Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pamplona


Posted Jul 23, 2016
Que puedo decir ala llegada nos cambiaron al Luxury .Fue una pasada 12 noches inolvidables el personal muy amable en especial Luis de animación un crac .Jorge y Andresito en el bar de la piscina.Todo Excelente.....volveremos.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Beautiful resort on the beach.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Excellent resort with nice staff, nice beach, excellent pool, night dancing and entertainment. Room was comfortable with nice balcony and the all inclusive food was OK. Would have liked paid room service option. I don't really like buffets. I also do not like to have to go in the morning to make dinner reservations at a desk in an office and go through the politics of availability while I'm relaxing on vacation. I would rather have a paid option at a nice restaurant that I can simply walk in. They need to serve better wine. I bought my own outside of the resort. Overall this resort is a really nice vacation spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Santa Guzman -Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear Nyurican, Thank you for telling us your experience, it was a pleasure having you in our hotel, we appreciate your comments that make us feel really proud of our Caribbean Island. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay. Come back soon!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

LUxury part of this hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Luxury part quiet lots of places to sit at beach and pool
Cons: More gym equipment
Location: FAr away from town and local bus
STayed in the luxury grab Bahia adults only. Room very nice clean the main draw back of this hotel is it is close to a river so the water is not the beautiful Caribbean blue you see in ads. GYm lacks equipment two treadmills and two bikes. Not enough for such a large hotl
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Santa Guzman -Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear Lynda, Thank you for your beautiful comments about our hotel, we are really happy you had enjoyed our services. Moreover, we are regret that you couldn't enjoy our ocean, so we will consider your opinion about and anyway, we hope to receive you again in our hotel with all our joy and to fulfill all your expectations. Thank you very much. Our best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelpia

the beach and the ocean was beautiful.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
I ordered two rooms for four people. One room was OK, but the other... from the first day A/C did not work. They fix it almost all day long. The day before we leave the A/C was broke again. We report at 2pm and they promised to fix. At 11pm they says that they could not fix it and offer another room. Who wants to move to another room for one night only? Maybe it is my luck. And another problem. A lot of mosquitoes at public places(like theater, bathrooms) But, the rest was good. The beach was very good. The pool is good also. The food was good. The a la carte restaurants I did not like. That was I expected for the $1,100 for the 10 days. In overall the vacation was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2016 by Santa Guzmán-Grand Bahia principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Receive a warm greeting from the entire team at Grand Bahia Principe La Romana. We hope you had a pleasant stay with us and we also want to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay,, have taken note of all the points you mentioned, we will get to the heads of each department and thus prevent this from happening again. On behalf of the general manager and the whole team once again we offer our sincere apologies. We hope to have you back in the near future. Our best wishes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Never again

