming - but bad internet

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
It is an old an charming hotel, with a lot of character. Very authentic thai in style and atmosphere. The room I got was an old style "suite" with two rooms. Low in ceiling and incredible interesting. Nothing for a disabled person, that's for sure! The bed was high and ok. Some might say too hard, but it was ok for me. The breakfast was pretty basic, and nothing to write home about. But the internet was really lousy! I tried to connect at several spots outside the room with some success, but inside it was impossible. No signal strong enough to connect. If you want a stay on the beach which is quiet and has character, you could come here. But if you need to be connected to the outside world, forget it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

The White House Hotel Choeng Mon Koh Samui

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The hotel is situated on Choeng Mon Beach, with an abundance of local shops, family bars and restaurants; away from the riff raff of Chaweng.
Cons: The hotel is in need of serious money spent on TLC and update: overall appearance is hindered by a lack of general maintenance upkeep to buildings
Location: Righht at your door step : water sports, walks/jog, scooters for exploring the island, bars for snooker/pool, massage/day spas, shops, restaurants
Overall our family's hotel stay was great, mainly due the convenient location - right on the beach, perfect weather and the terrific hotel staff. Staff were actually exceptional!!. The restaurant meals were also a treat as we opted for the traditional Thai dishes, which they do so well :) Although the hotel itself is in need of some serious money spent on repairs (leaking roof, intermittent hot water service and an old air conditioner in need of a filter clean), the room was large, comfortable, very clean and more than adequate for a 2 week stay. When we needed to change rooms due a leaking roof, resulting from a torrential down pour of rain and too much leaf litter in the gully; nothing was too much effort for the manager & staff. We were given a choice of rooms, our bags relocated by staff and a follow up call to see everything went well and were happy with the new room. Can't ask for more than this!! We will return - great value for money!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Breakfast included, even when we missed breakfast they still offered to make it for us, location and views were stunning. Both pools were really good
Cons: Just update the rooms a little
Location: Fantastic night market close by, great for food and a spot of souvenir shopping, only a short motorbike taxi run into Walking St.
Spent a week here and loved it, a great location for a quiet time but only 5 min to Walking St by taxi motorbike, a little dated but a great location and for the price I cant really complain, the 2 pools were clean and staff were fantastic, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by Chris from UK

Good value but major safety concerns

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Decent pool and great access to beach. TV looked smaller than advertised. No rainfall shower head. Had to hold shower in one hand! Water pressure and temperature fluctuated. Dirt on Wall. Water dripped from light fitting. Kettle electrocuted me....and one other guest. Extremely dangerous but given extras to compensate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Central. Near plenty of eateries. Next to beach

Posted Aug 23, 2015
First room we had was sooo tired. Very old in need of work. Bathroom not good moved into room 35 which was a little better with the promise of an upgrade when one became available This was much better. Staff brilliant. Very helpful but hotel not as good as we expected.
4 out of 5
by IJHR from Hong Kong

Our Ko Samui stay was great

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit old and so are the room conditions. The biggest concern are the non-working A/C and Fresh water tap. We have asked for repair, but finally no change. The restaurant is very good, the hotel beach is very nice and the nearby shops, restaurants and bars are very good.