Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England.

Lovely hotel. Exceptional hospitality.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Everything! But the outstanding features are the wonderful hospitality from all staff members and the location on a steep hillside in the forest.
Cons: No face cloths in the bathroom. We had to use the hand towels. But hardly a major problem!
Location: Nearest beach and some local restaurants are both about half a mile away. Cenang Beach and the main shopping/restaurant area is about 1.5 miles away.
One of the most delightful hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are outstanding. The hospitality feels more like staying in the home of good friends than a normal commercial hotel experience. The warmth of welcome goes well beyond just polite and efficient service, though they provide that too. Don't worry about the steep hill. Staff will drive you to your door in a four-wheel drive vehicle if you can't manage the climb. But we usually walked up. I counted about 250 steps from the bottom of the hill up to our room. We stayed in one of the suites. It was tranquil, comfortable and romantic. The bedroom and bathroom area is well isolated from the kitchen and living room area. Provided you keep the glass sliding doors shut between these two main areas there should be no mosquitoes in the bedroom or bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The shower always had hot water and decent pressure. The whole suite was very clean and in good condition. The kitchen and living room area was not air-conditioned but had two large ceiling fans which did a reasonable job. The view from our suite was spectacular, down through the lush green tropical forest to the sea below. I enjoyed just listening to the sounds of birds and insects and looking out for monkeys leaping about in the trees. The breakfast was good. We enjoyed trying the cooked Malaysian options. The service at breakfast was always very attentive to our needs and kindly. The lady who served us treated us like special friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hanoi Vietnam

Nice, nice, nice. Peace and quite.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff were the best - very courteous and helpful. The hotel is situated at the far end of Cenang beach but easy walking distance to e'thing
Cons: Internet could be faster. Rooms well provided but a dish cloth (for washing few dishes in kitchen) and face cloths in bathroom would be good additions
Arrived late and the staff were there to greet us and give us some guidance on where to eat so late (no restaurant for dinner on site, but plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance). Provided us with a phone for our entire stay so that we could call them if we needed a driver - restricted to short distance towards town - could also use for local calls. 11 rooms on site. Get the impression that you are in a small forest - lots of birds and monkeys to watch from the balcony. View was spectacular from the balcony so spent a lot of time there. One draw back is the steep hill on which the site is perched - one way to get your exercise. Staff always willing to drive you up to your room as needed. Breakfast in the morning was really well done and nice setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Unique Experience

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Nature setting & friendly staff
Cons: None
Location: On the quiet side of the island, you will want to rent a car or scooter to travel around. Close to airport, island hopping and Underwater World.
Not much to add other than what's already been mentioned by other guests. Here are some of our memorable moments upon checking in: -Being picked up by the dedicated hotel driver at the base of the mountain -Personal and friendly check in process at a comfortable setting at the bar. -Hot take-out food ready to eat free-of-charge as we check into our room -Watch monkeys move from tree to tree off our balcony in the middle of the day -Breath-taking views from our room -FREE Laundry service!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful rainforest setting, close to beach.

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Points already highlighted sbove
Cons: Could possibly do with their own restaurant, although there is a Japanese restaurant next door to Ambong Ambong, and other restaurants near by.
Location: Restaurants and beach activities close by, tours from the hotel, plenty of eating places and beach activities in Cenang which is about 2 Kms away.
Relaxing stay, with bar and pool facilities. Extremely helpful staff made the stay most enjoyable. Did the bird watching trip with Wendy, which was excellent. The length of stay prevented other trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Perfect honeymoon stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We enjoyed a 4 night stay at Ambong Ambong as part of our honeymoon. We'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a small, friendly and personal hotel stay. We loved being in the forest and looking out for the local wildlife which was abundant and easy to spot. Our stay was made even more enjoyable by the excellent staff who were very friendly and professional. If we return to langkawi we will certainly look to stay at Ambong Ambong again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Beach / Jungle hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Large spacious rooms, with good views and excellent staff
Cons: Theyre building additional apartments which should be ready for the end of 2017, these will have hot tubs in each apartment.
Location: Sandy beach within 3 min walk, nice restaurants round the corner, scooter / motorbike hire near by and the main tourist road a 15min walk.
The staff were the best i've ever experienced, friendly, helpful and always available even for lifts into and back from town day & night. The food was excellent, the room / apartment was great with good views out to the sea and monkeys in the trees surrounding the room. It's slightly out of town so away from the noise of the main restaurant area but an easy walk (or they will drive you in / back, if you dont feel like walking). I honestly couldn't recommend this place enough, it really made our holiday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I perfect stay!

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect! Felt like one of the team in a friendly atmosphere. Couldn't recommend enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrific staff

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
The place is not the usual resort. It is located on a hillside surrounded by rainforest (and monkeys) and overlooks the beach which is about 500 metres away. The staff provide a wonderful service and are genuine in their efforts to please guests. A very relaxing place which is different from the others that are nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unusual hotel in the midst of a rainforest

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Unusual hotel in the midst of a rainforest. Stunning room and views. Extremely helpful and friendly service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel perched on top of a mountain

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Nicely decorated rooms, very spacious. Top of a mountain views in a rain forest surroundings, yet very close to Cenang beach with its thriving nightlife and beach activities.