Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The room needs to have some updates. The room was dusty and windows had mold.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Not the "best valu"

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Very run down. Torn,mouldy AstroTurf on the 2nd floor. Tub and tub surround were very old and in need of replacing. Tub faucet would not completely shut off. Towels were very thin and really dingy. Price was too high for the condition of the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newfoundland

Terrible start to our vacation.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Outdated and very few tv channels. Rooms were dirty and the air conditioning was very loud.
2 out of 5
by Odette from SAULT STE MARIE, ON

Musty Cape Breton experience.

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Reception area was across the street in a different hotel, room we stayed was musty and had a damp bed and had put a towel on mattress to sleep. Breakfast was at a different hotel across the street. Opened window to air it out and had 4Ft. Weeds outside. Would not recommend or visit again.
4 out of 5
by Denise from Mississauga, ON

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here at the end of a very long drive along the Cabot Trail. It was perfect! The room was clean, beds were comfortable. There was no continental breakfast but they had a restaurant across the street that served phenomenal food. We ate there for both dinner and breakfast...note breakfast, we VERY HIGHLY recommend the pancakes! We'd go back and stay there again.
3 out of 5
by sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dingy looking room. Bed was comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: ?
Cons: Better lighting
Location: Location war close by the hwy we needed to go to Sydney
wasn't the greatest meal at their restaurant. better choices further down the road. Had to go across the street to check in. Maintenance had to fix TV
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel address is not clear. It is owned by the owner of another motel beside it and front desk is located at that motel, but was not mentioned in the reservation confirmation. Therefore, we have trouble to find it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chambly, Qc

Not what we were expecting.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was accommodating, no argumentation, friendly.
Cons: Well, it depends of each expectations. For some people they may like it.
Location: Not much to do. It is a stop over at much.
I was expecting an hotel. It was more of a motel. Getting in the room and it smelled of mold and humidity. The TV was not working. Holes in the screen windows. 1970 furniture. Pictures don't tell everything! Found an hotel nearby at the same price but without We did not stay. Staff was very accommodating and cancelled our reservation with no charges.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Elmsdale, NS

Just fine.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a little cheaper than the HearthStone across the street, and it shows. Owned and operated by the same folks, this place has similar renovations to the HearthStone, but the finish work looks rushed. Also, there is no front office - front desk services are provided from the HearthStone. The pool is just a backyard pool that has had a building built over it, but it was clean and clear.