Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from welwyn garden city

Great location

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great location for Rutland Water, clean, comfortable, very tasty breakfast and fabulous views. Will return when next in the area😊
5 out of 5
by sheila

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
The facilities, cleanliness, staff, food and service at Barnsdale Lodge were second to none, we couldn't fault one thing. We had two dogs with us who were catered for with as much care and attention as we ourselves were. There was a dog bed each, food and water bowls in the room and when outside in the courtyard area they were treated to a bowl of doggie treats to munch on whilst we enjoyed an alfresco lunch in the idyllic and peaceful surroundings. Pure bliss, so relaxing. We would certainly recommend Barnsdale Lodge and plan on returning soon, as this is the perfect setting and venue for a large family celebration/gathering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, interesting building.
Location: Bird watching at Rutland Water, stately home at Burleigh, plant nursery at Thistleton, tons at Oakham and Stamford, something for everyone.
Good food, comfortable atmosphere. Etc, etc, etc...............
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding guest weekend

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed a great over night stay where the staff was very attentive, the room was spotless and on the whole had a faultless stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

POOR NIGHT'S SLEEP

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Friendly and professional staff. Pleasant ambience.
Cons: Booking procedures. Warning guests of large functions. Less seasoning in food. Make food better value.
Location: Open air Shakespeare at Tolethorpe during Summer months. Excellent value buffet dinner available at the venue.
My wife and I stayed two nights. We had booked through ebookers in January. My comments are mainly about the accommodation. We did eat in the restaurant on our second night; the food was of good quality but my wife found the food over seasoned and the desserts weren’t particularly special. Given the high prices charged we didn’t consider this good value. However the breakfasts were very good. The room (No 6) was satisfactory although while the double aspect gave good light during the day, the electric lighting was inadequate at night. The room service was very good. The second night there was a wedding reception which we had not been warned about prior to our stay. Our room was above the bar. We were woken by loud voices in the bar at 1230 and did not get to sleep until at least 0230 after people left the bar and noisily retired to their rooms, some of which were in our corridor. Early in this two hours I attempted twice to call the Night Manager on the number provided. Both times I got a voicemail message; the first time I left a message. The next morning I discussed these problems with the Duty Manager (Annette). At this point I was informed that although I had booked a superior room, I had been given a standard double. I received apologies and financial compensation. Annette dealt with the problems in a sympathetic and professional manner. I also had a call from the Reservations Manager the following week who dealt with the issues well. Notwithstanding the satisfacto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely experience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Staff were brilliant throughout our stay, lovely room and great food. Will definitely go again.
4 out of 5
by DAVID

OK but over priced

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 1 night, bed was lovely but walls and ceiling have a lot of marks, food was ok but breakfast over priced, had to ask for glass, juice, no pastries and basic cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Class Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and decor
Cons: Top bedrooms too hot in Summer heat.Fan provided but too noisy at nighttime
Location: Lots to do nearby.Rutland Water Oakham, Barnsdale gardens lovely bakery in same road as hotel, NT properties Stamford Uppingham etc. A brilliant area
Very friendly hotel.Great gardens and courtyard. Food excellent.Breakfasr kipper superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Good Hotel near the A1

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We have stayed at Barnsdale Lodge Hotel several times as it's convenient for driving to Melton and Oakham. Reception staff are very friendly. Some rooms are modern and some old-fashioned, but all have good Power Showers in the ensuite. Breakfast and Dinner are always very good.
4 out of 5
by Marie

Very comfortable overnight stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed over night to break a long journey. Lovely Hôtel, traditionally furnished bedrooms, very clean. Friendly staff. Scrumptious dinner. What's not to like?