Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude customer service infested with bugs. Horrible

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Since the beginning we had problems. The first night when we reached, there was no one to help us with our luggage. Our lights would go off every couple hrs. With two small kids, one an Infant, this was terrible as they would get scared in the dark with no lights. We asked to be moved to a different room only to be told that they were completely booked. The hotel staff was unfriendly. When asked for recommendations for things to do, they had no idea! Not sure how they run a hotel business when they don't even know what are things to do! After continuous complaints about our lights, the manager finally agreed to credit back our food/beverage bill. Only to be rudely given a bill at checkout with no credit. We didn't sign the bill and disputed the charges. Not only that we also believe they run a fraudulent business with local can service. We told them specifically to have our taxi to the airport come at 5:30am. According to the taxi driver, the hotel told him to come at 5am and he charged us 50 Euros bc we were late. He even showed us the text from hotel which said 5am instead of 5:30. So basically we had to pay the taxi driver 50 Euros extra bc of the hotel. Another family We met at the airport from the same hotel reported a similar experience. seems like they have a collaboration with the taxi drivers and they pocket the extra cash between themselves!! Horrible hotel. Would not recommend to anyone. Infact it should be reported to some kind of Local better business bureau.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Staff very rude and unhelpful. We arrived from St Lucia at 13.30 we checked in put bags in room.the bar and restaurant were both closed from 2.00pm , reopening at 6.00. Not acceptable for such a highly rated hotel not to be offered something to wat or drink.l. Dinner was also disastrous. Then at breakfast I asked for coffee to be told machine and pointed to a machine. Over all very disappointing and we will not be visiting again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel rt at the ocean!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is very remote, so it is A MUST to have a car there. Rent a car at the airport!! There's nothing around but housing, banana plants. You can't walk to anything or eat anywhere unless you call a taxi. If you want a taxi it will take 30 min to an hour. The hotel has set times for breakfast(7-10), lunch(12-2),and dinner(7:30-9:30). There is a bar that opens at 6-9:30, and they have a very small tapas menu. Hotel menu is only for brkfst and lunch. They do have a gym, kayaking, wind surfing, and canoes.
1 out of 5
by Fiona

Filthy Hellhole

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Diabolical. Paid 5 star rates and I've slept in cleaner tents, with less wildlife in the African Savannah. Room not as described. Blatant lies about room amenities such as the drapes being fitted with blackout curtains. No food for vegetarians apart from a plate of lettuce for €15. Dirty glasses and plates never once taken and replaced with clean ones during entire 5 night stay, nor were room service used plates outside our room ever taken away. Invited many a cockroach crawling over us during the night. Layers of filth, dust and mould everywhere. Cried myself to sleep every night. Have never in my life wished a holiday away like here. Such a disappointment as my mothers 70th birthday treat for which I slaved for months. Bathroom smelt like a sewer. Mother developed a cough from the mould growing all around our bathroom and bedding. Mattress protector covered on blood spots where bugs must have feasted on previous guests and never changed. Sofa gave us both rashes after sitting in it. I've worked in several prisons and this hovel made the cells appear like 7 star palaces. DO NOT STAY HERE. Locals have informed me that the "hotel" is in financial difficulty and has lost one of it's so called five stars recently. I hope it is closed down as soon as possible as it's a positive health hazard and disgrace.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Great Location right on the beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
After sailing for a week we stayed at Le Cap Est. What a perfect way to end the week. The reception was great. The people friendly. Great service. Everyone spoke some English which helped everything go smoothly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Decent; pricey

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Rooms were clean. Air conditioning worked well. Outdoor shower was nice. Manager's soiree was a nice surprise. Bartender was sweet.
Cons: Beds were hard - very european. Americans will find them hard.
Le Cap Est was comfortable and the staff were kind, but this is not a 5 star resort. It's dated/worn and small, but in a nice, boutique-y kind of way. The restaurant food is good, but very expensive. Would highly recommend driving 5 minutes out to the main road for drinks/dinner at La Ferme des Orchidées (still somewhat pricey, but better food and atmosphere for slightly less money.) Lunch at the hotel restaurant was good (limited menu) but very pricey for lunch (two salads and two appetizers for 95 euro - not even with drinks!). Buffet breakfast was good and had good variety. Le Cap Est would be a nice home base if you were planning to be gone most of the time (but even then, the hotel is *very* far from anything else - 30+ minutes to drive to any kind of tourist area/restaurants except for the one mentioned above), but if you are planning to stay on site and enjoy the pool/beach, you may get bored and go broke. Also, there are no bars open from 2pm-6pm from which to order drinks should you want a pina colada while you lay in the sun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and Friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Weather was very hot. Hotel staff was friendly and informative about the surrounding area; helped translate French to English.
4 out of 5
by nadia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Needs serious updating

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Building interiors and exteriors, decor, lawn and beach. An additional restaurant option, or something appealing nearby.
Location: Rent a car for the time you are there, as you will be bored staying on property and cabs can't get you anywhere interesting under $50 each way.
It must first be said that every person working at this resort is lovely, professional, and eager for guests to have a quality experience. However, the facility is very badly in need of a renovation and update. Room footprints are large and the lay-out is good, but the decor is dated and everything is a little tired. The property is pretty because it is large and has a nice skinny beach along a bay, but the pool and beach are scarcely used because the furniture is dated and there is no service. Beach activities are available but in the same way that your own gear is available because it's piled up in your garage. This would be a weak 4 star or an outstanding 3 star resort, but there's no stretch that could put it at 5 star. That is simply incorrect. There are few high-end resorts in Martinique, so rating inflation is bound to happen -- but this rating (and the $600+/night rate) are simply unmerited. I feel bad to be so blunt because, again, the individuals working there are excellent and trying hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

disappointing

Posted Mar 31, 2011
This hotel has a relais and chateaux designation but does not live up to the label. We were there for 3 days and nights in one of the least nice rooms with no view of anything but the back of a building so that may have coloured our view somewhat. Also annoying was the fact that the cleaning staff used our doorway to store and park their cleaning carts so it was sometimes like negotiating an obstacle course to get into our room . The rooms were well set up and comfortable except for a terminal lack of lighting. The bedside lights were so dim that we could not read after dark. This was probably the most annoying thing about the room. In other situations we have gone out and purchased a better light bulb and substituted it but the way it was set up, that could not be done. The food was disappointing - breakfasts were good but the quality of the dinners was erratic- overcooked the fish and vegetables and wholly uninspired room service menu and food. Location is nice but beach is small and on a shallow lagoon so ocean swimming is not great. Water sports are provided but we were unable to use many of them as they were booked out. If we had not had a car and left the property for most of the day, there would not have been a lot to do. So all in all, it was nice enough but had no real soul and nothing to make you want to return. Certainly not worth the price. The island, on the other hand is lovely and unlike most of the other Caribbean islands has a wonderful road system.