Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: staff n facilities
Cons: more good breakfast ,change atleast in 2 days.
very good pleaseant quiet easy access. Food was not so great but OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice place to stay and get relaxed

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Close to beach and all water sports gear is free to use
Cons: Lunch and dinner menu
Food was good and tasty but not many options but the dining area was a great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

lovely intimate pleasant relaxed resort

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: the pool environment and enjoyed the kayaks pool bar and tennis courts
Cons: aircon and cleaning
Location: black rock lovely waterline food magnificent
the new manager was pleasant and personable, the aircon was knackered the room not cleaned at all, no new towels on some days and surfaces not wiped down, but lovely relaxed environment and enjoyed the kayaks pool bar and tennis courts
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Cameron S, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Thank you for your review of Sanctuary Rarotonga. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the lovely relaxed environment, kayaks, pool bar and the tennis courts. I sincerely apologise that Housekeeping standard was not up to the level it should be, We have since put checklists and procedures in place to ensure a high standard. I am sorry to hear that your air-con was not functioning as it should, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment including servicing or replacing any air-con units that are not working properly. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga in the near future. Kind Regards Cameron and the Sanctuary Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad start, great finish

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Expedia didnt get our booking though so no room on first night, luckily i had booking on iphone, otherwise would have been horrible start to holiday, rest of stay excellent and staff very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by Cameron S, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Thank you for your review of Sanctuary Rarotonga. I am sorry to hear that your booking wasn't confirmed at the time of your arrival but I am pleased to hear it was sorted quickly and to your satisfaction and that the rest of your stay was excellent and our lovely staff were very helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga in the near future. Kind Regards Cameron and the Sanctuary Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Would recommend this resort

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Wotif
We had a great time at the Sanctuary. We noted some other reviews were not positive but we really liked it. Good location with better snorkeling than Muri Beach. Good facilities and friendly staff. Had a problem with the door not locking and it was fixed by security immediately. We also stayed at Muri Beach but liked the Sanctuary more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a wonderful stay.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The highlights were the friendly staff and the wonderful location. We could walk out of our room and start snorkelling on a beautiful coral reef.
Cons: We got smoke into our room from the guests downstairs and had constant noise of airconditioning from another room turning on and off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Staff are so friendly & helpful.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Room was comfortable, handy to rental cars & bikes. Plenty of activitys to do if you want.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Lastminute
We had a great time, very relaxing & good food but room cleaning a bit hit and miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Sanctuary at Rarotonga review

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Breakfast Degustation Adults only Access to equipment (snorkels, SUP, Kayaks). Location. Service.
Cons: could have had the sheets changed whilst we stayed, and replenishment of toiletries before the last day.
Location: great location, close to town centre and restaurants if you have transport. one minute walk to cafe, scooter/car hire, and dive centre.
We had a room on the first floor which gave us a lovely view of the lagoon as well as having a pitched roof which was a nice detail. Room size was good, and barely noticed other residents. Although our room did not open onto the beach, it was still great to have our own private balcony. Staff was great, and very helpful answering all the questions we had. Felt very at home and welcome that the resort and felt we could come and go as we pleased. Massive pluses were the Degustation breakfasts every morning, with Monday-Sunday provding us with new and interesting choices. lovely use of the local ingredients and often things we would have not tried if we were not staying at the hotel. Highlight was having access to equipment, never had to wait as there was plenty there. This would have been much more costly if we had to hire equipment from some of the other places every time we wanted to go in the water. Would stay here again, and would recommend to friends and family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant facilities but service let's it down.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: This hotel is wonderful! Only problem is that the service is lacking.
Cons: I waited for a long time, about an hour and 45mins to check in - they were fully booked but still couldn't get my room ready by their own check in time (I sat waiting as I arrived early). I don't think they change the order of room cleaning to prioritize guests that have checked out. I couldn't even read by the pool to wait because a stag party were being total ya-hoos and disturbing everyone. Staff did nothing about it. I stayed in my room once checked in and didn't use the pool until 10pm, when I was directly harassed (as was the waitress) by those idiots. Had to put one of them in their place for being disrespectful.
Location: I scootered to Muir to Vaimas on the beach for dinner. Excellent food! Saw a Whale and her calf as we were eating!