Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old dirty loud. Avoid

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Rooms are dirty. Hotel is loud. Very old and dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

EWA hotel is very close to beach

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: price is very reasonable. clean, comfortable. easy access to everything.
Cons: showerroom needs a mat.
Location: beach, bars/food, stores are all within walking distance as in Honolulu parking is pricey!
EWA hotel is very good, location is convenient, easy access to beach and restaurants and shopping stores. The staff (Michelle and all otehrs!) there very friendly, and very helpful! and I also got an upgrade when check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Imperial Beach, CA

GREAT STAFF, SO-SO HOTEL

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The staff. If the staff was less than excellent, I would never stay at this place. But they are kind and helpful. They are tops.
Cons: The hotel overall needs a good make-over. The rooms are "blah." And a fresh coat of paint isn't going to cut it. Major money needs to be invested.
Location: Beach is close as is zoo & aquarium and shops along the beach. It's location & price brings us back and we know we don't spend much time in the room.
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. And it is basically the same experience. It is conveniently close to the beach and the zoo (the reason we stayed again) and it reasonably priced. The staff is excellent, but the room could use some major renovation. And our room had no screen on the window. Open your window and you could jump out. But with AC running most of the time, no issue. It is just one of the many details that make you feel you are in an inferior establishment. The carpets, drapes all need replacing. Well, it all does. (except the staff). But our perspective was that we were not spending any time in the room except to sleep, so it was not a major issue. However, if your room is important to you for a place to stay, other than sleeping, this is not your hotel. Having said all this, we probably will stay at this hotel again, but would be pleasantly surprised to see it upgraded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel & close to beach

Posted Jan 19, 2017
The hotel was good. It's not the Hilton but it was good & fit my budget. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The hotel was very close to the beach. I would stay there again the next time I'm in Oahu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Hotel sort of expensive but is near ocean. Staff helpful and close to transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bahrain

only thing is internet connection Not so good.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
good value..............................nice lovely area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Ok for a short stay in Waikiki

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The hotel was an ok place to stay the night in waikiki. There was dirty silverware in the kitchenette. Dust and hair on the bathroom doors. Don't count on the wifi working well or consistentaly. There were signs of "deferred maintenance" throughout. It was an ok place to crash the nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympua WA

Location is only selling point of this hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Only stay here if you want to be close to everything at Waikiki. Not recommended if you want a room with a view or newer accommodations . Hotel is 8 stories high surrounded by 30 story high Hotels. Hotel is in major need of upgrading. Rooms appear to have been maintained or repaired on the cheap. Staff including maid service are friendly and try to accommodate everyone. Hotel charges $13 per day as a hotel service fee for internet Etc. Internet in room did not work so they waived the $13 daily fee. However internet was the only luxury I wanted. Lack of Internet hindered planning,scheduling activities, and posting pics. It became a major inconvenience . The location is prime for all activities at Waikiki and I did not miss the amenities since I spent most of my time out of the hotel room. Would only recommend this hotel to people like me who only use room for shower and sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to the places I needed to go to.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great studio setup. Make your own meals. Hotel parking great for my large truck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
it is a old hotel but very good location and good price.