Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like getting locked after closing at an art museum

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The staff is sincerely friendly and the art in the hotel is amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and best location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The location and the building, it's the place to be in Nice. The restaurant is very nice.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: The beach is right in front of the hotel and you can enjoy walking by the beach and there are many restaurants and shops nearby. It's the best.
The Hotel needs some refreshing but it's grandiose. The details are wonderful and the place is fantastic. The view couldn't have been better. My experience was so nice I will go back and recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Very central with everything at proximity.

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Each floor is different with a theme. Like a museum of different periods. The art work is absolutely amazing
Cons: We missed not having a Nespresso machine in our room and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.
Location: Great for museums shopping restaurants beach.
Amazing decor. Especially Christmas time. Very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Historic Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Great price, location and history
Cons: Some painting now and there, offering a spa service, ice/coffee machines. Hire more staff because checking at 4:30pm is inacceptable
Location: Sea, casinos
I think the Negresco is trying to attract new customers, with very attractive prices. It is a famed and magical place, though a bit rundown in some areas (bathroom in lobby), and does not have what you would expect from a 5 star palace, such as: - no ice machine in room or halls - no fridge/microwave in rooms - no coffee/tea/water in lobby - no SPA, no pool!! We got the room at 4:30pm and the hotel was really not busy at all! Way too late for checking in. But it is a beautiful landmark, a bit quirky, but perfect if you love history!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, Va

Nice hotel very close to the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: The decorations and great staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shops, restaurants, beach
Beautiful hotel, great staff. Great restaurants and shops within walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing and unique hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
The Negresco is delightful it was my fourth time staying there and I was thrilled to be given the same lovely spaceous room as on my previous visit. I can't wait tomgo back there what more can I say!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

A unique hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: The location, the art and the quirkiness.
Cons: Better air-conditioning in the rooms. The bar prices were also very high compared with other 5-star hotels we have stayed in.
Location: Great location and masses of things to do in Nice including the flower market, Matisse museum and the Museum of Modern Art. Antibes & Cannes!!
The Negresco hotel is really one of a kind. The building is beautiful and full of interesting artwork and décor. Our room was charming with a beautiful sea-view. Part of the charm is that it is not modern but that also means that it sometimes is a little less comfortable...one example being the air-conditioning that never seemed to fully cool the room. Having said that, we both loved our stay in a very special hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic room with incredible views.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Location: Great restaurants and shopping all within easy walking distance and the beach is literally across the street!
I'd booked a premium room but when we checked in we were informed that, due to the fact it was off-season, we'd been upgraded to a suite. The room was spectacular and the view incredible. There was plenty of room for both my husband and me and our suitcases; not always the case in European hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right next to the beach!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Room, bathroom, art, location
Location: Right next to the beach, lots of restaurant close by
The hotel is like an art museum with different wings dedicated to different styles of art. Our room was large and colorful with a great bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Fell short of my expectations

Posted Oct 31, 2016
On the plus side, it's an elegant old hotel, with many beautiful features. Reproductions of famous art, with different periods represented. We stayed in room 411, with a lovely partial ocean view, overlooking the neighboring museum. The room was very quiet and peaceful, and we had a good nights sleep. It is within easy walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and of course, the beach. On the minus side, we were given the wrong internet password, and the electricity was out in our room. The front desk kept insisting it was because we needed to put the key into a slot in the room to activate the electricity, as is a common feature in French hotels, but that wasn't the case. There was a tripped circuit breaker to the room, which the bellman who brought up our luggage acknowledged was the problem, and it was finally fixed. You might imagine they would know at the front desk that the electricity didn't need the key to work in our particular room, but you would be wrong. When we turned down the bed, we were surprised to find out their was no top sheet on it. In summation, the hotel was a combination of the beautiful and luxurious and the unexpected lack of attention to details that most budget hotels manage to get right. While I certainly wouldn't stay there again, it was pleasant enough to be a fond, if somewhat bemusing, memory