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Food, wifi, AC control, lobby temp very very hot. show accurate pics of beach. Zero color beach. No clarity
Location: Las romana
Food poisoning for the entire family. AC in room with no thermostat, freezing or very hot are your choices and when door or window opens AC turns off. No screens in windows and mosquitoes are everywhere. Only WIFI is in lobby limited to 60 minutes daily with no AC. Fans in lobby on low so it feels like you are cooking. All you see in lobby are couples sweating. Room was not ready at 3pm as promised and after an hour sweating in lobby they asked me what I was waiting for. The "Entertainment" often consisted of karaoke with fellow guests singing for you. The beach is completely man made with zero visibility, color or clarity and resembles the shore of a muddy lake. Coppertone sunscreen for sale in lobby giftshop for $36.00 U.S. dollars! 10 days, never again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Santa Guzman -Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for your discomfort regarding the issues you mentioned. We are sincerely very concerned to learn that we did not reach your expectations in that sense, for that reason we would like also to inform you that we have sent already your comments to the departments involved. Please note that we really appreciate your feedback. We have very clear that our guests are the most important, as well as their comments. On behalf of our General Manager and all our staff Members, thank you so much for your time to send to us your opinion and we hope to host you once again host you in the near future. Our best Wishes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nother even if they gave me a free stay.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
EXPEDIA GAVE FALSE INFORMATION AND WASTED OUR MONEY BECAUSE OF IT. This was our HONEYMOON and it was RUINED by the resort. We chose the resort based on Expedia’s review and information. We will never rely on Expedia again! My husband and I recently got married. We have lived together for years so we didn’t register anywhere. We simply asked for the family to donate to a honeymoon fund. We used all bridal shower and wedding money to go to an “All-Inclusive Resort” (Grand Bahia Principe) in La Romana, Dominican Republic. This was a total waste of our time and money. We spent everything we had to go, and we both regret it. Now, we have to scrimp and save to go on a do-over honeymoon because this one was so bad. When we first arrived to the airport in Punta Cana, the Blu Group/ Expedia representatives were hard to find because of the small (and blocked) sign. They showed us where to stand to get picked up by the shuttle, which would take us to the resort. We were told that the resort was only 30-45 minutes away, but it was 1 ½ hours away! They call this misrepresentation “Dominican Time”. We get into our shuttle, which is an unmarked white vehicle. It took us about an hour down the road, got off on an exit ramp and parked under the overpass. The driver didn’t speak English. We had to get into a different white unmarked vehicle, which took us the rest of the way. This was scary. We made it to the resort and it was beautiful. We later found that it was nothing but a mirage. W
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by Santa Guzman Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for choosing Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to celebrate this special occasion. We are confidence we could reach your expectations with our performance during your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Yours respectfully,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel needs huge rennovation.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: The warm staff, garden and pool.
Cons: The beach, rooms and get rid of the mosquitoes please!
This hotel needs a huge renovation. If you are looking for a nice beach, run from this location. The beach is manmade, an Imitation, and the water is dirty. I was so disappointing because DR has one of most gorgeous beach I ever seen. There are tons of mosquitoes and there's no AC at the main lobby. The garden are well taken care off and the staff will do their best to accommodate you. We got to our rooms and the air conditioner was broken; within a few minutes it got fixed. We voiced our concerns about food quality and the next day food was much better. I’ll give the hotel staff 100, but there’s only so much they can do. They provide free care for kids, but the kids club is indoor and there’s no AC there or at least it was not working when I visited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Santa Guzman Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your opinions are very important. Let us inform that our hotel beach, like many other beaches in Dominican Republic, do not respond to the image of turquoise water and white sand, dark sand is very fine in its structure, its color is due to the natural effects of currents and tides that lift the sand and this constant movement makes the water dark and does not look blue turquoise. Regarding rooms, our maintenance team Grand Bahia Principe La Romana, several weeks ago, is working on a prevention and maintenance operation not only inside our villas but also in outdoor areas in order to eliminate and eradicate faults and damage to the climate and use may result in our hotel. We hope to complete this operation as soon as possible to avoid compromising the well-being and satisfaction of our customers during their vacation. We also highly appreciate your recommendations about insects,which will be inmediatly addressed to our pest control company to work harder on it. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. Yours faithfully,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach, family-oriented.

Posted May 3, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Big pool. Nice beach. Clean rooms. Nice decoration. Good food and drinks. We didn't like two things: some staff kept asking us for some time to talk about some "time sharing" or real state thing, and lobster was served on the buffet although it was prohibited during that season in DR.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Santa Guzmán-Asistente Calidad y Customer Service , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all wish you had a great trip back home. We greatly appreciate your time to express your reviews about us. The guest’s feedback helps us to improve our service so we are very happy to know we have achieved your full satisfaction. Looking forward to host you in the near future. Best Regard,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2016
Friendly staff. Excellent service. Beautiful hotel. Love it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Santa Guzmán-Asistente Calidad y Customer Service , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments, glad to know you spent a nice time in our hotel, thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon, enjoying one more time all our best service. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great vacation...second time back

Posted May 1, 2016
Enjoyed every moment of it. Beautiful hotel including the beach and pool. Great staff especially the Animation team.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Santa Guzmán-Asistente Calidad y Customer Service , Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Lori, Thank you very much for your great comments about our hotel. We are glad you have fully enjoyed our services and that we have met all your expectations. We hope to have you back in the near future in our resort and send you an affectionate greeting from all our Staff. Our Best Wishes.