Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by David

Pleasant stay!

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Lots of walking dining and shopping along the river
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for a stopover

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
by Barry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not worth the price

Posted Nov 13, 2015
The hotel is situated on the other side of town from the historical area. You can feel the hard slats through the mattress in the bed. The street noise is very loud and the room smelled of lingering cigarette smoke. To get to odd numbered floors you have to take the elevator to an even numbered floor, walk down the hall, then walk down a flight of stairs. Overall I'd recommend going elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay in Norway

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable stay at the Scandic City hotel, it was well placed within easy reach of the riverfront resturants and the staff were extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was perfect and would set you up for the whole day if you took complete advantage of the all you can eat! Would stay here again if going back to Fredrikstad and would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colchester, Essex England

Old fashioned city centre hotel

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: ready for a refurbish
Location: think of something and it is nearby, including Old Town and the mighty River Glomer
A little jaded but grand old style hotel providing first class services to guests. Marvellous buffet breakfast cater for all Europeans so include cold meats, great range of bread/croissants and hot full English Breakfast. Why go elsewhere
3 out of 5
by PeterW from Bowral, AU

Good breakfast.

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels
Initial impressions were not favourable as the entire frontage of the hotel is a construction zone with footpaths torn up for laying of services etc. Apparently it has been like this for 2 months with another month to go before works are finished. As the hotel car park was inaccessible we were directed to a multi-storey car park a block away the fee for which was quite high. We decided to return our rental car early to save the expense of car parking. Breakfast was quite bountiful and one of the better quality breakfasts we encountered in our 6 days in Norway and Sweden. Front desk service varied from perfunctory on check in to very friendly and helpful on checkout.
4 out of 5
by Mikael from Gothenburg

Fredrikstad

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a nice area in a beatuful surrounding. Service good with very serviceminded personel. Just stayed for a very short stay and had to leave early .... even before breakfast but I am confident that the breakfast should have been good.
3 out of 5
by Per from London

Room a bit small, staff nice, beds very narrow

Posted Dec 26, 2013
Stayed in a double room, which was dominated by the beds. To get to the windows and radiator you had to navigate around the beds, which made the room seem a bit cramped. Rest of room absolutely fine. No minibar but snack items for purchase in reception. Bathroom OK, minimalist, products in dispensers, shower cabinet a bit small. Flat screen TV. Beds very narrow (70cm), and a bit too soft for my liking. Interiors tacky (mirrors in the ceiling in reception....). My room seem to have been refurbished some time in the early 90s. Staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with! Location good, right by the small mall and high street. Overall, somewhat dated but rooms not bad and very clean. If you can get a good rate, it's not a bad alternative but I would rather stay in one of the newer hotels in town.