Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

A quiet personal paradise

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Everything, especially the happy hour in the heat of the day, and the quiet evenings with the pool to ourselves. Wonderful, personalized service!
Cons: Nothing, It's perfect!
Location: Tamarindo is the local tourist haunt, offering everything under the sun. Playa Grande is a peaceful and welcoming local community. It's all here!
A little bit off the beaten path to this safe, friendly and rather lavish sanctuary. This small hotel was exactly what my wife and I were looking for when we booked our delayed honeymoon here this February. Depending on what a person is looking for this is the perfect getaway, easy access to the larger town of Tamarindo via panga boat taxi service, and easy access to the small town of Playa Grande for more of a locals experience. The restaurant was wonderful, the menu offered a great variety of cuisine from fresh seafood and steaks, to a weekly Mexican food buffet, food and drink here is quite affordable, a lovely full breakfast was complimentary with the room rental. The hotel staff maintained everything well, the pool is cleaned daily, house keeping was very respectful of privacy and even laundered our clothes without charge. My wife and I will most certainly be coming back ASAP.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Oro Valley. AZ USA

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
This charming boutique hotel in Playa Grande is well worth the drive. The rooms are set up hacienda style around a central courtyard with a pool. There is also an open air dining room and fully stocked bar, which seems to be the place to go for happy hour. All of the staff we interacted with are well spoken and friendly. Everyone is happy to assist you with tours, information and directions. I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego CA

serene

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Fantastic, will be back. Tranquil, serene, staff goes beyond service and friendly
3 out of 5
by Pierre-Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stephane

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
If you like being woken at 6.30am by the music of the restaurant ... this is the place for you !!!
4 out of 5
by Brent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

I felt like home. I was very relax

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I could take a boat to go Tamarindo beach, just in front of the hotel. At night was totally quiet. I will go back!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh. Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
We were disappointed with our stay at Bula Bula. It's hard to get to, and not much there when you get there. Our room was on the small side. The air conditioner was unable to keep up with the heat, the toilet ran, and there was inadequate water pressure in the shower. The plumbing fixtures in the shower were mis-matched (they had different handles), and the bathroom was small. My pillow smelled, and the bed was very uncomfortable. On the other hand, the hotel service was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff, and we enjoyed hanging around the pool. The complimentary breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
by Thomas from Winter Garden, FL

My stay at Bula Bula.

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Bula Bula is a bit out of the way in Playa Grande--about 20 kilometers from downtown Tamarindo by road, but about 3 kilometers by boat that runs between Playa Grande and Tamarindo from 9:00a.m.-4:00pm. I stayed four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is in a high end neighborhood with easy access to a great beach. The staff is efficient, friendly, and very professional. I also met the owners, Todd and Wally, and immediately understood why their staff was so great. They are "hands on" managers who ensure that customer concerns are handled in a timely manner. I will definitely stay there again when I need accommodations in the Tamarindo area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Hidden paradise

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Peace and quiet! The owners and staff, proximity to very beautiful quiet beach
Cons: nothing!
This place is truly a hidden paradise! Tamarindo is kind of busy and touristy, and we wanted someplace a little quieter. well, this is it! First the Owners, Manager and staff cannot be more friendly and attentive, it was like staying with friends. You drive up a few dirt roads, always makes me nervous to see whats to come, then you walk into this place, and it is beautiful. The pool is in the center, with beautiful gardens, the rooms are very nice! Makes me think of Mexical Blues with the decor, very clean, AC, Wi Fi, bed is so comfortable! But you really do not want to stay in the room. Right in front of your door is a wrap around porch for all the rooms with rocking chairs, then the pool is right in front of you. Attached on the other side is the bar and dining room, with one area with a fire pit. Theres a resident parrot who is very fun to watch, especially when she gets her standard breakfast of scrambled eggs every morning. Drinks are amazing but the food is absolutely delicious! the Chefs are amazing!! Just down the street, easy 10 minute walk is the beach, Playa Grande-Beautiful, quiet, peaceful. The Hotel is also on an estuary so we took a small boat (3$ a person) up to Tamarindo for lunch, saw crocodiles on the estuary. It was fun to sit around the bar with the owners and staff, and hang out and talk. I wish my stay here was longer!