Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel & Great Staff

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The staff are very helpfull and happy to be of assistance. We arrived early and were shown to our lovely room, balcony and seaview as requested. Breakfast was great in the lovely Kitchen area. No pool but the beach is 100m down the hill, but the hire of the sunloungers is VERY EXPENSIVE at over 30€ per day. my car hire was less then that.
5 out of 5
by george from North Queensferry Scotland.

Trip down memory lane.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We would like to thank the management and staff at the Agava Hotel for making our recent stay very special. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant location

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant location hotel a bit old fashioned
4 out of 5
by Audrey from Los Angeles

Pleasant Hotel In Great Location

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Agava is a pleasant hotel in a great location. The rooms are spacious, but older and the shower had extremely low water pressure. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, though there were times when only one staff person was employed at the front desk and the high demand for his/her attention caused a bit of a wait. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by Litti from Sweden

Not worth it

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
the hotel is definitely not worth 4 stars and its way overpriced for what it has to offer. We booked a room for three ppl. As an extra bed we got a sofa with 3cm thick mattress, you could feel metal sticking into your back! The pillows, or better to call things that were supposed to be pilllows were ridicilous. For the second night they did change our room, but even the normal beds were sooooo hard and uncomfy! Oh, and conditining didnt work at all. It was impossible to sleep.
5 out of 5
by BJ Stokes from USA

Wonderful Hotel Experience

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels
This is an older Villa appearing building, but it is amazing in appearance, clean and comfortable beyond expectations. Staff is incredibly friendly/helpful and breakfast of hot/cold foods is very good in a comfortable setting. We stayed at Hotel Agava off and on for a few weeks as we transacted business throughout the region, even if we were 1 - 2 hours away, we returned to the Hotel Agava. One night maintenance was going on and they transferred the reservation a short walk to a partner Grand Hotel on the waterfront which was equally great. Another night there was some mix-up with our reservation and we ended up in what was another partner hotel a short walk away that was not as good (we were booking our nightly room late with short notice), the next day the manager was exceptionally apologetic, professional in his guest service skills and offered to make it up to us - and then provided us a really terrific upgrade for two nights if we wanted to stay for the weekend. We did, and then received a email days later again apologizing and offering to assist in any way possible should we return to Opatija! Maybe it is just the superior and better rooms that are great, but the Hotel Agava will certainly be our place to rest and relax wherever we are in the surrounding region. Opatija and Rijeka too have so much to offer from a quiet seaside village with shops and beaches, to city amenties of shopping malls, etc.
5 out of 5
by stokes from usa

Clean, modern and spacious

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels
The staff were great, breakfast buffet an improvement over the chain hotels, and the price is remarkably low for the amenities and room. Get the ocean view rooms.
5 out of 5
by Anat from Israel

Gread location

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels
No internet at the room!
2 out of 5
by Kenny from galsgow.uk

Only as a last resort.

Posted Aug 29, 2011
when we arrived at this hotel we were told that we would not be staying in a room there, but in a 'sister' hotel down the road. We were told that this was quite normal practise for this group of hotels. We were given what turned out to be vague instructions but eventually found the reception of hotel 2. We were then told that although we could check in at hotel 2 we would be staying in yet another hotel down the street. We declined to check in before having a look at the room. We were taken to a room which had a connecting door to another room. There was clearly another guest there already as we could hear the TV quite clearly, then we heard the other guest sneeze, then fart. We declined to take the room. I went back to the Agava reception. To their credit when I made it clear that we would take a room at the Agava or cancel the whole booking however difficult or messy that would be, we were given an upgrade to a neighbouring 'sister' 5 -star hotel. The room was great, but we had to move back to the Agava the next day. The room at the Agava was what we paid for, i.e. a sea-view room, and quite a reasonable size. However the air-conditioning was pretty poor, and we were in the middle of a Croatian heatwave. There were a couple of noisy nightclubs down the street, and a car park behind the hotel - so we couldn't leave the window open. We had breakfast on the first morning, but it was so bad we couldn't face it the next day. The hotel is in a good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

air conditioned

Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels
air conditioned was weak.