Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Interesting Building

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Interersting old building, which I remember in its former life.
Cons: See above.
Location: Very central and ideally placed.
I wondered if Expedia customers are regarded as second-class citizens by the hotel. I was put into what clearly used to be servants' quarters at the very top of the building. Rather basic and definitely below the standard of the rest of the hotel. After a long journey, I was too tired to protest at the time. There appears not to be any differential pricing, and not was it full, so it is difficult see any justification for this. On arrival at approx. 2.30 I was left in the bar (having been offered tea, admittedly) because my room was not ready. After an hour, I asked about when it would be ready and the receptionist pretended she did not know I was there! Not very satisfactory! No apology either. This set my visit off on a poor footing. the building (most of it) and its gardens are lovely - especially when the sun shines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol UK

Central position

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Historic building with art displayed around its walls in every room and corridor.
Cons: Heating switched on when the weather changed. The roman blinds need re stringing.
Location: Central location with the small high street a minute away. Easy access to Brighton and the countryside.
A forma Embassy which still has retained oak panelled dining rooms. We were upgraded to the bridal suite, with an adjoining bathroom with a fireplace and central bath. A little cold as the winter heating had not been switched. Excellent!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Central Lewes

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Position and history
Cons: An old building with some higgeldy corridors and stairs, but windows on the upper levels need to be repaired and painted or replaced
Location: central in Lewes
Central to Lewes, Lovely old building, excellent facilities for weddings or group celebrations, but also areas for peace and quiet. Excellent well appointed rooms, although our bathroom was a little tired, and the windows under the eaves could certainly do with some TLC as the old cracked crittals, allowed the noise of the kitchen fans through keeping us awake until quite late. Staff and breakfast were both excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Parking not easy, bedroom light switches complications basement drain very slow. Breakfast excellent a good experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Fine for a short stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Garden and terrace are lovely - on a fine day
Cons: The hotel is what it is - rather faded splendour, but room was clean with good facilities
Location: See the Expedia web site for good information
Full English breakfast on the terrace was excellent. Parking, or lack of it, is a major concern. You enter the hotel via St Andrews Place (off the High Street,), a very narrow lane, barely able to take the width of a Jaguar XF and manoevering into the hotel forecourt to check in/drop off luggage, is not for the faint-hearted. Parking, unless reserved in one of the 8 spaces in the forecourt, is on the street (9am - 6pm payment meters) - again not for the faint hearted as all streets in Lewes are narrow !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Country House style in town centre

Posted Aug 22, 2017
We had the honeymoon suite so had best possible experience. Gardens are a secret treasure - like a country house but in town. Loved the display of local art and sculptures in house and garden. And the trompe l'oeil ceiling in hall is stunning and witty. Won't say more. Go to see it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A little 'Faulty Towers'

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Very close to Lewes train station Nice bar Cons: They charge £50 for early (1pm instead of 3pm) check-in which feels excessively steep (the room cost was £140) Parking is not a given- you have to request which wasn't clear on booking The shower didn't drain properly They hadn't turned off the radio alarm that the previous guest had set for 0630... and barely apologised when this was mentioned. Overall, expensive for a slightly haphazard experience. Nothing disasterous, but with a little effort it could be so much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Every thing
Good location and very reasonable online booking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Really bad staff. No Manager at the weekend. No conditioner in bathroom! Thats even in the best room! Cant give room Service at the start of breakfast as to busy then we go downstairs and it's clearly not busy! Stayed 3 times now and got worse every time! Only stayed as it had parking and that was blocked in so we could not leave for work in time and had to remove the Cones ourselves
3 out of 5
by Nunnapan

Dirty Room

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel location was good but the room was not very clean, the bathroom was very dusty and the towels stinks like they have never been washed. It definitely was not a four stars hotel.