Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

大きくはないが満たされるホテル

Posted Nov 17, 2016
客室数も少なく、フロントはバーと兼用という小さなホテルですが、ビーチも小さいながらきちんとあり、アクティビティも充実。 何よりも部屋からビーチにダイレクトでアクセスできる立地が最高! ゆっくりと過ごすのにいい場所です。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Staff are so friendly & helpful.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Room was comfortable, handy to rental cars & bikes. Plenty of activitys to do if you want.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant facilities but service let's it down.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: This hotel is wonderful! Only problem is that the service is lacking.
Cons: I waited for a long time, about an hour and 45mins to check in - they were fully booked but still couldn't get my room ready by their own check in time (I sat waiting as I arrived early). I don't think they change the order of room cleaning to prioritize guests that have checked out. I couldn't even read by the pool to wait because a stag party were being total ya-hoos and disturbing everyone. Staff did nothing about it. I stayed in my room once checked in and didn't use the pool until 10pm, when I was directly harassed (as was the waitress) by those idiots. Had to put one of them in their place for being disrespectful.
Location: I scootered to Muir to Vaimas on the beach for dinner. Excellent food! Saw a Whale and her calf as we were eating!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AKL

Expensive for what you get

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Good location
Not bad, but for the price this place needs a renovation. Rooms are getting a bit old & the showers could be upgraded
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

The most stunning beach and snorkeling on Rarotong

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Superb room right on the beach. Options for activities - lots of things to see and do. Lots of food options.
Cons: Check in and check out process was poor - think the booking system is a bit poor. But we got there in the end
Location: Snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding, swimming, bus stop at the resort so you can get anywhere easily and quickly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hams,NZ

Not Bad

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Cons: cleanliness, service and breakfast
We have been to Raro several times and stayed at various homes and resorts. The Sanctuary for us was better than I expected. The rooms could be cleaner, the service quicker and unfortunately its what tends to let you down when holidaying in Raro. But we knew what to expect so weren't terribly disappointed. Adults only so it was nice and quiet, lovely views from most rooms and it could be worse, you could be staying at The Rarotongan. Overall 3/5.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great location for relaxing

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Great lagoon next to resort with free use of kayaks, stand up paddle boards, snorkelling equipment and reef shoes.
Room had great views of beach and lagoon - even from the bathroom! Cocktail hour is a must and the beers are relatively cheap. Room made up daily but not the floors so sand quickly got everywhere - including in the bed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleased with our hotel choice

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Beach front
Based on the price paid we were very pleased with our hotel choice. Sanctuary is a small quiet quite private part of the Rarotongan resort. Beach and snorkelling excellent all facilities in reasonable order. Looked all around Raro and did not find any other resort that we would have preferred to be at. Service a little slow but we always received everything expected. The option of using all facilities at the Rarotongan suited us as we preferred the bar area and to eat lunch there. Hotel was fully booked and only one person complained to us about not being satisfied. Not 4.5* but based on the sub $300/night paid for a absolute beach front room we had no complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Improvement

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Sadly this resort is quite run down and needs a good refresh as its a great facility but dated. Also there are a few great staff but on the whole the staff need some serious work on customer service and speed. Our first experience of this was arriving at midnight to be told the sanctuary which we had booked and paid for was fully booked and we were to be put on the rarotongan side so as soon as we arrived we had a battle on our hands. The room refreshes were poor and often neglected to top up the shower gel etc. Our key constantly had to be reset and the room itself is ok but needs a good tidy up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Yes it was a great location, but terrible service

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The beach and the snorkelling. Nothing good about the hotel.
Cons: See answer above.
Location: Viama restaurant was fabulous and they offer a free pick up/drop off. Grandpa GARTH on the piano/keyboard was absolutely amazing. Beach dining was fab
Right on the beach, fab snorkelling, Beautiful setting. We stayed there 6 years ago and loved it. However this time round, the staff seemed disinterested in you as a guest. Breakfast was a farce...they ran out of coffee, cereal, even hot water...and it took ages to replenish ( even though several guests asked. ) at dinner in the the main area of the Rarotonga resort (attached to the "Santuary") the staff were equally uninterested. It took about 40 min for food to arrive..and drinks took forever also. Room service :( our bed wasn't made, it was just roughly pulled up.. Creased. No cleaning was done or nothing was wiped down. Towels were replenished nicely. On one of the days, our room was still not serviced at 4 pm. We will not be going back here again.