Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ik

Beautiful location, stunning views,

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Evening meal menu a little too eclectic for our taste.
Location: Beach walks and pool.
Beautiful location, stunning views and service second to none. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. staff very attentive. Attention to detail is evident a wherever we went. Special mention to Brian Dolan at poolside who made us especially comfortable and Charles at the front desk who made us welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Amazing Experience

Posted Sep 17, 2017
My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary and I accidentally booked the Ritz instead of another hotel we have stayed at down the street. To say the least it was a great mistake to stay at the Ritz. The staff could not have been better! The property is amazing and the food is excellent as well. Monique who is the customer service manager even gave us a baby moon gift while we were in line checking out. This place is amazing and we will be back with friends and family for sure!!! Thank you again for the great experience!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but crowded

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel is in a beautiful setting, but was crowded in the common areas where people want to be. Either there are not enough of those common areas and/or they are too small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is our promise to provide exceptional service to our valued guests. Your feedback has been noted and we hope that this did not take away too much from your overall experience. On behalf of our dedicated ladies and gentlemen, we look forward to welcoming you back for another getaway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your review.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel on the cliff at Dana Point. We were thrilled to have an ocean view room with a balcony and left our door open at night to sleep to the sounds of the surf- it was wonderful! Hotel is beautiful with stunning views from rooms, restaurants and work out room. Walk to and from the beach was a good workout; a free shuttle is provided if you want. Nice that water, beach towels, chairs and umbrella are all complimentary for guests. We enjoyed watching the surfers and swimmmers, who started in the early morning and stayed until sunset. Will look forward to returning in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your everything about your stay. We look forward to your next visit to our oceanfront resort.
5 out of 5
by CG

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your five star review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco bay area

Best hotel in the world.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
I was upgraded from garden to ocean view. The place is amazing. The property is amazing. The staff is wonderful. I wish that Expedia included the fees in the initial cost. I wasn't super jazzed about the resort fees after I paid up front. That was an unpleasant surprise but that didn't tarnish the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of the resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property and our staff. We hope you will visit the resort again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's been the worst stay in a five stars hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I dont know where to start off, southern california been my hit trip for 5 summers in a row. I always stay at Pelican hill resort or Montage, but i wanted to change and explore something different. I still regret decision. Prices are all the same Ritz carlton, pelican hill, and montage. Lets start with house keeping and cleaning. I was at the pool, and I went to our room to get my Ipad. As I walked in the house keeping person was looking at my bills that I left in my room from shopping last night, I reported this matter, nothing happend. Only "sorry" with a sad face from the manager. Secondly, sometimes we get shower gels and shampoos and sometimes not. Depending on the house keeper. I reported this matter, and I only got an apology letter from the reception. Before the checkout within 4 days ,I was staying for 8 nights, they sent me a letter under the door that I have to checkout tomorrow, I called them and they told me it was by mistake. From that day they started desucting nightly rate from my credit card, and they thought I did not pay my whole stay via Expedia. They kept deducting for 4 nights. When I reported the matter from the fist deduction they told me that they will report this matter to their finance department, and nothing happened!! Also, don't waste your money on their spa, the shower drain is RUSTY and their steamroom. So if you are going to spend 1,200$ a night, better spend it somewhere that deserves the money. Ah and the building is 30+ years old!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
We are grateful for the time you have taken to share your honest review. We thank you for choosing The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel; however, we are concerned to hear such uncharacteristic feedback. We take pride in our impeccable service and attention to detail, and we regret that your expectations were not met. We welcome the opportunity to speak to you about your experience so that we may restore your faith in our team and resort. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aliso viejo, CA

nice hotel but poor service

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: nice environment, the food is great although the service is slow
Cons: customer service
we have 3 person but got one king bed, i have to call for switch the room for 2 bed, they let me called twice to ask for the new room key and wait over 30 min, so i have went down to front desk. the man didn't say a word seems that's my own problem, they told me, they are busy , well, For the price they charge , should have better service. they are busy, customer is busy too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Executive Office, The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback. We are disappointed knowing that your stay was anything less than perfect and we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, we sincerely hope you will visit again in the future.