Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Paula from Caracas

Excelente Opcion

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Muy bien. El hotel y su personal prestan un gran servicio. Es muy limpio e iluminado. La gente del hotel muy amable y servicial. Ofrecen traslados al aeropuerto y coordinan otros traslados a sitios de interes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY


Posted Apr 6, 2015
This hotel is an HOUR (or more depending on traffic) from the airport. There may not be any hotels near the new airport? But you'd be better off staying in the center of the city.
1 out of 5
by Suhaib from Sterling, VA

Not close to airport at all!!

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
Room was not nice, overlooked roof of nearby building. Took taxi driver forever to find. Breakfast ends too early at 9. Booked a double but got 2 single beds. Most frustrating thing is that hotel was advertised as being close to airport but in reality it was an hour away (new airport was built over two years ago but the listing not updated). Only reason I chose this hotel was because it was being advertised as being close to airport.
5 out of 5


Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ray Lewis from Cuenca, Ecuador

Lovely place

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels
Copa airlines canceled our flight from DC, causing us to miss our flight home to Cuenca, Ecudaor, So we had tospend the night in Quito. We needed a place on short notice, and would not get there until 1am! Hotels.com hooked us up with Sandmelis. They were waiting for us at 1 am. When I went down to get coffee the next morning, they insisted on bringing it to us, even though we were on the third floor in this lovely walk-up hostel. When we needed to get back to the airport with a large amount of luggage, they got us a private suv for the trip. Nice accommodations, with ample hot water and water pressure! Would go back any time.
5 out of 5


Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels
Por su gran servicio y su excelente ubicación; hace que sea bastante fácil el desplazarse a cualquier lugar de Quito y si Dios me vuelve a dar esa gran oportunidad de volver no dudaría en alojarme en el Sandmelis!!! Gracias a Marco, Natalia, Mauro, Pati, Maria y Don Manuel; hicierón que mi estadia fuera muy agradable y muy familiar!!! ;) Saludos desde Colombia!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Excelent Choice for Quito.
5 out of 5
by Tony from Australia

Clean and comfy, Service A1

Posted Feb 8, 2013
Pros: cleanliness, decor and service
Cons: Thin walls
Location: Very handy to airport
Had an overnight stay. My flight was delayed and arrived over an hour late. The driver sent by the hotel was still waiting patiently and I was greeted by Marco at midnight and shown my room. Impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. I had an early flight yet Marco, who had met me at midnight, was up and ordered a taxi for me at 5AM. Thank you Marco, helpful and patient. Only downside that some may find disconcerting is the walls don't stop much sound from the next room. I awoke with a start as I thought the low snoring was coming from the other bed in my room. Otherwise the hotel is a gem for stopovers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Moira from Cathlamet, WA

Great for early Airport Departure

Posted Nov 21, 2012
Pros: Enjoyed the small cozy room.
Cons: no elevator
Location: Near airport, lots of restaurants and it felt like a safe area
We used Sandmelis because it was close to airport in Quito. It is a modest, clean (actually liked my room a lot, nice colors, clean bathroom) but room is about it, small lobby. The owner chatted us up, he was a charming older man. His son or grandson checked us in, they arranged for a taxi at 5AM, it took less than 5 min. to airport, cost $4. There are several restaurants around hotel. It is noisy in Quito, especially w/single pane windows, but we stayed in a way ritzier place when we got to Quito, it was just as noisy. Doesn't bother me, but my husband has sleep issues! Sandmelis doesn't have an elevator, but the desk man helped us get luggage up to room. We try to travel reasonably light, just a bag each and sm. handcarry. They have a lovely breakfast room, but we left too early for that.