Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and lovely place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Shame about the plastic bed liners and hard bed, crappy pillows. Plus super cold pool. Location and staff were fabulous and it was a good, cold breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A very good hotel.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Really, this is covered in my comments above. I should mention the the breakfast was very good also!
Cons: I can think of nothing, we had such an enjoyable visit. It is an oasis of quiet and cool.
Location: Wineries, cafes and river trips.
This is a very good small hotel. It's design is very crisp and modern and everything is easily accessible. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool is on a terrace with an amazing view of the river and the valley. The hotel itself is sited on the hill above the town but the taxi is less than €4. In fact we - including over 60s- walked up and down through a set of steps which wind down to the town. The hotel staff told us where to find the steps. In summary, I recommend this hotel without reservation and would return if I were to visit Pinhao again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly service, great view but isolated

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is on the hill in Pinhao, giving it a spectacular view over the Douro River and valley. However, it's not right in the town centre so you'll have to drive down or walk down to the shops and restaurants. There aren't any shops in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. We were there in winter (Dec) so it was low season and the restaurant was only open for breakfast. There was no one at the breakfast room so we couldn't order eggs, or ask for more coffee that had run out.
3 out of 5
by Malcolm

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somewhere

What a delight

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Sits on a hilltop that overlooks gorgeous vineyards, wine tasting, river cruise and steam train ride are all 5 minutes away .
This beautiful 11 room hotel is tucked into a hillside overlooking Pinhao and the Duoro valley. The rooms were a bit small but well appointed, baths were very nice and the private deck with beautiful vistas was another plus. The hotel is only four years old and built with local woods and stone, it has a beautiful lobby and incredible,swimming pool. The staff is delightful, hard working and knowledgeable. The breakfast was continental and beautifully presented. This was a true gem!
3 out of 5
by Robert from Berks.

Not a good experience.

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hotelm situated overlooking the Douro river.Steep hill down to Pinhao which is 10 minutes down and 20 minutes back. Definitely 3 star, limited staff and poor quality restaurant. Swimming pool green with algae and very poor spa facility. In rooms with shower the shower and toilet are only screened from the bedroom with a clear glass panel so little or no privacy. Very overpriced.
5 out of 5
by erica from Beds

Superb views from restaurant.

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
You can walk up to the hotel from the station but it is quite a climb, quick ten minutes down though. Restaurants and bars in town are great value. Food in hotel was of a very high quality and plenty of it but more expensive than local although compared well to English prices. Balcony was large but would recommned a river view as we had a room at the back which faced a very high stone wall (not very attractive). Welcoming bottle of port was lovely. Staff helpful and sorted early breakfast so we could catch 8.17 train back to Porto.
5 out of 5
by Peter from England

Perfect location

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Very helpful staff, it really should be 4 star if not 5. Everything is perfect, would defiantly go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from surbiton, UK

Fine small hotel on hill above Pinhao

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Modern small hotel with excellent views over valley & river. If you arrive by train' expect to get a taxi up hill (5 Euros), but otherwise a doable steep 20 minute walk into town for restaurants & river boat trips. Good continental breakfast. First class swimming g pool with lovely views.
4 out of 5
by Steve C from Kent , UK

Lovely hotel - few snagging problems.

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
The Hotel is lovely, ideal spot overlooking the vineyards. Breakfast was ample and tasty. The air conditioning in the room we had did not work so it was pretty hot and the toilet in the second room was leaking. If you like Port this is the place to stay but they don't serve wine in the hotel, which i thought was a little odd. Be careful with the car park as the ramp is severe and our hire car grounded both in and out. All this said it's a beautiful hotel.