Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Stinks no AC hot as heck in the tiny rooms toddler bed sizes bunch or prostitute's patrolling in front ugh && no parking either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great inexpensive hotel and cool staff

Posted Dec 25, 2016
They need to figure out parking tho costs $21 at lot next door maybe they can partner up and cut that in half.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Unsatisfying to say the least

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Tear it down and make it into a creepy themed restaurant.
Location: Horrible location. 25$ parking fee.
When I arrived the woman at the front desk had an automatic attitude. She seemed a little tired and maybe a little overworked, but she was very rude. This was not the best first impression to have. The other hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly, though. She also charged me a huge deposit just in case I smoked or damaged the room in any way. She became very defensive when I asked her about it. This is not something I was told about beforehand. It has been close to a week and I still don't have my deposit back. She did not care to explain things, and it makes me wonder why anyone would ever employ such an unprofessional woman. I was given a room with a dripping water heater that didn't work (on one of the coldest nights in LA) so I had to change rooms. The room I was switched to had a working heater. There were no bugs and this is a great place to crash if you'd rather not sleep on the street. I would never recommend coming here. Apparently they are closing down in a month which is something I am 100% supportive of. Also, Stay on Main is actually the Cecil Hotel which is something I didn't know when arriving. I didn't have any creepy experiences but it is very irresponsible to mislead more sensitive guests with a name change. The hotel is infamous for it's history of murder and suicide. I'd advise anyone sensitive to these things to not enter this hotel, and if you do, keep your doors locked and do not wander around alone. Goodbye forever, Cecil!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Not the newest hotel but staff made up for that.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Extremely polite & helpful. For the price I expected much less. Room was small but clean & tidy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The pictures are decieving the staff is even worse
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from up, Bridgeview, IL

It was a nice stat

Posted Nov 28, 2016
U enjoyed the stay with free breakfast and helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do NOT Stay on Main

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything AND firing Monica!!!
Location: Had to work 7 blocks away. LA Cafe was great
The staff was good when I arrived, but they kept checking me out and I had to recheck back in every night for three straight nights after I get back from a tiring day at work. The night before my last night a very rude staff member named Monica calls me at 9:00 pm and threatens to throw me out. She calls and does not identify herself as being from the front desk, I'm thinking that it is prank call and after several minutes of trying to find out what this is all about she finally tells me to go to the front desk. I go down to tell her that I have a three night reservation and instead of trying to find my reservation she was more preoccupied with calling me a liar. Lucky for me there was another desk person there who had worked the night before and was able to locate my original reservation and check me back in. No apology from Monica that night or the next day when I checked out and she was there again. Avoid this hell hole and avoid that psycho Bi+ch Monica!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

1 star price 1 star quality

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast was nice. Thats how they earned the 2nd star.
Cons: Cleanliness, lack of A/C and parking thats under $20/night.
Location: Good location. Bars all around and if youre going to expo park, the uber is $2-4. Definitely easy to explore from.
No A/C and 1 bathroom per floor. I'm not the type to be bothered by a dirty wall or a little paint cracking, but I had a hole in my roof lol. The price was decent, but for the same price you can probably find a spot with A/C at least.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
the lady at the front desk was rude, and had a big attitude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Once we found our first room had been used. Not cleaned. The front desk person was at least very helpful.
Cons: First room had been used. Not cleaned. First room had been used. Not cleaned.