Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Janice from Stubbington, Hampshire

Short break lake ohrid

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the Grebnos Stonehouse is good. It is not your typical hotel. You have a room with private bathroom and use of the owners kitchen. The room was nice and clean with a quirky bathroom built of stone. The balcony has nice views across lake Ohrid and has table/chairs/ loungers and parasol. Grebnos is located on a hill, the shopping and restaurants are a short walk down a steep stone lined path. This would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Lake Ohrid is very nice. There are lots of very reasonably priced restaurants who serve good food. I would recommend lake Ohrid for a short break and the Grebnos accommodation for those looking for a clean and reasonably priced place to stay. The owners are very helpful and can arrange taxi transfer from the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Joanna from Wolverhampton, UK

Grebnos - breathtaking views!!!

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in Grebnos for 4 nights, and we had a really lovely time. The view from our room was stunning. It was amazing to wake up in the morning to the view of the lake and the mountains. Pavel, the owner, did everything to make us feel welcomed, he offered us refreshing drinks upon our arrival, the other night he gave us a bottle of a local wine, and because it was orthodox easter season we were treated with coloured eggs. Thank you for everything Pavel!
5 out of 5
by Ying Hsuan from Taiwan

A very cozy cave with modern amenities!

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at Grebnos was a wonderful experience. Pavel was an awesome host who really made us feel very welcome. Staying in a stonehouse was a lot of fun, like sleeping in a very cozy cave with modern amenities. If we ever go back to Ohrid we would stay there again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Cozy place overlooking Ohrid Lake and Old Town

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: The kitchen, the staff, the view, the location.
Cons: The bathroom "aroma".
Location: It's right in the old town part of Ohrid, so... all of those things.
My girlfriend and I had a nice and pleasant stay at Grebnos. The manager was very helpful in getting us to the location as well as parking the car and carrying the luggage. The room was spacious enough, the bed was quite comfortable, and the balcony was truly a serene place to relax. The only con of our room was the smell coming from the drains in the bathroom. I hear it's a common problem in Macedonia of methane smell coming up through the pipes and the Grebnos Stonehouse Apartments is not immune from this. The smell was actually quite strong and we had to keep the doors to the bathroom and hall shut at all times. I understand that this issue might only be fixed as part of a large-scale neighborhood-wide sewer upgrade, but some interim measures such as having air fresheners could be helpful. Otherwise it would be 5 stars in every category considering location and price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expectations mis-set

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Please note - this is not a hotel, it is closer to a BNB and you interact directly with the owner of the property. I didn't understand this and it made the initial interaction a bit bumpy. The owner, like most others I ran into - is extremely friendly. Ohrid is beautiful and lovely. I loved the location of the property and the view was fantastic. The town was loud - bring earplugs if you need more quiet to sleep (I live in a big city on a large road - but the music coming from the restaurants and bars was disruptive so late) Sound travels a lot in this small city, and you likely just pay for it by the fantastic location. When we arrived, our host brought us a bottle of wine (delicious Macedonian wine - I ended up buying bottles to last us the rest of the trip immediately), sat and chatted with us a bit and shared a glass with us. This was unexpected because I expected a hotel, but it was mostly pleasant. The thing that, for me, was a huge issue was he sat down and lit a cigarette. I hate smoking and the smell and everything about it, so this was very difficult for me. The owners have a dog, which barks when you come in if it is surprised. Between their dog and the neighbors dog, and again, the sound traveling, if people come in late, this is disruptive to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing views and nothing too much trouble.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The location and the friendliness.
Cons: Less of a hill to walk up from the town !
Location: Great restaurants, a stunning lake beach. Go and discover!
From the moment we booked we were contacted by the owner who offered to arrange our taxi transfer from the airport. Everything went smoothly. We were greeted as old friends and a bottle of local wine. The room although basic was very clean and the views were amazing. There was hot water, a fridge and a kettle. What more do you need?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels