Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW England

Unique Experience

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Simply put.....Exceptional staff, exceptional service! Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Beautiful setting in rain forrest

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: A quiet location but within easy distance of the main beach. We hired a car which made seeing the island very easy and you can park on the property.
The staff are excellent and it's a really lovely small boutique hotel. From the start we were made to feel very welcome (thanks Naz!) and they couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. For example the bed was way to hard so they got toppers to make it that bit more comfortable! The rooms are a good size and kept very clean though we would have preferred a couch rather than the mats on the floor which weren't comfortable to recline on. The restaurant is in a lovely setting and the breakfast always well done. They even had gluten free bread made especially for us! There are lots of steps and you can get taken up and down the hill with a driver giving you the choice. We did a few massages at the spa where you get 20% off and they were fantastic. We got to meet the owners who took us and other guests out for a meal at Fat Cupid. It was lovely meeting them and fellow travellers. Thank you to all at the Ambong for making our stay in Langkawi so special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Home like warm and clean

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Service of the staff very warm and friendly, they even prepare supper for us in case we haven't eat our dinner since we arrived late. Thank you
Cons: Would be nice if the living room have sofa instead of high table and also air condition
Location: Mangrove is a must go in langkawi
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HONG KONG


Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: 員工非常友善,總是笑面迎人
我們在Ambong Ambong住了三晚。這裏的房間在熱帶雨林的山頂上,安靜隔離地和被大自然包圍的地方。房間簡單舒服,小廚房有烤箱、微波爐和冰箱,在入住時給的手提電話可以隨時請酒店司機接送上落山或幫忙召喚的士。唯一的缺點是每天沒有refill淋浴露。早餐雖然不是自助但是可以靈活地點餐,簡單但非常好。員工非常友善,總是笑面迎人。服務一流,如果有機會的話,我們肯定還會再來的。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Posted Aug 15, 2016
It is an absolutely out of this world experience staying at this resort. Perfect blend of nature and luxury. Hats off to everybody involved, including the management, the staff and the designer, whoever that genius was!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harderwijk

Prachtig resort in de jungle

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: De ligging, het personeel en de persoonlijke sfeer.
Cons: Zou het niet weten.
Location: Langkawi is niet groot, dus heel dichtbij kun je een auto huren voor weinig geld en overal naar toe rijden. De Cable car is leuk en een mooi uitzicht.
Wij hebben het ontzettend naar onze zin gehad bij Ambong Ambong. En dit is zeker ook mede te danken aan het personeel. Zij doen werkelijk alles om het je naar de zin te maken. De weg naar de studio's is behoorlijk steil, maar ze willen je altijd met de auto halen en brengen. Ze zijn altijd vrolijk en bijzonder vriendelijk. Het ligt prachtig tegen de berg aan en je hebt een prachtig uitzicht op zee! Dan natuurlijk de natuur. Alles is daar behouden gebleven. De apen die 's morgens op je dak springen, de vogels en niet te vergeten de prachtige bloemen en planten!
5 out of 5
by NORSHIDAH from Kuala Lumpur

Review of Ambong Ambong

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at Ambong Ambong. The room and breakfast were perfect. The balcony offered a great view of the beach and sunset. Staffs were approachable; many thanks to Sharina, Nizam and Li for their warm welcome and assistance. The hotel cafe provides only breakfast; which is fine to us. Restaurants are not that too far away. Having a rented car makes it convenient for us to explore the beaches and restaurants for lunch and dinner.
5 out of 5
by Hannah from Liverpool

Amazing place

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Ambong is so different from all the rest, a little hidden gem rainforest retreat. The staff cannot do enough for you. Much better than all the chain resorts you find in Langkawi. Couldn't recommend this place enough.
5 out of 5
by Yasir from Stockholm

Jättefint med fantastisk utsikt!

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Första känslan vid ankomsten är:wow! Panoramafönster ut mot träden och vattnet en bit bort ger en fantastisk utsikt. Att äta frukost på rummet (ingår) vid soluppgången med den utsikten var verkligen vackert! Fint och fräscht rum och bra personal. Vi bodde högst upp och fick ringa efter hämtning och lämning på rummet vilket aldrig tog mer än 5 min. Enda nackdelarna är att platsen är en bit bort från allt (5-10 min med bil) och att Wi-Fi inte fungerade just när vi var där. Kan verkligen rekommendera!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Picturesque Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Location: Located not too far from the main drag. Staff would offer to give us a lift to the shops if we needed. A few restaurants in walking distance.
My wife and i stayed here for the last two nights of our honeymoon. It was an absolutely fantastic experience. The rooms are nice, modern and spacious. We really loved the soaking tub on the balcony. The view from the balcony at sunset was absolutely stunning. The hotel is situated on a steep hill. It's so steep that the hotel has a 4WD to take you up to your room (or you can suck it up and get some exercise!). We stayed on the highest room on the hill which had a balcony that opened out to an amazing view, and was surrounded by treetops. When we stayed there, the hotel outsourced its room service to a nearby restaurant. So if you wanted food, you had a full menu in the room to order from which the hotel would order on your behalf and then deliver to your room. The food was actually really nice. Breakfast was complimentary and western style - left in the fridge for us to make at our leisure in the morning. The staff were really nice and made our experience all the better. They were easy to engage in conversation with and would surprise us with random drinks etc. I highly recommend this hotel. It was by far the best place we stayed at during our honeymoon, would have stayed longer if we had the time! Looking forward to coming back one day!