Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anne

Excellent for Flora and fauna

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful place amongst the trees. They have excellent guided walks in the morning and evening. The food was very good and the staff very helpful. It is unfortunate that there is no bar but the law in India now is not helping the hotel or off licence trade. The local highlights were the cardamom trees, coffee trees, tea plantation, giant squirrels and the Malabar Whistling Thrush which were on site or a short walk away. Go and stay and if you go to Munnar you must go to the tea museum and the Srishti Trust where they dye and block print their own fabric, make scarves and strawberry jam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York UK

Plantation retreat

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Position, quietness, ambience and pleasant courteous staff.
Cons: A nice rug or carpet in the rooms just to make them a little less austere.
Location: Munaar close by with the tea museum. Munaar is nice to walk round after the hustle and bustle of the golden triangle cities.
Great position in the middle of tea and cardamom plantations. Lovely views. Restaurant, although a bit of a trek to reach, is very good. We ate A La Carte one night and the prawns were superb! Chalets nicely positioned and we managed to get a free upgrade to a Saffron room which was very spacious and had a newly renovated bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Leena from New York

A haven cocooned amidst Tall Trees

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
The location was gorgeous nestled amidst 'tall trees' in the hills of Munnar. The road to the resort wasn't that great but once you got there, it was totally worth the bumpy ride. The property was well designed and the flora was local and lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

An excellent resort. Should not miss if taking a t

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Throughly enjoyed. However no room wifi or alcohol available. A completely different experience that shouldn't be missed if taking a trip to Munnar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chennai

We had a fantastic stay at The Tall Trees Munnar.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Every thing .The rooms, the food, the breakfast buffet spread, the well groomed and trained staff and their comfortable interaction with the customers
Cons: More south indian veg dishes in the a-la-carte menu.The emphasis is as of now on non-veg dishes. They should remember veg customers also stay here.
Location: The hotel is situated about 7 KMs from the town. The front office staff would guide us on places to visit as per our requirement .
A stay at The Tall Trees Munnar is a must for every tourist visiting Munnar. The staff are very well trained and are able to freely communicate in English . They are all trained professionals and at the same time very caring and considerate. From the front office to the restaurant, from the House keeping staff to the maintenance guys, they are all very pleasantly disposed towards the customers. Hats off to Gijo, Mani, Venkatesh in the front office for they were very helpful from the time of check-in to the time of check-out. In the restaurant Ajjo, Shijo and Bipin were very caring and offered an array of dishes after checking up with us to suit our individual tastes. The room service was also fantastic and they were serving dishes in our rooms even when it was pouring and the food was still adequately hot ! The rooms were maintained spic and span by the house keeping staff and a special mention should be made of Sharmila. The linen provided was of high quality and the bath towels and hand towels had on all days a pleasant mild fragrance and were impeccably clean. Almost all the bulbs were LED in the rooms and these gave a bright at the same time a comfortable even glow. The ambiance was outstanding and gave us a near feeling of living inside a forest resort ! The Chef was seen moving quietly around and was taking in the reaction of the customers ! I must once again keep on record the outstanding service by Ajjo and Shijo in the restaurant. Keep up the excellent work !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kolkata

Nice hotel in munnar .

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We pleasant stay in Tall Tree Nice places to stay within pure nature
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel with amazing grounds

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: The grounds are lovely, with amazing plants. The hotel offers complimentary 1 hour guided walks which are well-worth going on. Food is good.
Cons: Rooms are sparsely furnished & don't have all the facilities I expect in this price range; e.g. no hair-dryer, safe, wifi in room or chairs on terrace
Location: I'd recommend booking a full-day guided trek. The tea museum in Munnar takes an hour to explore and is a good place to buy good tea.
We stayed for 2 nights half-board in a deluxe cottage. As active travellers looking to walk and explore, we enjoyed walking round the grounds of the hotel and outside. This is very much a retreat, with no restaurants or other facilities near-by, but it's a lovely place for a get-away. It's set on a steep hill, so doesn't work well for anyone who finds walking challenging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Very nice resort

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice resort with awesome surroundings and first class service. The restaurant menu was a bit boring after a couple of days.
4 out of 5
by Sydney

nice little getaway in middle of nature

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels
Great hotel right in the middle of the forest! Half an hour from main attractions by taxi, reasonable prices. Very nice & hospitable staff in restaurant, catoring to both western and indian tastes. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, only problem was did not get to stay long enough. Enjoyed the nature walk through a tea plantation nearby.