Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

On the beach

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: This is a 'no children' hotel so is very adult friendly. Restaurant superb. Right on the beach. Staff helpful.
Cons: The hotel communal areas inside are very dark (I fell up a step) and the polished floors are very slippery. The swimming pool needs cleaning.
Location: You need a car or taxi if you want to go to the town. There doesn't appear to be a lot deal to do in the immediate area, but the hotel provides well.
A good hotel right on the beach, just a short way outside the town. Staff very helpful and restaurant excellent, so good we ate there three times. Both food and wine delicious and very generous portions. The hotel is heritage which lends it character, but amenities are modern.
2 out of 5
by Alan

A great view that needs a complete overhaul!.

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was in a very tired state and could do with a complete make over. The food was awful and very expensive, for instance a risotto was £35 and the cheapest bottle of wine was at least £35 -£40. The Serena seem to think because they are the only beach hotel in Punta Del Esta they could charge what they like and get away with inferior rooms with hardly any facilities, for instance we had a suite but it was room with a shower that was as old and shabby as you would find in a two star hotel in this country. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy except to say some of the reception staff were very helpful and the location was good.
5 out of 5
by ronald

Serenity at Serena Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay, great stuff, good food and drink, ocean, pool, sauna, all the services you could want and a concierge in Gaston who fixed all our problems and concerns. Very happy.
5 out of 5
by ronald

Serenity at Serena

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Serena Hotel is really terrific and service fantastic. Gaston in particular was able to quickly and cheerfully solve whatever issue that came up including getting a doctor to come by and check me out free. It was a wonderful stay, excellent food, great beach and pool and amenities.
3 out of 5
by Veronica

Do not have breakfast at this hotel!!!!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
Was good except the breakfast that was a disaster. All the food served (bread, fruit, jam, etc) was covered by flies. Was disgusting. When I complained to the staff they said that was due to the humidity of the area and the location of the hotel. They could have covered the food to not be covered by flies but they didn't. The stuff was not at the level of the place. Uneducated people that doesn't know how to treat guests. They behave as they are doing you a favour serving you.... Too many things too improve, a shame because the hotel is really nice.
5 out of 5
by Beni

Great Hotel with direct access to the beach

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel is really nice. I believe it is the only hotel with direct access to the beach in punta del este. The service was over the top. Food at the hotel is quite expensive but its was really good. The only downside was that we found a cockroach in the room. All in all i would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria va

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach. Windows not clean. Sea is taking its toll on the structure but it does have historic charm. One of the few hotels in PDE actually on the beach. Food prices in la mar are crazy expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Nice boutique hotel right on the beach. Nice cabanas, clean rooms, cool lobby, close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Beautiful Hotel. Marvelous staff. We enjoyed dinners by the fire in the elegant dining room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Sergio Gutiérrez, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Staff are amazing. Fabulous restaurant!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Sit by the marina and enjoy fresh fish, good wine and/or a cappuccino. Good artist market downtown. Very relaxing. No night club scene, which was fine
Very serene! Loved the staff and the restaurant was great. Short bus ride to central Punta Del Este or a nice long walk. It was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by sergio@serenahoteles.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you next time. Best