Ratings based on 1,091 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Perfect for the In and Out Traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Easy access to mass transit and tourist areas
Cons: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE indicate the type of shower the room has when booking
Location: You can get on a train and go anywhere
This is my 5th time staying in Munich. Stayed here for 4 nights while at Oktoberfest. Hotel is just across the street from the main train station. Hotel staff is very friendly and worked with me on an issue I was having at check-in: THANK YOU SO MUCH! Stayed on the 6th floor so I think because of the roof, my superior double room did not have a shower but a tub with a wand that was too short for me to use - I'm 5'9" - and I couldn't stand up fully due to the angle in the ceiling. While it was manageable, I should have requested to change rooms because it was not a comfortable experience in the long run. Beds do the job but the pillows were flat and not supportive. While the room did have a thermostat, it never felt like it really worked. Needed to open the windows to stay cool in the room. All in all, good deal for the trip and fit our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Richard Mayer Regionaldirektor, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Maritim Hotel Munich and for sharing your experiences with us. First of all I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our location. I am sorry to hear, that our tub was too short for you. For the next stay, just give us a short note that you like to have a room with a shower and we will try our best. Dear John, hopefully we have the pleasure to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards from munich
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great base of operations in Munich

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Excellent location. Nice clean hotel. Nice to have a bar on the lobby level.
Cons: The neighborhood is a bit seedy, but you can't change that.
Location: Excellent for Oktoberfest, train station, tour pickup, restaurants, and shopping.
This hotel was less than a block away from the main train station in Munich. It was 5-6 blocks from the Oktoberfest grounds, and a 10-15 minute walk to the Marionplatz shopping district. If you want to hook up with a variety of tour companies, a number of them pick up near the south end of the rail station, another big plus. The hotel itself is in a somewhat seedy area, with lots of guys just hanging out on the sidewalks, but they posed no issue for our family. There are also a fair number of street beggars with various physical maladies. Since the hotel is set back off the street, it gives a feel of greater security. Overall, we'd stay here again because it was such a great base of operation and a quality property with a helpful and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Richard Mayer, Hotel Management
Dear Knut, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel – thank you for your kind words. Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards Richard Mayer Regionaldirektor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

No coffee or tea making facilities

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Close to the train station.
Location: This hotel was close to train station, but there are a lot of other hotels which are close too.
There were no coffee or tea making facilities at all. District sees you bumping into customers from the strip lounges next door, drinking beer on the pavement, when you leave for a walk, even in the morning at 9.30a.m. Mini bar staff came into our room whilst we were there, without knocking, then realized we were there, departed still saying nothing, then left our room door wide open. I had to ask Reception staff who it was that entered our room. Simply not good enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Richard Mayer Regionaldirektor, Hotel Management
Dear Fran, thank you for choosing Maritim Hotel Munich for being your host and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. I deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations and would like to apologize for any inconveniences that occurred. I can guarantee that the service you received is not what should be expected from us. Be rest assured that I immediately spoke to my responsible colleagues to follow up and keep an eye on it. Dear Fran, we are aware of the fact we are unable to remove your recent experiences, but it would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Great location, but that's about it!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Just the location, being so close to all the tourist spots and transport links
Cons: Outside the hotel main door could do with better kerb appeal. Dull and boring a littered with cig butts.
Location: Most tourist sights and shops are within walking distance.
Hotel is just a 2 minute walk away from the Hauptbahnhof station, so it is ideal if getting the train from the airport. The Hotel itself is tucked away off the main street up a pend, not what I was expecting from the photographs. The room itself was quite good, though the toilet could have done with some bleach down it! The shower was great if you also wanted to wash the floor at the same time as it had no door or shower curtain to prevent this. The leisure facilities, which I think only consists of a pool and sauna; as I could not find anything else, were over run by unsupervised children. This was not only dangerous to leave children unattended, but certainly spoiled our relaxation by the pool. We didn't try the food so I cannot comment. The patisseries in the nearby station were superb and were a lot cheaper than the breakfast on offer at the hotel. The hotel seemed to lack atmosphere. There was a piano bar, but never during my three night stay did I hear a single tune being played! Your better venturing out to the Lowenbrau beer garden, Englischer Garten or any of the other street cafes for a more lively experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The staff that I spoke with where amazing and very helpful and accommodating,really enjoyed my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Maritim Hotel Munich Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay in our Maritim Hotel Munich and also for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to read, that you especially liked our team and enjoyed a pleasent stay with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, your Maritim Hotel Munich team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Stayed here mid July 2017. Breakfast is good but always the same. Its not cheap at 25 Euros. They could add more variety. Towels in the room are getting old. Shampoo and Shower Gel have far too much perfume I decided to buy my own. Missing a coffee/tea maker in the room. Room service menu is very limited. Otherwise ok.
3 out of 5
by roger

Adequate

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Ok but old hotel, not so nice area. Adequate for a short stay for business. Paid wifi!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by dusica

False advertising and bad customer service

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel advertises the self parking as their amenities, however, the clerk at the reception promptly informed us that there is no parking available and "none of Munich hotels guarantee parking, just try at public parking garage across the street, or down the street"! And, of course, all were packed full, no space whatsoever, we spent at least an hour searching... When we finally found a tight spot in some parking garage to squeeze our rental in, it turned out that particular "public" parking garage belonged to a hotel which refused to let us use it BECAUSE IT WAS SAVING IT FOR THEIR OWN GUESTS! So ZERO POINTS for Maritim Hotel Customer Service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice Hotel close to Central Station

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Nicely fitted out with a good pool. Unfortunately my rating is a little lower than I'd like due to poor airconditioning (seems common in Europe) and the free wifi not working. We were there for 2 nights and staff couldn't advise when it would be fixed. In contrast all of our Airbnb accommodation has had fast reliable free wifi.