Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Hotel taxi service didn't show up 3 out of 4 times

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Steep hill to get to Rato metro station
Excellent hotel but a steep walk to and from Rato metro station
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portugal

In need of a major renovation

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Where do I start. Room not ready. Arrived at 3pm. They checked me in. Went to room and it was not cleaned from previous guests. They gave me a second room and it was just old and felt dirty. Complained and they put us in the suite. It was OK not what I expected old furniture. Tried to go on the terrace and door came of hinges. Lobby was OK and breakfast was simple. I'm sure at one time it was a nice hotel. Location was a bit far but we enjoy walking so not an issue for us. Hate to write bad reviews. Good note the staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of features for a low price.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: It offers lorts of features for a low price.
Location:
For a relatively low price, this hotel has a lot to offer: pool, free wireless, free breakfast, mini-fridge. This is nice if you are on a budget but still want many features. However, not that every features are a bit on the cheap side. Internet has some hicups and is generally slow. The pool is not what you'd expect of a hotel pool, it looks more like a residential aboveground pool. Breakfast is good enough with decent diversity. The hotel is close enough to 2 subway stations: Rato (yellow) and Marques Pombal (blue/yellow) so it is convenient. It is still a good walk from the stations (with hills), but close enough. We tried two restaurants nearby that we recommend. An indian restaurant (Natraj Tandoori - Rua do Sol ao Rato - 50-52) and a vegetarian buffet (Terra - R. da Palmeira 15). There is also a grocery store (Pingo Doce - Calçada Bento da Rocha Cabral 16) very close to the hotel which is very convenient for longer stays. We tried two beaches: Carcavelos and Concercao/Duquesa/Reinha. Carcavelos is a nicer beach, but the others, being so close to Cascais town are convenient for restaurants. They are all easily accessible by train from Lisbon to Cascais. Water is cold but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Excellent value for money

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The staff and the hotel itself
Cons: Keep students off the fire escape at 11 at night - unless there is a fire.
Location: Within walking distance of Marques de Pombal and Rato
Another great stay at the Amazonia. It seems that the owners are sorting out the problem with too many students and bad behaviour. Excellent staff and clean and cosy hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Large room, the staff was nice, but the cleaning ladies woke me up... Several times.. In the same morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good accessible city hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Good value friendly hotel. Nice restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from leicestershire, England

good for a 3 star

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The pool area
Cons: bedroom and bathrooms need updating
Location: Approx 20 minute walk up hill from historical centre, nothing of interest nearby.
My sister and i stayed here for two nights. The room was small and both the bedroom and the bathroom were looking tired and needed updating. The breakfast was good, scrambled and boiled eggs every day , cereals and fruit salad, and the breads and croissants were always warm. Certainly enough food to keep you going until lunchtime. There was a decent sized outdoor space with some tables and chairs and a small swimming pool with sun loungers. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk down hill to the old town and there wasn't anything of interest nearby. We didn't use the cocktail bar so cannot comment on that,. The staff at reception were pleasant and helpful and spoke quite good english.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was OK to sleep in just cheap and cheerful.

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Cons: They should not let the pool get such a mess in Winter.
Location: Nothing much near by but a good location to walk down to the popular areas.
3 out of 5
by jamjar from London UK

Hidden away!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Basic but the price was right.
Cons: A bit more attention to detail.
Location: Dead neighbourhood with a couple of coffee shops and one decent restaurant which, unfortunately, was closed Sunday & Monday.
Not easy to find and up a steep hill and a good ten minute bus ride from centre. On second day no hand soap in bathroom and on request none was found and later sent a big soft plastic bag of liquid soap which was so cumbersome to handle. I bought a cake of soap in a pharmacy. Third day only one towel in bathroom after cleaning. Finally found (no thanks to staff) a secret way through a small park to a bus which was more convenient but down a very steep hill. I really needed to stay in centre as I turned 73 whilst there and although fairly fit, I still love to walk around - my poor calves had turned to raging bulls and I was in pain for a couple of days. Still, Lisbon is lovely and I had an enjoyable time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location, good for lots of sites.

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Swimming pool (though it was small.)
Cons: The staff could look like they're interested in helping you, when you ask questions at reception.
Location: Central Lisbon - there's tons of stuff!
There was a bed and a shower, which is mostly what I want from a hotel.