Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
17% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Pretty awful.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Very shabby, no linen, a/c made heaps of noise but didn't do a thing, staff pretty unhelpful, ended up trying to sleep on the floor as the bed was just too hot. Shower/bathroom was quite good but no amount of cold showers can fight against the Cairns heat.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD Australia

Really bad hotel but has a good location.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The location. That basically it. Everything was near by.
Cons: Mostly everything. Bathroom, have an actual room service, the smell and mostly everything else.
Location: The location for this hotel was great. There were shops and activities less than 1km away.
The hotel is really smelly. We had to buy some air freshener to stop the smell. The bed were not cleaned. Mould everywhere in the bathroom. The microwave stopped working. The air-condition were old. The floor were filled with dust. Do not go here if you are staying here for more than 2 nights. The internet was terrible. I would usually get around 0.50mbps for download and 0.02mbps for upload. As we slept in the in the night it was so smelly. In our room our fan didn't work because the switch was broken. The room has a small TV. Our room was next to the main door so every night as someone come through the door it would make a huge bang and it would wake up me and my family. They don't give you actual blankets. They give you a thin piece sheet of bed sheet. This is why it is the cheapest backpack place in town. We spent most of our time on the tours so we didn't mind to pay for the price of this bad condition of the room. If you are on the tight budget for your holiday and you love shopping I recommend this place but you should watch out the receptionist open-close hour for your convenient checkin-checkout or questions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prague

Good location

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Wotif
When i saw the first room i should stay in, it was really terrible...horrible smell, not cleaned at all, for sure the worst i have seen in my life. so i asked for another room and that was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Disappointing

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Can't think of anything
Cons: Cleanliness, have it fitted out with sufficient crockery and cutlery, microwave dishes, broom and dustpan, detergent and teatowels.
Location: Handy to Central Cairns
It was disappointing when we pulled up out front and it was also disappointing when we walked in. Had backpackers manning the front desk and weren't very professional- sitting on stool in short shorts and feet on desk!!Very basic not even enough cutlery for two! Rooms not cleaned for the 5 days we were there, had to ask where we have to take the rubbish! Air-con, when we turned it on sparks flew so didn't have it on all the time we were there. Fridge had not been cleaned, everything in kitchen mismatched and didn't feel clean., no tea towels. The only thing going for it was that it was handy to central Cairns and made getting to places easy. Everyone of the cabins we stayed in on the tablelands were 100% better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by PAULINE from Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Noisy water in shower
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Unpretentious; Value: Reasonable; Service: Sufficient; Cleanliness: Clean; upmarket backpacker
5 out of 5
by Peng from China

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: No lift there because we lived at second floor
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Above average; Value: Great deal; Service: Good; Cleanliness: Clean, Neat; It is convinent to go for jetty.
4 out of 5
by Ian from Goldcoast

Happy Campers

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
The Room was dated but clean and tidy. Definitely value for money unlike so many other overpriced places. We would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Debra from Australia - QLD - Regional QLD

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Leaving in the morning
Cons: Rude staff, backpacker standard accommodation with a high price tag. If I wanted backpacker accom could have spent $25 not $100
Location: 3 flights of stairs
Value: Rip-off, Backpacker standard; Rude staff telling me to hurry up because the office closed in 5 mins. I was going to book a airport transfer but chose not to due to rudeness.
4 out of 5
by Warwick from Australia - SA - Regional SA

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: No hot water for 3 days out of 7
Location: Close to everything
Facilities: Tired; Value: Fair price; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Spick and span; Staff very friendly and helpful