Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iske of Man

Characterful hotel in a quiet part of Modica

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The approach of the staff and owners. Thank you Mr Failla and team
Cons: Softer bed.
Location: In a quiet part of this baroque town with baroque streets and churches all around. All sights within walking distance.
The owners and staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly - arranging (and negotiating a price) for a taxi to take me to Ragusa for sightseeing, discussing, researching and advising on forms of transport for my onward journey, taking me to the bus stop, explaining how to get to the points of interest in Modica, providing prompt and ready service at breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice historic building beautifully restored

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the combination of a grand & well appointed hotel in a great location that was truly comfortable and surprisingly peaceful with lovely staff.
Cons: Perhaps a kettle and tea making facilities however the little attached cafe has all these things and great cakes too!
Location: Perfectly located for visiting historic sites of Modica by foot. Little advertised is the hotel's own excellent restaurant just down the side street.
Perfectly located gracious hotel with very comfortable and incredibly peaceful rooms with small balcony. Presentation could not be faulted in this hotel & the breakfast spread was beautiful to behold! The staff were tremendously helpful with all aspects of our stay in Modica & surrounds. In fact they made it especially pleasurable and attended to all our requests efficiently and hospitably. Mr Failla himself attended to our car parking arrangements delivering the car to our door from its overnight garage. We were definitely sad to leave this Hotel and its lovely staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful Sicilian Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The true feeling of being in Sicily and not just another foreign country.
Location: The hotel was a bit far from city center but the walks were pleasant.
Truly a really good start to our trip to Sicily. The room was spacious and clean. We were a bit surprised by the room being in another building but that was more an Expedia non description. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
5 out of 5
by Alessandro from Milano

Come immergersi nella splendida Modica Barocca

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Palazzo Failla è una splendida dimora barocca ristrutturata di recente. Le camere sono tutte bellissime: io ero nella suite blu, con volte alte e affrescate. Il modo migliore per immergersi nella splendida Modica. È in una posizione strategica a Modica alta, facile per raggiungere i punti di interesse. Una nota particolare per i gestori dell'hotel davvero disponibilissimi. Consigliata anche la Locanda del colonnello per cena di fronte al palazzo. Ci ritornerei sicuramente!
5 out of 5
by Roberto from Carbonia

Bellissimo hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Bellissimo hotel in stile barocco , la camera era completamente arredata in stile molto grande con il soffitto a volta decorato. Personale gentilissimo e disponibile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SEOUL

중세의 향기를 머금고 있는 호텔

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: 주차장이 완비되고 발렛 주차가능. 올드타운에서 길을 잃어도 전화하면 무료 픽업
Location: 주변에 햅버거집과 슈퍼가 가까이 있어요. 꼬마기차가 전망대에 세워줘요.(5 유로)
라구사보단 작지만 중세의 모습이 그대로 남겨져 있고 쵸코렡은 여기의 명물거리에요.호텔의 조식은 괜찮았어요.시티의 지도를 정말 상세히 설명해 줬으며 주인아저씨가 시칠리 홍보 책자도 주었어요.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Adelaide

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the Palazzo Faillia in mid January a very quiet time of the year. Our stay was very pleasant made all the better by the very helpful team at the hotel. This included being picked up at the train station on arrival and dropped at the bus station for our departure as well as being taken to the lower town in the evenings for dinner. We also appreciated their help with directions and recommendations for restaurants. The hotel breakfast was pleasant and the bar a nice place to sit for an aperitif before going out for dinner or a relaxing coffee during the day. The hotel has been delightfully renovated in keeping with the period. Big rooms with high ceilings and a modern bathroom with an excellent shower. As our room faced the street - we did get a little noise from outside as well as echoes from the spacious reception and hall area. None of this was particularly troublesome. Overall we loved our stay!
4 out of 5
by Heriniaina from Paris

Prestation solide

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Très bien situé dans la vieille ville sur les hauteurs de Modica. Notre chambre était dans des appartements à quelques encablures du Palazzo, juste au dessus du restaurant la Locanda del Colonello que nous n'avons malheureusement pas pu tester car fermé le soir de notre arrivée. Nous nous sommes toutefois rabattus sur l'excellent bar à vin Rappa Enoteca, juste en face du Palazzo. Les prestations de la (grande) chambre sont très bonnes, le buffet petit déjeuner n'offrant toutefois pas de plat chaud (oeufs,...).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with 5* level of service

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The fruit at breakfast could be riper
Location: Generally the upper area of the town with historic buildings and superb views
Unlike most people who do multiple locations we decided to make Modica our base for a 2 week holiday in Sicily so I can give a review based on a far longer stay than many others. I will break it down under various headings; Service - We have never experienced better service despite having stayed in many more expensive hotels. The staff were all friendly and efficient at all times and we made a lot of requests from going to a pharmacy to sort out remedies for a very sore throat, arranging Pilates lessons in a neighbouring town, securing reservations at restaurants through to a very efficient valet car parking service where they found free parking spaces near the hotel and then fetched the car back when you wanted. The free wi-fi is also a lot better than I have experienced elsewhere. Location - This is excellent being about two thirds of the way up the town, it is reasonably quiet and altogether delightful. You need to be aware that Modica is basically built up the side of a steep hill and there are about 400 steps to get to the bottom of the town. The hotel owner offered to pick us up to save the climb back but we preferred to do this to get some exercise. Rooms - The main rooms in the hotel look wonderful but we were in the annex which is up an alley opposite the hotel. It was very comfortable, large, beautifully decorated, quiet and came with a bathroom that is about the size of many double bedrooms in London hotels, covered in marble and equipped with double basins, WC
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Palastischer" Stadtaufenthalt

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Zimmer - wir hatten das "einfachste" Zimmer (ehemaliges Dienstpersonalzimmer unter dem Dach?) und es war (trotzdem) sehr gut
Cons: Wasserkocher auf dem Zimmer
Das Hotel bietet bei gutem italienischem Frühstück, zuvorkommendem Personal und sauberen Zimmern eine optimale Unterkunft, um die Barockstädte im Südosten Siziliens zu erkunden. Das Restaurant des Hotels ist großartig und genau gegenüber dem Hotel befindet sich eine nette Enothek für den Schlummertrunk am Abend.