Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Contemplation time: no TV or wifi

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Overpriced room compared with 1* hotels we have used. Dirty walls. Central location and, for us, the only option available.
4 out of 5
by Leesbian from London

Fantastic building, but not much creature comforts

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels
Myself and my girlfriend booked this hotel whilst travelling around France on 2 motorcycles. Firstly, it's not strictly a hotel - it's more like a hostel, the rooms are functional, the beds are uncomfortable, the doors lock, the room has a functioning toilet and shower... that's about all that can be said. There's no mini bar, there's no room service, there's no restaurant or breakfast, there's no staff after 6pm... and there's no double beds (they're ALL singles). The hotel did send an email immediately after booking to make all of this perfectly clear. If you can get over that, you'll have a great time - the building itself is a fantastic 17th century chateau, and next door are the remains of the abbey. The building is in the centre of the (small) town and there is a bar where you can have breakfast about 100m from the building. There is a restaurant in the building, although we didn't use it (La Rochelle is about 50 minutes away and has amazing sea food restaurants). There is free parking all around the town, and we parked motorcycles right outside our window - the building itself doesn't have any dedicated parking (for guests). I'd recommend this hotel if you're aware of the caveats, adventurous, and would like a unique stop over whilst in France
5 out of 5
by Peter

Good value, unique location.

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels
Great value. Staff most polite and helpful, including a phone call to confirm booking and details of entry should we be late. Excellent location next to Tourist Information. Lovely busy town, interesting shops and a rather special church. A party was going on close to hotel and as it was very warm. We did have to keep windows open and the noise was a bit disturbing. But this accommodation must be the bargain of France. Great for stop-over and plenty of parking close to the abbey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple but full of character

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Full of charm and character. The rooms was as described - basic but clean. The only slightly odd feature was having a bathroom with no toilet. This meant a slightly spooky trip down a dark passageway which my children didn't like. The communication from the staff after booking was excellent.
5 out of 5
by mature couple

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
Basic but clean and extremely good value for money very atmospheric.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
pour un sejour professionnel hotel pas adapter sinon propre convenant plus pour une etape mystique
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ホテルじゃないかと

Posted Jun 22, 2016
イメージはユース、、、というお考えなら全く問題ないです。ホテルとすれば少々お高いかと思います。しかし建物、素敵です!
5 out of 5
by didier from hautes pyrénées et saint aigulin

à recommander ! nous y reviendrons !

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
accueil très satisfaisant, personnel sympathique, disponible cultivé en ce qui concerne l'historique des lieux
1 out of 5
by jean-louis from villeneuve

Rien à faire sur votre site

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
ceci n'est pas un hôtel mais une abbaye partageant ces chambres monacales pour le peu que nous avons pu voir! lors de notre arrivée malgré la confirmation, personne pour nous indiquer les codes, la chambre et cela après 10 heures de route. Dans la cour de l'abbaye il y avait un spectacle, la maire-adjointe ainsi que les organisateurs du spectacle ont tenté de nous aider bien que cela n'était pas de leur compétences. Après une heure à chercher désespérément une solution, ils ont pu trouver des clefs de chambre mais n'avons pu accepter celle-ci en la voyant. En résumé, ce lieux manque d'organisation,ne mérite en rien la qualification d’hôtel et donc à ce titre n'a rien à faire sur votre site. Je les ai tenu informé dés le lendemain que je mettrais un tel avis ils ne seront pas étonné.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pau

hotel à Saint Jean d'Angély

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: son aspect
Cons: les WC à l'extérieur de la chambre et sur le palier délabrés.
Location: nous étions que de passage. un nuit étape.
A l'Abbaye Royale, ou nous devions nous y reposer, il a fait une chaleur épouvantable. Après 4h50 de route et arrivée à 23h00 environ, nous sommes montés dans notre chambre qui se trouvée dans les combles. Impossible de s'endormir rapidement, même la fatigue de la route n'y a rien fait. Sinon très beau village et très belle Abbaye. pas de chance avec la canicule. nous retenterons surement une prochaine fois.