Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Break In

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: Security!
Three rooms on our floor broken into while at dinner. Extensive losses including cameras, iPhone, and iPad. Fortunately our passports and money in safe. Security at hotel clearly lacking. Incomplete video surveillance and inadequate attention to who comes and goes to hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Friendly, efficient hotel; quiet handy location.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness. The free newspapers and late check-out with Expedia. Free slippers and the use of chunky bathrobes.
Cons: Some drawer space or shelving for storing T-shirts, undies which don't hang. Hallways need a new carpet.
Location: London walks; Tower of London/Bridge; tube to Wimbledon or Kew;eat at St Katherine's Dock;cheap cheerful breakfast at Liberty Bounds; Spitalfields.
The only real issue with our room was that there is not enough storage. Bedside, there are only tables, and the wardrobe is almost all hanging space. However, the air-conditioning is very responsive and effective. Also, we love the friendly staff, the clean, modern room decor, the bar downstairs for food, drink and even TV sport (important this summer). It is very close to two underground stations, Aldgate and Tower Hill. Aldgate is not so good with luggage as there are only stairs. Great once you've unpacked. There is a Tesco Express a block away. You can keep milk, beer in the tiny mini-bar. Some supplied free on arrival. Ten minutes' walk gets you to St Katherine's Dock for a great selection of eateries; or, of course, to the Tower of London and the Bridge. 15 mins the other way, takes you through the heart of the historic City of London to St Paul's Cathedral. It is on a pretty quiet street with a few other pubs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Great spot, great hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect. Great staff and facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great city centre stopover

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Easy to find and a pleasant stay. Good quality accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The comfort of the room.
Cons: Get the regular elevator working.
Location: Didn't stay long enough to do things nearby. Don't know what was there, other than the tower bridge and the Tower of London. Easy to get to tube here
Check in was a little slow, desk person was rather chatty and we were tired and just wanted to go to our room. He was friendly enough, but should stick to doing his job, especially as other people were waiting. We loved the room, so clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. We had breakfast and dinner there and both meals were very enjoyable. Check out was quick and staff member was friendly and helpful in giving us directions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel close to the financial district

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Very helpful staff. Nice old-times feel to it. Enjoyed how close it is to most attractions and businesses. Lots of nice eats around. Breakfast selection was excellent and the bar was good. Elevator was being repaired, but they had another one available and got help with my bags from the staff. Nice quiet clean hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We miss the Chamberlain...

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, room, pub in hotel, location, the overall vibe was fabulous and exactly what I was looking for. Everything was very fitting of the location
Cons: Room service. Paninis ordered didn't have all ingredients req'd... made for some bland food. Brownie and ice cream...but no ice cream... Update menus
Location: Tower of london and tower bridge within walking distance. And pass on The Minories Pub down the street-- not worth the $-- service pretty bad
Totally exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel für einen Kurztrip nach London

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Die absolut perfekte Lage!
Wir haben 2 Nächte in dem Hotel verbracht. Die Lage des Hotels war optimal. Gerade für Sightseeing (Tower of London, Tower Bridge,...) hätte es nicht besser sein können. Diese waren in 5 Gehminuten zu erreichen. In der näheren Umgebung waren außerdem viele Restaurants zwischen denen man wählen konnte. Auch für das Frühstück gab es viele Möglichkeiten. Während unseres Aufenthalts war der normale Aufzug des Hotels wegen Renovierung außer Betrieb. Den Gästen wurde aber der Personalaufzug zur Verfügung gestellt. Als Entschädigung haben wir ein Getränk in der hoteleigenen Bar bekommen. Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis war super. Alles in allem waren wir sehr zufrieden und würden das Hotel weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Nice hotel, close to the Thames River

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness Friendly staff
Cons: It is a small hotel but I am happy enough!
Location: Good location as I have seen. Many tourists around this part of the river.
The hotel is very close to the Tower Bridge which is an attraction along the Thames River, a lot of tourists stroll around this area, also near the river cruise pier, the Tower train station....very convenient!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great for biz travelers

Posted May 13, 2016
Love this place. Helpful staff, comfy rooms, very good food, convenient to the City and Canary Wharf. Only three things kept this experience from being 5 stars: bedding (tough pillows, no cover sheet, just a comforter), couldn't get the room cool enough at night during a warm spell (opening the window led to street noise), and the guest elevator was out so had to share service elevator with staff with large carts (though they did provide a drink voucher as apology).