Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable chalet

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: A few wine glasses !
Location: Interesting flora and walks/drives nearby.
Comfortable chalet , right by the lake. Convenient for walks and drives and a restaurant and shop on site.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't beat the view but...

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: The rooms need a total remodel
Location: Lots to do nearby
The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean but otherwise the room was extremely outdated and the carpet is original so kind of gross. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms look out on the lake so that was nice. The restaurant across the street was good once you could get help. They were understaffed and it took 2-1/2 hours to get our dinner and one glass of wine. No acknowledgement or apology given but there were nice when you actually got to talk to them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PUYALLUP WA

My 60th birthday weekend !!

Posted May 15, 2017
The room was comfy and extremely clean. TV could be bigger and on wall directly in front of bed, to avoid a crick in the neck. The closets could also use some type of light. The Salmon House across the street had a fantastic Chicken Cordon Bleu. The view from our room #206 was great. The price of room was very reasonable. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Beautiful large rooms with the lake view

Posted May 9, 2017
The view of the lake outside our room is almost as beautiful as the drive into the lodge. The rooms were very clean and had everything we wanted. We will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Great view, not for light sleepers

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The view was phenomenal.
Cons: Updating the space to feel more like a cabin vs. a 70's motel.
Location: Awesome access to the lake, and within walking distance of a network of short trails.
The lake and surrounding trails were amazing. The building and amenities were outdated. Crunchy gross carpet, loud doors, stairway use echoed throughout the support beams as people arrived late into the night. New couch and bed were nice. Besides that it was like you walked back into the 70's. Not what I expect from a room at a "resort" titled facility. The restaurant's atmosphere was a bit stuffy. I wasn't a fan of the server lying to me about my food ticket being lost behind a big order when the two couples that arrived after me got their meals before I did, but understand why she would. Food at the restaurant was a bit pricey, but delicious. As a younger female doing a solo trip, I felt out of place next to the older generation of couples that were sitting together in the dining area. Will aim for the bar next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice lakeside resort

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The location...absolutely.
Cons: The room was small. The shower turned ice-cold when our neighbors turned theirs on.
Location: Hiking trails. Summer lake activities. Olympic National Park
The RFV is on the shores of Lake Quinault. It's one of those old-fashioned summer resort places with small cabins, trailer/RV spaces, a general store, etc. that you probably went to as a kid. The spot is beautiful...right on the lake. Lots of hiking trails close by. There was evidence of sailboating available. We were there in mid-April and it was very rainy so none of the summer activities were available. Some parts of the resort were closed for the season (communal showers for trailer/RV spots). The check-in was at the general store...quick enough. Our room was in a building about 50 yards from the store. Every room in the building was a "view room" with a fabulous view of the lake. The room was small...my only complaint. Everything else was very nice. The grounds were immaculate and the restaurant was pretty good and not as expensive as I thought it would be. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at RFV and would come back...maybe when the weather was nicer. However, I can imagine that it would be pretty booked up during the summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from seattle

great location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Location: nature trail was breathtaking
Location was beautiful, right next to the lake General store was very fair priced, my kids loved the selection - both healthy snacks and treats Room only had 4 tv stations wifi was ok, but no call service - we expected this, but weren't told before we came staff was so friendly and kind free coffee, tea and ice in the general store in the morning felt safe parking was not a problem shower was hot outdated beds and blankets really easy to walk around the grounds next to the lake
5 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to fishing the Quinault

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Hotel staff was great for meeting our needs and provided a late check in!
3 out of 5
by tina

Beautiful lake

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Travel dates 1/6/2017. Shop closes at 9pm so if you are going to arrive late, call ahead for directions of check in. Remember to ask for wifi code Bc no one will answer the telephone number. It is quiet dark. Rooms are older but it's a lake cabin so it fits the environment. Keep heater on throughout the night Bc it is really cold middle of night. The room doesn't insulate well.